Joint Resolution 6

(House Joint Resolution 8)

A House Joint Resolution concerning

Solidarity With the Government and People of Ukraine

FOR the purpose of stating that the State of Maryland stands in solidarity with the government and people of Ukraine; and generally relating to the State's support for Ukraine.

WHEREAS, Since 1991, Ukraine has been an independent and sovereign state; and

WHEREAS, Ukraine is a democratic republic holding free and independent elections, most recently in 2019, when the people of Ukraine elected Volodymyr Zelenskyy to serve as their President; and

WHEREAS, Maryland has a deep bond with the people of Ukraine, forged by the more than 20,000 Americans of Ukrainian descent who call Maryland home; and

WHEREAS, The Russian Federation under President Vladimir Putin launched an unprovoked, unjustifiable invasion of Ukraine; and

WHEREAS, The unprovoked invasion of a sovereign state is a clear violation of international law; and

WHEREAS, During this invasion, the Russian military has launched attacks on civilians and sites of historical and cultural importance, including the Babyn Yar Holocaust Memorial that memorializes the massacre of 34,000 Ukrainian Jews during the Second World War; and

WHEREAS, The Russian military has attacked not only the Ukrainian people but their peaceful and democratic way of life, symbolized by the assault on Freedom Square in the city of Kharkiv; and

WHEREAS, The Russian invasion of Ukraine has provoked the largest conventional armed conflict in Europe since the Second World War; and

WHEREAS, It is the duty of all free peoples to resist tyranny, whatever form it may take; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the State stands in solidarity with the government and people of Ukraine as they resist the unprovoked invasion of their territory by the Russian Federation; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the General Assembly of Maryland encourages all Marylanders

to assist as they are able in providing humanitarian assistance to the people of Ukraine affected by this conflict; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services to the Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor of Maryland; the Honorable William C. Ferguson, IV, President of the Senate of Maryland; and the Honorable Adrienne A. Jones, Speaker of the House of Delegates.

Signed by the President and the Speaker, May 12, 2022.