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Health and Government Operations Finance

Death Certificates - Fees - First Responders Killed in the Line of Duty

This bill prohibits the Maryland Department of Health (MDH) and a local health
department (LHD) from collecting a fee for a certified or abridged copy of a death
certificate of a first responder killed in the line of duty if the copy is issued to a surviving
spouse or child and will be used in connection with a claim for a dependent or beneficiary
of the first responder.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill’s requirements can be handled with existing budgeted resources.
General fund revenues decrease by a minimal amount beginning in FY 2023 from a
reduction in fee revenues.

Local Effect: LHD revenues decrease by a minimal amount beginning in FY 2023.
Expenditures are not affected.

Small Business Effect: None.
|

Analysis

Current Law: Under the Health-General Article, a “first responder” means a firefighter,
emergency medical technician, rescue squad member, law enforcement officer,
correctional officer, or sworn member of the State Fire Marshal’s Office.

The Division of Vital Records in MDH maintains a statewide system for registering,
indexing, filing, and protecting all records of death occurring in Maryland. LHDs may also



process and issue a death certificate. Both MDH and LHDs may collect a fee for a certified
or abridged death certificate.

MDH collects (1) a $10 fee for the first copy of a certified or abridged death certificate
issued in a single transaction and (2) a $12 fee for each additional certified or abridged
copy of a death certificate provided concurrently with an initial requested death certificate.
The fees collected by MDH accrue to the general fund.

State Revenues: General fund revenues decrease by a minimal amount beginning in
fiscal 2023 from a reduction in fee revenues.

Local Revenues: LHD revenues decrease by a minimal amount beginning in fiscal 2023
from a reduction in fee revenues.

Each LHD may set and collect fees for the issuance of death certificates. For example, the
Anne Arundel County Health Department collects (1) an $18 fee for the first copy of a
certified or abridged death certificate and (2) a $20 fee for each additional certified or
abridged copy of a death certificate. The Prince George’s County and Queen Anne’s
County health departments collect (1) a $25 fee for the first copy of a certified or abridged
death certificate and (2) a $20 fee for each additional certified or abridged copy of a
death certificate.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Association of County Health Officers; Maryland
Department of Health; Department of Legislative Services
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