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Vehicle Laws - Registration Renewal - Inspection Requirement 
 

 

This bill establishes an inspection requirement for each motor vehicle in the State that is at 

least five model years old. However, such an inspection is not required for Class L 

(historic) vehicles. Before the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) renews the 

registration of such a vehicle, it must receive a valid registration renewal inspection 

certificate. A registration renewal inspection must include examination of specified 

equipment to determine if the equipment meets or exceeds standards under State law. A 

certificate issued pursuant to the bill is valid for 90 days after the date of issuance and must 

identify (1) the inspection station where the vehicle was inspected and (2) the licensed 

inspection mechanic who inspected the motor vehicle. An inspection station may charge 

up to $45 for conducting the inspection. MVA must adopt regulations to implement the 

bill.  
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Transportation Trust Fund expenditures increase by about $30,800 in 

FY 2023 for reprogramming. General fund expenditures may increase significantly 

beginning in FY 2023 for the Department of State Police (DSP) to hire additional 

compliance personnel, as discussed below. Revenues are likely not materially affected.  

  

Local Effect:  None.   

  

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:   
 

Used Vehicle Inspections 
 

Generally, if a person transfers a used motor vehicle, the person has to obtain an inspection 

certificate from an inspection station. The inspection requirement does not apply to 

transfers between spouses, parents and children, vehicle co-owners, or vehicles that are not 

to be both titled and registered in Maryland. The inspection requirement also does not apply 

to other specialized types of transfers, as specified in statute. 
 

A valid inspection certificate for a used vehicle is required for titling and registration. 

However, Class L (historic) vehicles are exempt from this requirement. An inspection 

certificate is valid from the date of the inspection certificate for a period of 90 days. An 

inspection certificate issued for a used vehicle owned and held in inventory by a licensed 

dealer expires at the earlier of six months or after 1,000 miles have been added to the 

vehicle’s odometer since issuance of the inspection certificate. 
 

If a person applies for titling and registration of a used vehicle, MVA may issue a 

temporary registration and withhold delivery of the certificate of title until an inspection 

certificate is received. A vehicle with a temporary registration must be inspected within 

60 days of the issuance of the temporary registration. 
 

Safety Equipment Repair Orders 
 

A police officer who observes that a vehicle registered in Maryland is being operated 

without required equipment must stop the driver and issue a safety equipment repair order. 

Driving on a highway without the required minimum equipment is a misdemeanor, subject 

to a maximum fine of $500. The prepayment penalty established by the District Court is 

$70. 
 

Minimum Standards for Equipment 
 

Every vehicle driven on highways in Maryland must, where applicable, have certain 

equipment (e.g., brakes, steering, suspension, etc.) that meets or exceeds the standards 

established jointly by MVA and DSP. 
 

State Expenditures:  MVA anticipates reprogramming expenditures totaling $30,375 in 

fiscal 2023 only in order to implement the bill. The reprogramming costs relate to 

MVA’s kiosks, eStore, and vehicle systems. 
 

MVA notes that the bill’s safety inspection requirements differ from the current used 

vehicle inspection requirements. Therefore, safety inspection stations may need to modify 

inspection procedures to comply with the bill. The fee currently charged by safety 
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inspection stations varies, but it is typically between $80 and $100. These inspection 

stations are monitored by DSP. 
 

MVA estimates about 2.1 million vehicles on an annual basis are affected by the bill’s 

requirements. This figure excludes Class L (historic) vehicles, which are exempt under the 

bill. Due to the significant influx of safety inspections occurring after the bill takes effect, 

DSP advises it likely needs to hire additional personnel to ensure inspection stations are in 

compliance with the bill. Although the Department of Legislative Services (DLS) concurs 

that DSP may need to hire additional personnel under the bill – and that the costs to do so 

may be significant – DLS advises the exact number of personnel needed primarily depends 

on the number of private inspection stations that participate in the program, which is 

unknown. Therefore, while general fund expenditures may increase significantly for 

DSP to implement the bill, the exact impact cannot be determined at this time. To the extent 

personnel are hired as a result of the bill, this analysis assumes most are hired in the 

first two years of implementation (i.e., FY 2023 and 2024).  
 

Small Business Effect:  Many safety inspection stations qualify as small businesses and 

are meaningfully affected by the bill. Once the bill takes effect, a significant number of 

vehicles will require an inspection pursuant to the bill’s requirements in order to re-register. 

It is unclear whether the current system of safety inspection stations can accommodate such 

a significant influx. The maximum fee authorized by the bill ($45) is less than the current 

maximum fee ($100) for used vehicle inspections. However, the inspection requirements 

of the bill differ from a typical used vehicle inspection and may be less time consuming. 

Therefore, while some inspection stations may be willing to perform the required 

inspections required by the bill, the overall portion of inspection stations willing to do so 

is unclear. 
 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  SB 566 of 2020, a similar bill, received a hearing in the Senate 

Judicial Proceedings Committee but was withdrawn. 
 

Designated Cross File:  None. 
 

Information Source(s):  Department of State Police; Maryland Department of 

Transportation; Department of Legislative Services 
 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 22, 2022 
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Analysis by:   Eric F. Pierce  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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