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This bill prohibits a specified sex offender registrant from moving to and residing within 

1,000 feet of a school, a child care facility, a park, a playground, a designated school bus 

stop, or a place where children regularly congregate. The bill’s provisions are applicable 

only to a sex offender registrant who is required to register based on an offense committed 

when the registrant was at least age 21 and that involved a victim younger than age 18. The 

bill’s prohibition does not require a person to relocate from the person’s residence if a 

school, child care facility, park, playground, or designated school bus stop is established 

after the person’s residency was established. A violator is guilty of a misdemeanor and on 

conviction subject to maximum penalties of five years imprisonment and/or a $5,000 fine. 

The bill applies prospectively only and may not be applied or interpreted to have any effect 

on or application to any person required to register as a sex offender before July 1, 2022. 

The bill takes effect July 1, 2022. 

   

 
Fiscal Summary 

 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues and expenditures due to 

the bill’s penalty provisions. Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in local revenues and expenditures due to the 

bill’s penalty provisions. Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. 

  

Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Generally, a person convicted of a sex crime or other specified crime in 

Maryland, including kidnapping and false imprisonment under specified circumstances, is 

required to register with the State sex offender registry upon release from prison or release 

from court if the person does not receive a prison sentence. Offenders who are required to 

register in other states and who come to Maryland are required to register upon entering 

Maryland. Offenders from other states who may not be required to register in their home 

state are required to register in Maryland if the crime would have required registration in 

Maryland if committed in Maryland. The registry is maintained by the Department of 

Public Safety and Correctional Services. 

 

Unless otherwise specified in statute, a registrant may not knowingly enter onto 

real property (1) that is used for public or nonpublic elementary or secondary education or 

(2) on which a registered family child care home, a licensed child care home or child care 

institution, or a home used for informal child care is located. A violator is guilty of a 

misdemeanor and subject to maximum penalties of five years imprisonment and/or a 

$5,000 fine. 

 

The prohibition does not apply if the registrant is a parent of a student, or parent of a child 

that receives child care, if (1) within the past year the registrant has been given the specific 

written permission of the Superintendent of Schools, the local school board, the principal 

of the school, or the owner or operator of the registered family child care home, licensed 

child care home, or licensed child care institution, as applicable and (2) the registrant 

promptly notifies an agent or employee of the school, home, or institution of the registrant’s 

presence and purpose of visit. The prohibition also does not apply for the purpose of voting 

at a school on Election Day if the registrant is properly registered to vote and the 

registrant’s polling place is at the school. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  HB 847 of 2021, a similar bill, received a hearing in the House 

Judiciary Committee, but no further action was taken. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, and St. Mary’s counties; Maryland 

State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy; Office of the Public Defender; 

Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services; Department of Legislative 

Services 
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Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 11, 2022 
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Analysis by:   Thomas S. Elder  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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