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Sales and Use Tax - Exemption - Firearm Safety Devices 
 

   

This bill exempts the first $500 of the sale of a firearm safety device from the State sales 

and use tax. A firearm safety device is defined as a firearm safe, firearm lockbox, trigger 

and barrel lock, or any other item designed to enhance home firearm safety. The bill takes 

effect July 1, 2022. 
   

 
Fiscal Summary 

 

State Effect:  General fund revenues decrease by a potentially significant amount 

beginning in FY 2023. The amount of the decrease depends on the number of firearm safety 

devices purchased each year and the taxable price of each item. Based on similar proposals 

in other states, the potential revenue loss may total approximately $550,000 annually. 

General fund expenditures increase by $81,300 in FY 2023. 
  
Local Effect:  None. 
  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 
  

 
Analysis 

 

Current Law:  The sale of firearm safety devices is subject to the State sales and use tax. 

Section 5-132 of the Public Safety Article prohibits a firearms dealer from selling, offering 

for sale, renting, or transferring a handgun manufactured on or before December 31, 2002, 

unless the handgun is sold, offered for sale, rented, or transferred with an external safety 

lock. A firearms dealer is prohibited from selling, offering for sale, renting, or transferring 

a handgun manufactured on or after January 1, 2003, unless the handgun has an integrated 

mechanical safety device. 
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Maryland regulates the sale, transfer, rental, and possession of regulated firearms, which 

consist of handguns and assault weapons. In addition, Chapters 11 and 35 of 2021 require, 

with specified exceptions, that a licensed firearms dealer facilitate the sale, rental, or 

transfer of a rifle or shotgun; however, no permit is required to purchase a rifle or shotgun.  

 

Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, and 

Virginia have similar sales and use tax exemptions for gun safes and/or firearm safety 

devices. The Tennessee legislation was for a sales tax holiday for the retail sale of gun 

safes and gun safety devices, sold between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022. 

 

The State Sales and Use Tax 

 

The sales and use tax is the State’s second largest source of general fund revenue, 

accounting for approximately $5.5 billion in fiscal 2022 and $5.7 billion in fiscal 2023, 

according to the December 2021 revenue forecast. Exhibit 1 shows the sales and use tax 

rates in surrounding states and the District of Columbia. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Sales and Use Tax Rates in Maryland and Surrounding States 

 

Delaware 0.0%  

  
District of Columbia 6.0%; 10.0% for liquor sold for on-the-premises consumption and 

restaurant meals; 10.25% for alcoholic beverages for consumption 

off the premises, tickets to specified sporting events, and specified 

rental vehicles; 8.0% for specified soft drinks 

  
Maryland 6.0% 

9.0% for alcoholic beverages 

  
Pennsylvania 6.0% plus 1.0% or 2.0% in certain local jurisdictions 

  
Virginia* 5.3%; 2.5% for eligible food items; 2.5% for specified essential 

personal hygiene items; both rates include 1.0% for local 

jurisdictions 

  
West Virginia 6.0% plus 1.0% in 70 municipalities 

 

*An additional state tax of (1) 0.7% is imposed in localities in Central Virginia, Northern Virginia, and the 

Hampton Roads region; (2) 1.0% in Charlotte, Gloucester, Halifax, Henry, Northampton, and Patrick 

counties; and (3) 1.7% is imposed in localities in the Historic Triangle. 
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State Revenues:  General fund revenues decrease by a potentially significant amount 

beginning in fiscal 2023 depending on the number of firearm safety devices purchased each 

year and the taxable price of each item. Based on similar proposals in other states and 

information from the Comptroller’s Office, the potential revenue loss may total 

approximately $550,000 annually. 
 

Cost for Firearm Safety Devices 
 

The price of firearm safety devices varies from a low of $10 for a simple trigger lock to 

$1,000 or more for a sophisticated gun safe. It is not currently known how many 

gun owners in the State currently have some sort of firearm safety device and how many 

would purchase a device as a result of the bill. As noted, handguns sold in the State are 

already required to have either an external or integrated safety lock. 
 

The Maryland State Police report the following sales of regulated firearms in Maryland: 
 

 126,330 in 2013* 

 28,287 in 2014  

 37,249 in 2015 

 52,173 in 2016  

 51,676 in 2017    

 53,338 in 2018  

 53,726 in 2019  

 104,440 in 2020 

 109,139 in 2021 

 

 

*Prior to the enactment of Chapter 427 of 2013, the Firearm Safety Act. 
 

Similar Tax Proposals in Other States 
 

Legislation has been introduced in Michigan in the past few years, including 

HB 4514 (2019). The Michigan Department of Treasury estimated that the revenue loss 

associated with the proposed sales tax exemption would total approximately $1 million per 

year. Assuming a similar level of per capita purchases of firearm safety devices as in 

Michigan, general fund revenues may decrease by approximately $600,000 annually. 
 

Legislation in California (Assembly Bill 2540 of 2016) would have provided for a sales 

and use tax exemption for specified trigger locks and gun safes. The proposal was estimated 

to reduce California sales and use tax revenues by $3.6 million per year. Assuming a similar 

level of per capita purchases of firearm safety devices as in California, general fund 

revenues may decrease by approximately $550,000 annually. 
 

State Expenditures:  The Comptroller’s Office will incur a one-time expenditure increase 

of $81,300 in fiscal 2023 to notify the approximately 130,000 sales and use tax account 

holders of the sales tax change. 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  Similar bills were introduced in the 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020, and 

2021 sessions. HB 963 of 2021 received a hearing in the House Ways and Means 

Committee, but no further action was taken. HB 618 of 2020 received a hearing in the 

House Ways and Means Committee, but no further action was taken. HB 981 of 2019 

received a hearing in the House Ways and Means Committee, but no further action was 

taken. HB 53 of 2017 received a hearing in the House Ways and Means Committee, but no 

further action was taken. HB 1271 of 2016 received a hearing in the House Ways and 

Means Committee, and its cross file, SB 351 of 2016, received a hearing in the Senate 

Budget and Taxation Committee. No further action was taken on either bill. 

 

Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Comptroller’s Office; Department of State Police; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 20, 2022 

 fnu2/hlb 

 

Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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