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This departmental bill requires a person transporting a child younger than age two in a 

motor vehicle to secure the child in a rear-facing child safety seat that complies with 

applicable federal regulations until the child reaches the weight or height limit specified by 

the manufacturer of the child safety seat. A person who violates the bill’s requirement by 

securing a child younger than age two in a child safety seat that is not rear-facing is guilty 

of a misdemeanor and subject to a written warning for a first violation and a fine of $50 for 

a second or subsequent violation. In accordance with existing child safety seat provisions, 

a violation (1) is not considered a moving violation for the purpose of assessing points 

against a driver’s license and (2) is not contributory negligence and may not be admitted 

as evidence in the trial of any civil action.  

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues. Enforcement can be 

handled with existing resources.  

  

Local Effect:  Enforcement can be handled with existing resources. Revenues are not 

affected.    

  

Small Business Effect:  The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) has 

determined that this bill has minimal or no impact on small business (attached). The 

Department of Legislative Services concurs with this assessment. (The attached assessment 

does not reflect amendments to the bill.) 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Maryland Vehicle Law does not specifically require use of a 

rear-facing child safety seat for infants or toddlers. However, a person transporting a child 

younger than age eight in a motor vehicle must secure the child in a child safety seat in 

accordance with the child safety seat and vehicle manufacturers’ instructions unless the 

child is four feet, nine inches tall or taller. The requirement applies to a motor vehicle that 

is registered, or is of a type that is capable of being registered, in the State as either a 

passenger vehicle, truck, or multipurpose vehicle, as well as to a vehicle of the same type 

that is registered in another state or Puerto Rico, as specified.  

 

“Child safety seat,” as defined under the vehicle law, means a device, including a child 

booster seat, that the manufacturer (1) certifies is manufactured in accordance with 

applicable federal safety standards and (2) intends to be used to restrain, seat, or position a 

child who is transported in a motor vehicle. The term does not include a seat belt or 

combination seat belt-shoulder harness used alone. A child safety seat meets the 

requirements of the vehicle law only if it is installed and used in accordance with the 

directions of the manufacturer. A child safety seat may not be used to restrain, seat, or 

position more than one individual at a time.  

 

Penalties and Effect of Violations  

 

A violation of the child safety seat requirement is a misdemeanor subject to a fine of $50. 

A judge may waive the fine if the person charged with the violation (1) did not possess a 

child safety seat at the time of the violation; (2) acquires a child safety seat prior to the 

hearing date; and (3) provides proof of acquisition to the court. The District Court has 

established a prepayment penalty of $83 for this offense.  

 

A violation is not considered a moving violation for the purpose of assessing points against 

the driver’s license. Further, a violation is not contributory negligence and may not be 

admitted as evidence in the trial of any civil action.  

 

Medical Exemption 

 

A written certification from a physician licensed to practice medicine in the state in which 

the vehicle transporting the child is registered which states that use of a child safety seat 

by a particular child would be impractical due to the child’s weight, height, physical 

unfitness, or other medical reason qualifies as an exemption from the child safety seat 

requirement.  
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Child Safety Seat Program 

 

MDOT and the Maryland Department of Health (MDH) are jointly responsible for 

implementing the Child Safety Seat Program and fostering compliance with child safety 

seat requirements through educational and promotional efforts.  

 

Background:  The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the National Highway 

Traffic Safety Administration recommend that children ride in rear-facing child safety seats 

for as long as possible until they reach the maximum height or weight limit allowed by the 

child safety seat’s manufacturer, as rear-facing seats offer the best protection in the event 

of a crash. Previously, until 2018, AAP had recommended that children ride in rear-facing 

seats until at least age two. According to AAP, most convertible child safety seats (which 

can be used forward- or rear-facing) have limits that will permit children to ride rear-facing 

for two years or more.  

 

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, as of December 2019, 15 states 

(California, Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, 

Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Virginia, and 

Washington) and the District of Columbia require children to ride rear-facing until at least 

age two.   

 

State Revenues:  General fund revenues may increase minimally from citations issued for 

second and subsequent violations under the bill. A violation of the bill is subject to a written 

warning for a first violation and a fine of $50 for a second or subsequent violation.  

 

For context, in fiscal 2021, 1,738 citations were issued for failure to secure a child younger 

than age eight in a child safety seat. For 922 of these citations, the motorist opted to pay 

the $83 prepayment penalty.  

 

State Expenditures:  MDOT and MDH may incur costs for educational and promotional 

materials and campaigns related to the bill’s change. However, these costs can be absorbed 

within existing budgeted resources. Any increase in District Court caseloads can be 

handled with existing budgeted resources. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  House Bill 1164 of 2018, a similar bill, received an unfavorable 

report from the House Environment and Transportation Committee.  

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 
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Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Maryland 

Department of Health; Department of State Police; Maryland Department of 

Transportation; National Highway Traffic Safety Administration; American Academy of 

Pediatrics; National Conference of State Legislatures; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 12, 2022 

Third Reader - March 22, 2022 

 Revised - Amendment(s) - March 22, 2022 

 

fnu2/aad 

 

Analysis by:   Elizabeth J. Allison  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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ANALYSIS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES 

 

 

TITLE OF BILL: Vehicle Laws - Rear-Facing Child Safety Seats - Requirement 

 

BILL NUMBER: SB 176 

 

PREPARED BY: MDOT Motor Vehicle Administration 

(Dept./Agency)  

 

 

PART A.  ECONOMIC IMPACT RATING 

 

This agency estimates that the proposed bill: 
 

__X__WILL HAVE MINIMAL OR NO ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESS 

 

OR 

 

______ WILL HAVE MEANINGFUL ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESSES 

 

 

PART B.  ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS 
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