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This bill expands the business personal property tax exemption by increasing the value of 

personal property eligible for an exemption. Specifically, the bill increases, from $2,500 to 

$20,000, the total original cost of the personal property eligible for an exemption from 

personal property valuation and taxation. In addition, the bill increases from $10,000 to 

$20,000, the total original cost of the personal property eligible for an exemption from 

personal property valuation and taxation for a home business. The bill prohibits the State 

Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) from (1) collecting personal property 

information from these individuals or (2) requiring these individuals to submit a personal 

property tax return. The bill takes effect June 1, 2022, and applies to taxable years 

beginning after June 30, 2022.  
   

 
Fiscal Summary 

 

State Effect:  None. The bill’s requirements can be handled with SDAT’s existing 

budgeted resources.   

  

Local Effect:  Local government revenues decrease by approximately $1.5 million 

annually beginning in FY 2023. Local expenditures are not affected. This bill imposes a 

mandate on a unit of local government. 

 

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful. Small businesses that qualify for the higher 

exemption amount under the bill will realize reduced personal property taxes. The average 

tax savings is estimated at $104 per business. In addition, these small businesses will no 

longer incur costs associated with filing a personal property tax return.      
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal property that is 

imposed and collected by local governments. Personal property generally includes business 

property including furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery, tools, 

supplies, inventory, and any other property not classified as real property. To provide for 

uniform assessments, SDAT is responsible for assessing all personal property. Each county 

or municipal government is responsible for issuing the tax bills and collecting the tax. The 

tax year begins on July 1 and ends on June 30. The personal property tax has been a local 

tax exclusively since 1984 when the State tax rate on personal property was set at zero.  

 

At the beginning of each calendar year, SDAT notifies business entities on record that a 

personal property tax return must be filed by April 15. This tax return must include personal  

property located in Maryland as of January 1, the date of finality. The date of finality is the 

date used to determine ownership, location, value, and liability for tax purposes. All tax 

returns are currently filed electronically. An annual report fee is required to be paid to 

SDAT with the personal property tax return. The annual report fee is for the privilege of 

maintaining the legal entity’s existence in the State.  

 

Chapter 102 of 2018 established an exemption from personal property valuation and 

taxation if the total original cost of the personal property was less than $2,500. Personal 

property used in connection with a home business is exempt from personal property 

valuation and taxation if the total original cost was less than $10,000. 

 

Local Fiscal Effect:  Local personal property tax revenues decrease by approximately 

$1.5 million annually beginning in fiscal 2023. This estimate is based on the following: 

 

 14,217 businesses in Maryland with an original personal property assessment of 

between $2,500 and $20,000.  

 Personal property assessment for these businesses totaled $44.2 million. 

 Average personal property assessment per business is approximately $3,100. 

 Average personal property tax rate in fiscal 2022 is $2.7917 per $100 of assessment. 

 

Personal property tax rates range from $2.1125 per $100 of assessment in 

Worcester County to $5.62 per $100 of assessment in Baltimore City. SDAT reports that 

six counties (Caroline, Dorchester, Frederick, Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Talbot) do not 

impose personal property taxes. In addition, Garrett County does not impose personal 

property taxes on business personal property. 
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Designated Cross File:  SB 274 (Senator Hayes, et al.) - Budget and Taxation. 

 

Information Source(s):  Montgomery County; State Department of Assessments and 

Taxation; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 30, 2022 

Third Reader - March 24, 2022 
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Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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