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Judicial Proceedings   

 

Criminal Law - Assault of a Public Transportation Service Provider - Penalties 
 

 

This departmental bill expands the prohibition on felony second-degree assault to include 

the intentional causing of physical injury to another person by a person who knows or has 

reason to know that the victim is a bus operator, a train operator, a light rail operator, a 

paratransit operator, a station attendant, or any other individual engaged in providing public 

transportation services for any public or private entity contracted with a public entity to 

provide public transit services. Violators are guilty of a felony and subject to the existing 

statutory penalties of imprisonment for up to 10 years and/or a $5,000 maximum fine.  

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Potential minimal increase in general fund revenues from fines imposed in 

the District Court. State expenditures are not materially affected, as discussed below. 

  

Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in local revenues from fines imposed in the 

circuit courts due to the bill’s expanded application of an existing monetary penalty. Local 

expenditures are not materially affected.  

  

Small Business Effect:  The Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) has 

determined that this bill has minimal or no impact on small business (attached). The 

Department of Legislative Services (DLS) concurs with this assessment.  

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  A person may not commit an assault. However, the consequences of an 

assault vary depending on the circumstances involved. 
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First-degree Assault 

 

A person commits a first-degree assault if he or she (1) intentionally causes or attempts to 

cause serious physical injury to another person; (2) commits an assault with a firearm, 

including a handgun, assault pistol, machine gun, or other specified firearms; or 

(3) intentionally strangles another person. A person who commits a first-degree assault is 

guilty of a felony and subject to imprisonment for up to 25 years.  

 

Felony Second-degree Assault  

 

A person commits a felony second-degree assault if he or she intentionally causes 

“physical injury” to another person and knows or has reason to know that the other person 

is (1) a law enforcement officer or parole or probation agent engaged in the performance 

of the officer/agent’s official duties or (2) a firefighter, an emergency medical technician, 

a rescue squad member, or any other first responder engaged in providing emergency 

medical care or rescue services. Physical injury means any impairment of physical 

condition, excluding minor injuries. Violators are subject to imprisonment for up to 

10 years and/or a maximum fine of $5,000. 

 

Misdemeanor Second-degree Assault 

 

The misdemeanor second-degree assault statute applies to assaults that are not considered 

to be felony assaults in the first or second degree. Under the misdemeanor second-degree 

assault statute, a person is prohibited from committing an assault. A violator is subject to 

imprisonment for up to 10 years and/or a maximum fine of $2,500. Assault means the 

crimes of assault, battery, and assault and battery, which are defined through case law.  

 

Background:  MDOT advises that between 2014 and 2020, an average of 52 assaults were 

committed against Maryland Transit Administration drivers each year. According to 

MDOT, the bill is intended to serve as a deterrent to any individuals considering violence 

against such operators. 

 

State Fiscal Effect:  General fund revenues may increase minimally from fines imposed 

in the District Court. State expenditures are not materially affected. 

 

The District Court has concurrent jurisdiction with the circuit courts over felony 

second-degree assaults.  

 

The maximum fine for misdemeanor second-degree assault is $2,500; the maximum fine 

for felony second-degree assault is $5,000.  
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Given that the maximum incarceration penalty for misdemeanor second-degree assault is 

the same as the maximum incarceration penalty for felony second-degree assault, the bill 

is not expected to materially affect State incarceration expenditures. This fiscal and policy 

note assumes that the acts affected by this bill are currently prosecuted as misdemeanor 

second-degree assaults under the existing second-degree assault law and that the bill’s 

specification of these acts as felony second-degree assaults based on the victim of the crime 

does not (1) increase the likelihood of charges being filed and convictions being secured 

in these cases or (2) significantly alter sentencing practices for this criminal activity. 

 

The Office of the Public Defender (OPD) advises that reclassification of an assault on a 

public transportation provider from a misdemeanor to a felony increases caseloads, the 

likelihood of litigation, and the amount of preparation time public defenders spend on these 

cases. However, DLS advises that given the low number of cases to which the bill is likely 

to apply, the bill is unlikely to have a material effect on OPD expenditures.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  SB 91 of 2021, a similar bill, received a hearing in the Senate 

Judicial Proceedings Committee, but no further action was taken.  HB 1150 of 2019, a 

similar bill, received a hearing in the House Judiciary Committee, but no further action was 

taken. HB 683 of 2018 received an unfavorable report from the House Judiciary Committee 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Kent, Montgomery, and Worcester counties; City of Salisbury; 

towns of Bel Air and Leonardtown; Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing 

Policy; Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Office of the Public Defender; 

Maryland State’s Attorneys’ Association; Department of Public Safety and Correctional 

Services; Department of State Police; Maryland Department of Transportation; 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 11, 2022 

 fnu2/aad 

 

Analysis by:   Donavan A. Ham  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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ANALYSIS OF ECONOMIC IMPACT ON SMALL BUSINESSES 

 

 

TITLE OF BILL: Criminal Law – Assault of a Public Transportation Service Provider 

– Penalties 

 

BILL NUMBER: SB 208 

 

PREPARED BY: MDOT Maryland Transit Administration 

(Dept./Agency)  

 

 

PART A.  ECONOMIC IMPACT RATING 

 

This agency estimates that the proposed bill: 
 

__X__WILL HAVE MINIMAL OR NO ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESS 

 

OR 

 

______ WILL HAVE MEANINGFUL ECONOMIC IMPACT ON MARYLAND SMALL 

BUSINESSES 

 

 

PART B.  ECONOMIC IMPACT ANALYSIS 
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