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Environment and Transportation Judicial Proceedings

Vehicle Laws — Licensing of Businesses and Occupations — Definition of Vehicle
Salesman

This bill expands the definition of “vehicle salesman” to include any individual who, for a
commission or other compensation, negotiates with (or induces) any other person to enter
into a financial security or warranty agreement on behalf of a dealer in connection with the
sale of a vehicle.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVVA) can handle any additional
enforcement activities with existing budgeted resources. Transportation Trust Fund
revenues are likely not materially affected, as the number of additional licensees under the
bill is assumed to be minimal.

Local Effect: The bill does not materially affect local government finances or operations.

Small Business Effect: Potential meaningful.

Analysis
Current Law: A “vehicle salesman” is defined as any individual who:

° for a commission or other compensation (under any form of agreement or
arrangement with a dealer) buys, sells, or exchanges or negotiates (or attempts to
negotiate) a sale or exchange of an interest in a vehicle of a type required to be
registered under State law; or

° induces (or attempts to induce) any other person to buy or exchange an interest in a
vehicle of a type required to be registered under State law and receives (or expects
to receive) a commission or other compensation from either the seller or the buyer
of the vehicle.



“Vehicle salesman” does not include persons who are explicitly exempt from classification
as a vehicle dealer (including an individual acting as a representative of such persons) or
persons involved in certain types of leasing arrangements.

Licensing Requirement for Vehicle Salesmen

A person is prohibited from acting as a vehicle salesman unless the person is licensed by
MVA. Further, any person who has been refused a vehicle salesman’s license in Maryland
(or whose license is revoked or suspended) may not conduct the business of a vehicle
salesman under any license, permit, or registration certificate issued by any other
jurisdiction. A person who violates these requirements is subject to imprisonment for up to
six months and/or a fine of up to $1,000. For a second or subsequent offense, the possible
penalty escalates to imprisonment for up to one year and/or a fine of up to $2,000.

Small Business Effect: MVA is responsible for licensing and supervising vehicle
salesmen and notes that about 11,770 individuals have active licenses. Any additional
individuals required to be licensed under the bill must submit applications to MVVA and, if
approved, be subject to existing enforcement activities (e.g., dealer audits). Although MVA
advises that the additional influx of licensees under the bill is expected to be minimal,
individuals subject to licensure (and the businesses that employ them) as a result of the
bill’s changes may be meaningfully affected.

Additional Information
Prior Introductions: None.
Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Transportation; Department of
Legislative Services
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