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Health Occupations - Nursing Home Administrator - Qualifications 
 

 

This bill authorizes an individual who holds an active nursing home administrator (NHA) 

license in good standing in another state to practice in Maryland, if the individual has a 

minimum of 3 years of experience as a NHA, or 6 years of experience as an assistant NHA. 

The State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators (BENHA) must waive any 

education requirements for an individual who was licensed, remains in good standing, and 

practiced as a NHA for at least 3 years in another state. The bill authorizes an individual to 

satisfy the experience requirements for a NHA license if they have either completed 

nine months of full-time nursing home administration in a nursing home or have completed 

six months of full-time nursing home administration in a nursing home and (1) have 

completed an internship in a nursing home or assisted living program; (2) hold an active 

certification issued by the State Board of Nursing (BON) and have at least 10 years of 

experience at a nursing home; or (3) have at least 3 years of experience as a director of 

nursing. 
   

 
Fiscal Summary 

 

State Effect:  The bill’s changes can be handled with existing budgeted resources. BENHA 

general fund revenues decrease minimally beginning in FY 2023, as discussed below. 
  
Local Effect:  None.  
  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  
  

 
Analysis 

 

Current Law:  Federal law requires that both nursing homes and NHAs in all states be 

regulated. BENHA is the licensing authority of NHAs in the State. BENHA regulates the 
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practice of NHAs, licenses qualified NHAs, establishes fees, enforces statute, and adopts 

regulations to promote quality health care in the field of long-term care. 

 

In general, an individual must be licensed by BENHA to practice as a NHA in the State. 

To qualify for a NHA license, an individual must (1) submit to a criminal history records 

check; (2) be of good moral character; (3) be at least 21 years old; (4) complete specified 

education requirements; (5) have completed a board-approved administrator-in-training 

program or have completed one year of full-time nursing home administration training in 

a nursing home; and (6) have completed an examination administered by BENHA. NHA 

licenses expire after two years. 

 

To meet the education requirements for licensure, an applicant must have (1) a 

baccalaureate or master’s degree in health care administration from an accredited college 

or university or (2) have a baccalaureate or master’s degree in a field other than health care 

administration from an accredited college or university and have satisfactorily completed 

a minimum of 100 hours in a board-approved course of study in health care administration. 

BENHA may waive any education requirement for an individual who was licensed and 

practiced as a NHA for at least three years in another state. 

 

Nursing Requirements 

 

In general, an individual must be licensed and/or certified by BON to practice specified 

nursing duties in the State. Individuals can receive certification to practice as a certified 

nursing assistant or a certified medication technician. Individuals who are otherwise 

licensed by BON may receive additional certification in an area of specified practice. 

 

Under Maryland regulations (COMAR 10.07.02.20), each nursing home must provide for 

an organized nursing service under the direction of a full-time registered nurse. A director 

of nursing’s responsibilities must include, among other things: 

 

 planning to meet the total nursing needs of residents and recommending the 

assignment of a sufficient number of supervisory and support personnel; 

 development and maintenance of nursing service policies and procedures; 

 participation in the coordination of resident services; 

 participation in planning and budgeting for nursing services; 

 establishment of a procedure to ensure that nursing service personnel, including 

private duty nurses, have valid and current Maryland licenses; and 

 supervision of certified medicine aides to ensure that the aides act within the 

limitations and restrictions placed on them. 
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State Revenues:  Under current law, an individual licensed as a NHA in another state must 

seek licensure to practice in Maryland and pay a $100 initial application fee, $200 original 

license fee, and $200 renewal license fee (collected every two years). Under the bill, an 

individual with an active NHA license in good standing in another state with specified 

experience may practice in Maryland without licensure from BENHA. For each individual 

who does not seek licensure under the bill, general fund revenues decrease by $300 for 

initial licensure and application, and $200 biennially for renewal. Therefore, BENHA 

general fund revenues decrease by a minimal amount beginning in fiscal 2023. 

 

Additional Comments:  There are 226 licensed nursing homes and approximately 

944 licensed NHAs in the State. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  None. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Health; Department of Legislative 

Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 11, 2022 
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Analysis by:   Amberly Holcomb  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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