HOUSE BILL 247

3lr1344

By: **St. Mary's County Delegation** Introduced and read first time: January 23, 2023 Assigned to: Ways and Means

Committee Report: Favorable House action: Adopted Read second time: March 9, 2023

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

 $\mathbf{2}$

St. Mary's County – Transfer Tax – Sunset Extension

- 3 FOR the purpose of extending to a certain date the authority of the County Commissioners
- 4 of St. Mary's County to impose a transfer tax on certain instruments of writing; and 5 generally relating to the transfer tax in St. Mary's County.
- 5 generally relating to the transfer tax in St. Mary's Cot
- 6 BY repealing and reenacting, without amendments,
- 7 The Public Local Laws of St. Mary's County
- 8 Section 138–1B.
- 9 Article 19 Public Local Laws of Maryland
- 10 (2007 Edition and 2022 Supplement, as amended)
- 11 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 12 The Public Local Laws of St. Mary's County
- 13 Section 138–1F.
- 14 Article 19 Public Local Laws of Maryland
- 15 (2007 Edition and 2022 Supplement, as amended)
- SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
 That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:
- 18

Article 19 – St. Mary's County

19 138–1.

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



 $\mathbf{2}$

HOUSE BILL 247

1 B. The County Commissioners may impose a transfer tax on an instrument of 2 writing:

- 3 (1) Recorded with the Clerk of the Circuit Court for St. Mary's County; or
- 4

(2) Filed with the State Department of Assessments and Taxation.

5 F. The authority granted to impose a transfer tax under this section shall 6 terminate and be of no effect after October 1, [2024] **2028**.

SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect June
 1, 2023.

Approved:

Governor.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.

President of the Senate.