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Public Safety - Permit to Wear, Carry, or Transport a Handgun Denial - Refund 

of Application Fee 
 

   

This bill requires the Secretary of State Police to refund the nonrefundable fee paid for an 

initial application or renewal application for a permit to wear, carry, or transport a handgun 

(handgun permit) if the applicant (1) between July 5, 2019, and July 5, 2022, both inclusive, 

was denied a permit or renewal of a permit for failing to satisfy the good and substantial 

reason requirement for the permit and (2) files a claim in a form and containing the 

information and supporting documents required by the Secretary. 

   

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund expenditures increase by $581,000 in FY 2024 only, under the 

assumptions discussed below. Revenues are not affected.     

  
(in dollars) FY 2024 FY 2025 FY 2026 FY 2027 FY 2028 

Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

GF Expenditure 581,000 0 0 0 0 

Net Effect ($581,000) $0 $0 $0 $0   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

  

Local Effect:  None.     

  

Small Business Effect:  None.     

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  Current statutory language requires an applicant for a handgun permit, 

among other requirements, to have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport 
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a handgun. “Good and substantial reason” includes a finding that the permit is necessary 

as a reasonable precaution against apprehended danger. However, on June 23, 2022, the 

U.S. Supreme Court, in New York State Rifle & Pistol Association, Inc. v. Bruen, 597 U.S. 

(2022), held unconstitutional a New York law that required applicants for a concealed carry 

handgun permit to demonstrate a “proper cause” (or a special need for self-defense) before 

issuance of a license to carry a handgun in public. Following the U.S. Supreme Court’s 

decision, Maryland’s Court of Special Appeals (now the Appellate Court of Maryland) 

applied Bruen directly to In the Matter of William Rounds, 255 Md. App. 205 (2022), ruling 

that Maryland’s wear and carry handgun permit law requiring an applicant to have a “good 

and substantial reason” to be issued a license to carry was analogous to New York’s “proper 

cause” requirement and was unconstitutional. On July 5, 2022, then 

Governor Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., responded to the ruling by directing the Department of 

State Police (DSP) to immediately stop using the “good and substantial reason” 

requirement when reviewing handgun permits in the State. On July 6, 2022, the Office of 

the Attorney General issued a similar letter advising on the constitutionality and 

severability of the “good and substantial reason” from the State’s handgun permit statute 

while affirming all other requirements for a handgun permit remain in effect. 

 

Existing statutory requirements and background relating to the issuance of handgun permits 

are summarized in the Appendix – Handgun Permit Requirements – Current 

Law/Background.        

 

State Expenditures:  General fund expenditures increase by $581,016 in fiscal 2024 only, 

which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2023 effective date. This estimate reflects costs for 

DSP to hire contractual staff to process claims for refunds as well as the costs of the refunds 

themselves, as discussed below. 

 

Refunds of Application Fees 

 

Under one set of assumptions, general fund expenditures increase by $233,475 in 

fiscal 2024 for refunds. Under the bill, DSP must refund the application fee to an applicant 

who (1) between July 5, 2019, and July 5, 2022, both inclusive, was denied a permit or 

renewal of a permit for failing to satisfy the good and substantial reason requirement for 

issuance of a permit or renewal of a permit and (2) files a claim in a form and containing 

the information and supporting documents required by the Secretary of State Police. 

 

DSP’s electronic portal for processing handgun permits went live on October 1, 2019. 

Before October 1, 2019, all applications were submitted on paper. See Exhibit 1 for the 

number of initial applications, renewal applications, and application denials for handgun 

permits between calendar 2019 and 2022.  
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Exhibit 1 

Handgun Permit Application and Denials 

Calendar 2019-2022 

 

 2019 2020 2021 2022 

     
Initial Applications 5,283 11,512 12,189 85,266 

Renewal Applications 7,945 4,886 6,242 8,891 

Total Denials 569 974 2,017 1,787 

 
Source:  Department of State Police; Department of Legislative Services 

 

 

According to DSP’s electronic portal, between October 1, 2019, and July 5, 2022, DSP 

denied a total 2,568 initial applications and 246 renewal applications for a reason that 

included failure to meet the “good and substantial” requirement. The number of 

applications denied between July 5, 2019, and September 30, 2019, is not readily available, 

as applications submitted during that time period were submitted on paper. Based on the 

monthly average of denials between October 1, 2019, and July 5, 2022, however, this 

analysis assumes that 233 initial applications and 22 renewal applications were denied 

between July 5, 2019, and September 30, 2019. Thus, this analysis assumes that a total of 

2,801 initial applications and 268 renewal applications were denied between July 5, 2019, 

and July 5, 2022. Assuming all eligible applicants submit a claim for a refund, a total of 

$233,475 in refunds must be issued (reflecting the initial application fee of $75 and the 

renewal application fee of $50). To the extent that some individuals whose applications 

were denied do not file a claim, or any claims are denied because the application was denied 

for other reasons in addition to failure to meet the “good and substantial” requirement, 

costs to provide refunds are lower. 

 

Administrative Costs to Process Claims for Refunds 

 

To process the claims anticipated under the bill, general fund expenditures increase by 

$347,541 in fiscal 2024, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2023 effective date. This 

estimate reflects the cost of hiring one contractual management associate, five contractual 

administrative specialists, and two contractual fiscal associates to process claims and issue 

refunds. It includes salaries, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, and ongoing operating 

expenses. The information and assumptions used in calculating the estimate are stated 

below: 

 

 DSP advises, and the Department of Legislative Services concurs, that individuals 

who are not eligible for a refund still file claims under the bill; therefore, this 
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analysis assumes that DSP receives at least 10,000 claims that need to be researched 

and responded to in writing; 

 before October 1, 2019, all handgun permit applications were submitted on paper, 

so DSP needs to review all denied applications submitted between July 5, 2019, and 

September 30, 2019, to determine the reason for denial; 

 although DSP has an electronic record of the number of denials between 

October 1, 2019, and July 5, 2022, DSP still needs to review all denied applications 

to determine that the “good and substantial” requirement was the only reason for the 

denial;  

 due to the substantial increase in the number of initial handgun permit applications 

since July 2022, DSP does not have sufficient staff to process the claims submitted 

under the bill; and 

 to preserve any appeal rights under current law, DSP needs to send a written 

response for all claims. 

 

Contractual Positions 8.0 

Salaries and Fringe Benefits $273,069 

Other Operating Expenses/Equipment 74,472 

Total FY 2024 DSP Admin. Expenditures $347,541 
 

This analysis assumes that the eight positions terminate June 30, 2024, so no costs are 

incurred beyond fiscal 2024. 

 

This estimate does not include any health insurance costs that could be incurred for 

specified contractual employees under the State’s implementation of the federal Patient 

Protection and Affordable Care Act. 

 

Timing of Claims and Issuance of Refunds 

 

This analysis assumes that all claims for refunds are processed – and all refunds are issued 

– during fiscal 2024; however, the bill does not establish a deadline for the submission of 

claims. Therefore, to the extent that claims are submitted beyond fiscal 2024, general fund 

expenditures for refunds decrease in fiscal 2024 and increase in future years. In addition, 

to the extent that DSP processes claims beyond fiscal 2024, general fund expenditures for 

staff may continue beyond fiscal 2024.  
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Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  HB 860 (Delegate Hartman, et al.) - Judiciary. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of State Police; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 27, 2023 

 km/lgc 

 

Analysis by:   Shirleen M. E. Pilgrim  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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Appendix 

Handgun Permit Requirements – Current Law/Background 
 

 

Generally, with certain exceptions, to be issued a handgun permit by the Secretary of State 

Police, an applicant (1) must be 18 or older; (2) must not have been convicted of a felony 

or misdemeanor for which a sentence of imprisonment for more than one year has been 

imposed or, if convicted, must have been pardoned or been granted relief under federal 

law; (3) must not have been convicted of a controlled dangerous substance violation and 

must not presently be an addict, a habitual user of a controlled dangerous substance, or an 

alcoholic; (4) must not exhibit a propensity for violence or instability, which may 

reasonably render possession of a handgun a danger to the applicant or another; (5) must have 

successfully completed, prior to application and each renewal, a specified firearms training 

course approved by the Secretary; (6) if younger than 30, must not have been committed 

to a facility for juveniles for longer than one year or adjudicated delinquent for a crime of 

violence, a felony, or misdemeanor that carries a statutory penalty of more than two years; 

and (7) must have a good and substantial reason to wear, carry, or transport a handgun. 

“Good and substantial reason” includes a finding that the permit is necessary as a 

reasonable precaution against apprehended danger. The Secretary may limit the geographic 

area, circumstances, or times of day, week, month, or year in which a permit is effective. 
 

A handgun permit applicant must successfully complete, prior to the application and each 

renewal, a firearms training course approved by the Secretary that includes (1) for an initial 

application, a minimum of 16 hours of instruction by a qualified handgun instructor, or 

8 hours of instruction for a renewal application; (2) classroom instruction on State firearm 

law, home firearm safety, and handgun mechanisms and operation; and (3) a firearms 

qualification component that demonstrates the applicant’s proficiency and use of the firearm. 
 

An applicant for a permit is not required to complete a certified firearms training course if 

the applicant: 
 

 is a law enforcement officer or a person who is retired in good standing from service 

with a law enforcement agency of the United States, the State, or any local law 

enforcement agency in the State; 

 is a member, retired member, or honorably discharged member of the 

U.S. Armed Forces or the National Guard; 

 is a qualified handgun instructor; or 

 has completed a firearms training course approved by the Secretary. 
 

A handgun permit application costs $75; two years after the initial permit and every 

three years thereafter, a $50 renewal fee is due. In addition, the applicant must pay for 
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fingerprint-based federal and State criminal history background checks for an initial 

application. A person who applies for a renewal of a handgun permit is not required to be 

fingerprinted unless the Secretary requires a set of the person’s fingerprints to resolve a 

question of the person’s identity. 
 

Generally, a handgun permit expires on the last day of the holder’s birth month following 

two years after the date the permit is issued; however, the Secretary may establish an 

alternative expiration date for a permit to coincide with the expiration of a private detective 

license, a security guard certification, or a special police officer commission. A permit may 

be renewed for successive periods of three years each if, at the time of an application for 

renewal, the applicant possesses the qualifications for the issuance of a permit and pays the 

renewal fee. 
 

On June 23, 2022, the U.S. Supreme Court, in New York State Rifle & Pistol Association, 

Inc. v. Bruen, 597 U.S. (2022), held unconstitutional a New York law that required 

applicants for a concealed carry handgun permit to demonstrate a “proper cause” (or a 

special need for self-defense) before issuance of a license to carry a handgun in public. In 

a 6-3 ruling, the Supreme Court held for the first time that the Second Amendment provides 

a constitutionally protected right for a law-abiding citizen to carry a handgun outside the 

home for self-defense. 
 

Following the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision, Maryland’s Court of Special Appeals (now 

the Appellate Court of Maryland) applied Bruen directly to In the Matter of William 

Rounds, 255 Md. App. 205 (2022), ruling that Maryland’s wear and carry handgun permit 

law requiring an applicant to have a “good and substantial reason” to be issued a license to 

carry was analogous to New York’s “proper cause” requirement and was unconstitutional. 

On July 5, 2022, then Governor Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., responded to the ruling by 

directing the Department of State Police (DSP) to immediately stop using the “good and 

substantial reason” requirement when reviewing handgun permits in the State. On 

July 6, 2022, the Office of the Attorney General issued a similar letter advising on the 

constitutionality and severability of the “good and substantial reason” from the State’s 

handgun permit statute while affirming all other requirements for a handgun permit remain 

in effect. 
 

According to DSP, there has been a substantial increase in handgun permit applications in 

Maryland since the Bruen ruling. In 2022, DSP received 85,266 new applications for 

handgun permits (up from a total of 12,189 in 2021) and 8,891 handgun permit renewal 

applications. DSP denied 1,787 applications in the same year. As of January 20, 2023, there 

are approximately 113,964 active handgun permits in the State (up from 26,119 active 

handgun permits in the State at the end of 2021). It generally takes less than 2 days to 

receive the results of a national criminal history records check from the FBI and 

approximately 90 days to process, investigate, and issue a permit. 
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