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Hunting - Snares, Traps, and Other Similar Devices - Identification Requirement 
 

   

This bill requires a person who is otherwise exempt from licensing or permitting 

requirements under Title 10 of the Natural Resources Article (Wildlife), before using a 

snare, trap, or another similar device to capture wildlife, to obtain a free Department of 

Natural Resources (DNR) identification number from DNR’s electronic licensing system. 

Further, a person who uses a snare, trap, or other similar device to capture wildlife must 

ensure that the person’s identification number is stamped on the device or on a metal tab 

affixed to the device. DNR may waive the identification number requirement if the device 

is only used on private property owned or rented by the person placing the device. Finally, 

a person who finds a snare, trap, or another similar device that does not meet the bill’s 

identification requirements may report the device to DNR or the Natural Resources Police 

(NRP) Force. The bill takes effect July 1, 2023.   

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The bill is not anticipated to materially affect State finances or operations. 

DNR can issue any additional identification numbers using its existing online COMPASS 

licensing system with existing budgeted resources. The application of existing penalties to 

violations of the bill is not anticipated to materially affect State finances. 

  

Local Effect:  The bill does not materially affect local governments.       

  

Small Business Effect:  Minimal.  
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:       
 

General Hunting Restrictions Related to Hunting Fur-bearing Mammals  
 

A furbearer means any coyote, raccoon, bobcat, opossum, beaver, mink, muskrat, otter, 

fox, skunk, fisher, and long-tailed weasel. With certain exceptions, a Maryland resident or 

nonresident must have a furbearer permit to hunt, chase, or trap any furbearer in the State 

or participate in the unarmed chasing of foxes and raccoons in the State. Generally, any 

person who traps or attempts to trap furbearers in the State under the authority of a furbearer 

permit must first obtain a certificate of trapper education. 
 

An individual furbearer permit enables the purchaser to hunt, chase, or trap any furbearer 

in the State or participate in the unarmed chasing of foxes and raccoons. An individual 

furbearer permit is valid from the date of issuance through July 31 the following year, and 

the annual fee is $5.00. Nonresidents must also obtain a nonresident trapping license to 

trap furbearers in Maryland. The fee for a nonresident trapping license is the higher of 

$25.50 or the fee charged by the nonresident’s home state for a similar license. 
 

A furbearer permit is not required to hunt or trap a furbearing animal if (1) a person 

possesses a valid wildlife control cooperator permit and is engaging in the control of 

furbearing mammals in accordance with the terms and conditions of the permit; (2) a 

landowner possesses a landowner wildlife damage control permit; (3) a landowner is 

destroying a muskrat that is damaging an embankment or impoundment; (4) a landowner 

is hunting or trapping a coyote, fox, or skunk that is damaging or destroying the personal 

or real property of the landowner on their land; (5) an owner of a marsh or the owner’s 

employees are hunting a raccoon that destroys a muskrat or its home in a marsh area of the 

State; or (6) a landowner or the landowner’s agent is setting or using traps or similar devices 

at any time to trap raccoons or opossums that are damaging property. A furbearer permit 

is also not required for a person hunting under an apprentice hunting license. 
 

Restrictions on the Use of Certain Traps Near Residences  
 

A person, while trapping or attempting to trap animals, may not place, set, maintain, or 

operate any snares, body-gripping, or leghold traps within 150 yards of a permanent human 

residence. However, this restriction does not apply to (1) State and federal wetlands;  

(2) private wetlands as designated by DNR; (3) land that qualifies for agricultural 

assessments, and timberlands and lands used for reforestation; (4) except in Harford and 

Howard counties, owners and lessees of any privately owned land; and (5) owners and 

lessees of any privately owned land in Harford and Howard counties as long as the trap is 

not within 150 yards of the permanent residence of another person. The restrictions 

regarding placing certain traps near residences do not apply to the use of (1) body-gripping 
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traps with a jaw spread of less than six inches that are placed, maintained, and operated 

completely in submerged water or (2) snap-type traps used to catch rats and mice.  

 

Relevant Penalties  

 

Under current law, a person who violates any provision of Title 10 of the Natural Resources 

Article (Wildlife) is guilty of a misdemeanor. Various penalties apply for first and 

subsequent offenses. Fines collected for such violations are credited to the State Wildlife 

Management and Protection Fund. Additionally, an NRP officer, or any law enforcement 

officer who arrests a person for violating Title 10 of the Natural Resources Article may 

seize every bird, mammal, reptile, and amphibian unlawfully caught, sold, offered for sale, 

transported, or possessed. DNR may dispose of any seized species of wildlife at the 

department’s discretion. In addition, an NRP officer or any law enforcement officer, upon 

arresting any person for violating Title 10 of the Natural Resources Article, may seize any 

device, equipment, conveyance, or property unlawfully used and, upon conviction, may be 

forfeited, as specified.  

 

COMPASS Licensing System 

 

DNR’s COMPASS online licensing and registration system was designed so that an 

individual can access or create a personal DNR licensing account via the Internet, 

telephone, or U.S. mail or by visiting a DNR service center. Individuals may also establish 

an account at various sports license agent locations in retail stores throughout the State. 

Once an individual creates an account, the individual is issued a DNR identification card 

that contains a unique identification number to use for future licensing purchases.   

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  SB 275 (Senator Bailey) - Education, Energy, and the 

Environment. 

 

Information Source(s):  Department of Natural Resources; Department of Legislative 

Services 
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Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 12, 2023 

Third Reader - March 3, 2023 
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Analysis by:   Kathleen P. Kennedy  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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