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Judicial Proceedings Judiciary

Criminal Procedure — Incompetency to Stand Trial — Dismissal of Charges and
Victims’ Rights

This bill alters the time after which a court is required to dismiss a charge of first-degree
murder or a crime considered “sexually assaultive behavior” against a defendant found
incompetent to stand trial (IST) to the lesser of 10 years or the maximum sentence for the
most serious offense charged. A victim or victim’s representative has the right to petition
the court for extraordinary cause to extend the time to dismiss a charge against a defendant
found IST for a crime of violence if the victim or victim’s representative has submitted a
written request to the Maryland Department of Health (MDH) for notification or submitted
a victim notification request form.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: General fund expenditures increase by at least $111,900 in FY 2024 for the
Office of the Public Defender (OPD), as discussed below. General fund expenditures also
increase for MDH for extended commitments and related proceedings. The Judiciary can
implement the bill with existing resources. Revenues are not affected.

(in dollars) FY 2024 FY 2025 FY 2026 FY 2027 FY 2028
Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
GF Expenditure 111,900 136,300 142,400 148,600 156,400
Net Effect ($111,900) ($136,300) ($142,400) ($148,600) ($156,400)

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease

Local Effect: The bill may increase workloads for State’s Attorneys. Revenues are not
affected.

Small Business Effect: None.



Analysis
Current Law:
Dismissal of Charges for a Defendant Found Incompetent to Stand Trial

By statute, a defendant is IST if the defendant is not able to understand the nature or object
of the proceeding or assist in the defense.

Whether or not the defendant is confined in an MDH facility and unless the State petitions
the court for extraordinary cause to extend the time, the court must dismiss the charge
against a defendant found IST (1) after the lesser of the expiration of five years or the
maximum sentence for the most serious offense charged, if charged with a felony or crime
of violence or (2) after the lesser of the expiration of three years or the maximum sentence
for the most serious offense charged, if charged with an offense other than a felony or crime
of violence.

The court is required to dismiss a charge without prejudice if the court considers that
resuming the criminal proceeding would be unjust because so much time has passed since
the defendant was found IST. Before dismissing a charge, the court must provide the
State’s Attorney and a victim or victim’s representative who has requested notification
advance notice and an opportunity to be heard. If charges are dismissed, the court must
notify the victim or representative mentioned above and the Criminal Justice Information
System.

In 2009, the Maryland Court of Appeals (how the Supreme Court of Maryland) held that
the dangerousness and restorability of a defendant adjudged IST are not sufficient for an
extraordinary cause determination under the State’s incompetency statute. Ray v. State of
Maryland, 410 Md. 384 (2009). While the State may reindict a defendant after the
defendant’s charges were dismissed under § 3-107(a) of the Criminal Procedure Article
without a showing that the defendant has become competent, the State must overcome the
presumption that the defendant is unrestorable before the defendant is placed in
incompetency commitment. Otherwise, the circuit court must initiate civil commitment
proceedings in accordance with Section 3-106 of the Criminal Procedure Article.
State v. Ray, 429 Md. 566 (2012).

Crimes of Violence

Section 14-101(a) of the Criminal Law Article defines a “crime of violence” as
(1) abduction; (2) arson in the first degree; (3) kidnapping; (4) manslaughter, except
involuntary manslaughter; (5) mayhem; (6) maiming; (7) murder; (8) rape; (9) robbery;
(10) carjacking (including armed carjacking); (11) first- and second-degree sexual
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offenses; (12) use of a firearm in the commission of a felony or other crime of violence,
except possession with intent to distribute a controlled dangerous substance; (13) child
abuse in the first degree; (14) sexual abuse of a minor younger than age 13 under specified
circumstances; (15) home invasion; (16) felony sex trafficking and forced marriage;
(17) an attempt to commit crimes (1) through (16); (18) continuing course of certain sexual
conduct with a child; (19) assault in the first degree; and (20) assault with intent to murder,
rape, rob, or commit a sexual offense in the first or second degree.

Sexually Assaultive Behavior

“Sexually assaultive behavior” means an act that would constitute a sexual crime under
Title 3, Subtitle 3 of the Criminal Law Article; sexual abuse of a minor under § 3-602 of
the Criminal Law Article; sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult under § 3-604 of the Criminal
Law Article; a violation of 18 U. S. Code Chapter 109A; or a violation of a law of another
state, the United States, or a foreign country that is equivalent to any of these offenses.

Victim Notification

Under Maryland law, a victim of a crime or delinquent act (or a representative in the event
the victim is deceased, disabled, or a minor) has a broad range of specific rights during the
criminal justice process. On first contact with a victim, a law enforcement officer,
District Court commissioner, or juvenile intake officer must give an identified victim a
pamphlet that advises the victim of the rights, services, and procedures available in the
time before and after the filing of a charging document. Also, within 10 days after the filing
or unsealing of an indictment or information, the prosecuting attorney must provide a
victim with a pamphlet that describes the rights, services, and procedures available to a
victim after the indictment or information is filed and a notification request form by which
a victim may request notice of various proceedings.

Many of the rights afforded a victim of crime depend on a victim completing a notification
request form or requesting notice by following the Maryland Electronic Courts system
protocol.

State Expenditures: Based on existing statute and the classification of and the maximum
penalties for the offenses subject to the bill (1) most of the defendants affected by the bill
would have their charges dismissed after 10 years instead of 5 years under existing statute
and (2) the bill generally does not alter the time before dismissal of charges for the
remaining defendants.

Maryland Department of Health

General fund expenditures for MDH increase if the bill increases the amount of time
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defendants spend committed in MDH facilities. The extent of this increase cannot be
reliably determined at this time and depends on:

° the number of individuals committed to MDH facilities after being found IST for
first-degree murder or a sexually assaultive behavior offense;
° whether an individual charged with first-degree murder or a sexually assaultive

behavior offense that is subject to the 5-year limit under existing statute who is
found IST and not restored to competency within 5 years will be restored to
competency in 10 years;

° whether an individual charged with first-degree murder or a sexually assaultive
behavior offense who is found IST is also determined to be dangerous; and
° whether an individual charged with first-degree murder or a sexually assaultive

behavior offense who is found IST and has his/her charges dismissed after the time
limit under existing statute will still be determined to be dangerous and civilly
committed to an MDH facility.

This analysis assumes that the cost of maintaining an individual in an MDH facility on a
pending charges basis is equal to the cost of maintaining the same individual on a civil
commitment basis. MDH advises that the bill may have an effect on facility discharge rates
and throughput. Commitments to MDH facilities involve extensive proceedings and
evaluations. Depending on the bill’s effect on MDH workloads, MDH may incur additional
expenditures.

Office of the Public Defender

General fund expenditures increase by at least $111,880 in fiscal 2024, which accounts for
the bill’s October 1, 2023 effective date. This estimate reflects the cost of hiring
one attorney for the Mental Health Division to assist with legal representation generated
by the bill. It includes a salary, fringe benefits, one-time start-up costs, and ongoing
operating expenses. Additional general fund expenditures are incurred by OPD for expert
fees ($2,000 per client per year). The magnitude of annual expert fees depends on the
number of OPD clients who require experts for their proceedings under the bill, which
cannot be reliably determined at this time.

Position 1.0
Salary and Fringe Benefits $104,471
Operating Expenses 7,409
Minimum FY 2024 OPD Expenditures $111,880

Future year expenditures reflect a full salary with annual increases and employee turnover
as well as annual increases in ongoing operating expenses.
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OPD advises that the bill extends the time required for representation in applicable cases,
which results in increased costs for staff and experts. For anyone committed for IST, an
annual court review is required, which generally requires OPD to engage an independent
expert evaluator. In addition, MDH is required to provide an updated review report to the
court and counsel every six months. Often courts set hearings upon receipt of those reports,
in addition to the annual reviews. Thus, the bill could generate two additional court
hearings per year per defendant.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has been introduced within the last three years.
See SB 1073 of 2020.

Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Office of the
Public Defender; Maryland State’s Attorneys’ Association; Maryland Department of
Health; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - March 9, 2023

js/jkb Third Reader - April 3, 2023
Revised - Amendment(s) - April 3, 2023
Revised - Correction - April 3, 2023

Analysis by: Amy A. Devadas Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510
(301) 970-5510
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