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State Board of Examiners of Psychologists - License and Registration Issuance
and Renewals - Electronic Means

This bill requires the State Board of Examiners of Psychologists to issue electronic (as
opposed to paper) licenses or registrations to any applicant who meets the existing statutory
requirements. The board must, on the request of an applicant, print a paper copy of the
verification of licensure or registration and send it by first-class mail to the address on the
application for the license or registration. The bill also specifies that a renewal notice will
only be sent by electronic means (rather than first-class mail) unless (1) a renewal notice
sent by electronic means is returned as undeliverable or (2) a licensee or registrant
specifically requests that a renewal notice be sent by mail. The bill also repeals the
requirement that the board include specific information on each license and registration
issued.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The change is procedural in nature and does not materially affect
governmental finances.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

. _______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]
Analysis

Current Law: The State Board of Examiners of Psychologists licenses psychologists and
registers psychology associates. In general, to qualify for a license as a psychologist, an
applicant must be at least age 18, of good moral character, and (with limited exception)



plan to reside or practice in Maryland. An applicant for a psychology license must also
successfully pass a national examination in the practice of psychology and the State
jurisprudence examination. To qualify as a registered psychology associate, an applicant
must meet specified educational requirements (a minimum of a master’s degree in specified
fields of study), successfully pass the State law examination, and submit to a criminal
history records check.

Each license or registration issued by the board must include (1) the full name of the
licensee or registrant; (2) the dates of issuance and expiration; (3) a serial number; (4) the
signatures of the chairman and vice chairman of the board; and (5) the seal of the board.

Licenses and registrations expire on the date set by the board but may be valid for up to
two years. At least 90 days before a license or registration expires, the board must send a
renewal notice to a licensee/registrant either by first-class mail to the last known address
of the licensee/registrant or, if requested by the licensee/registrant, by electronic means to
the last known electronic mail address of the licensee/registrant. A renewal notice must
include the expiration date of the license/registration, the date by which a renewal
application must be received by the board in order for a renewal to be sent before the
current license/registration expires, and the amount of any renewal fee.

Each licensee or registrant must notify the board in writing of any changes to mailing
address or electronic mailing address within 90 days of when the change occurs.

Additional Information

Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last
three years.

Designated Cross File: SB 349 (Senator M. Washington) - Finance.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Health; Department of Legislative
Services
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