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Ways and Means   

 

Sales and Use Tax - Precious Metal Bullion or Coins - Exemption 
 

 

This bill expands a State sales and use tax exemption for the sale of precious metal bullion 

or coins, by exempting all such sales from the State sales and use tax. Under current law, 

only a sale of precious metal bullion or coins with a sale price greater than $1,000 is exempt 

from the State sales and use tax. The bill takes effect July 1, 2023. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund and special fund revenues decrease beginning in FY 2024. 

General fund expenditures increase by $81,300 in FY 2024. 

  

Local Effect:  None. 

  

Small Business Effect:  Potential meaningful. Vendors that deal in the sale of precious 

metal bullion or coins may realize additional transactions as a result of the change. 

  

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The sale of precious metal bullion or coins is exempt from the State sales 

and use tax if the sale price is greater than $1,000. 

 

State Sales and Use Tax 

 

The State sales and use tax rate is 6%, except for the sale of alcoholic beverages, which are 

taxed at a rate of 9%. The sales and use tax is the State’s second largest source of 

general fund revenue, accounting for approximately $6.2 billion in fiscal 2023 and 2024, 
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according to the December 2022 revenue forecast. Exhibit 1 shows the sales and use tax 

rates in surrounding states and the District of Columbia. 

 

 

Exhibit 1 

Sales and Use Tax Rates in Maryland and Surrounding States 

 

Delaware 0.0% 

  
District of Columbia 6.0%; 10.0% for liquor sold for on-the-premises consumption and 

restaurant meals; 10.25% for alcoholic beverages for consumption 

off the premises, tickets to specified sporting events, and specified 

rental vehicles; 8.0% for specified soft drinks 

  
Maryland 6.0% 

9.0% for alcoholic beverages 

  
Pennsylvania 6.0% plus 1.0% or 2.0% in certain local jurisdictions 

  
Virginia* 5.3%; 1.0% for eligible food items; 1.0% for specified essential 

personal hygiene items 

  
West Virginia 6.0% plus 1.0% in specified municipalities 

 

*An additional state tax of: (1) 0.7% is imposed in localities in Central Virginia, Northern Virginia, and 

the Hampton Roads region; (2) 1.0% in Charlotte, Gloucester, Halifax, Henry, Northampton, and Patrick 

counties; and (3) 1.7% is imposed in localities in the Historic Triangle. The sales and use tax rate for food 

and personal hygiene products decreased to 1.0% as of January 1, 2023. 

 

 

Blueprint for Maryland’s Future Fund 

 

Chapter 33 of 2022 altered the distribution of sales and use tax revenues beginning in 

fiscal 2023. Chapter 33 requires the Comptroller, after making certain other distributions, 

to pay to Blueprint for Maryland’s Future Fund (BMFF) the following percentage of the 

remaining sales and use tax revenues: 

 

 9.2% for fiscal 2023; 

 11.0% for fiscal 2024; 

 11.3% for fiscal 2025; 

 11.7% for fiscal 2026; and 

 12.1% for fiscal 2027 and each subsequent fiscal year. 
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Chapter 33 also repealed the distribution of sales and use tax revenues to the BMFF from 

marketplace facilitators, certain out-of-state vendors, and specified digital products or 

digital codes. 

 

State Revenues:  General fund and special fund revenues decease beginning in fiscal 2024. 

However, there is limited data available on the sale of gold and other precious metals in 

the State upon which to base a reliable estimate of the revenue impact of expanding the 

exemption. The actual impact on State revenues depends on the number of transactions that 

occur each year and the value of these transactions. To the extent the volume of sales and 

the prices of various precious metals vary over time, State revenues will be affected 

accordingly. 

 

As a point of reference, total sales and use tax revenues decrease by $30 for each $500 sale 

of precious metal bullion or coins exempt under the bill. 

 

State Expenditures:  The Comptroller’s Office will incur a one-time expenditure increase 

of $81,300 in fiscal 2024 to notify the approximately 130,000 sales and use tax account 

holders of the sales tax change. 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Comptroller’s Office; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 28, 2023 
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Analysis by:   Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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