SENATE BILL 1095

E4 4lr2233

By: Senators Smith and Elfreth

Introduced and read first time: February 2, 2024

Assigned to: Judicial Proceedings

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments

Senate action: Adopted

Read second time: February 29, 2024

Returned to second reading: February 29, 2024 Senate action: Adopted with floor amendments

Read second time: February 29, 2024

CHA	\PT]	ER	

1 AN ACT concerning

- 2 Workgroup on Home Detention Monitoring
- FOR the purpose of establishing the Workgroup on Home Detention Monitoring; and generally relating to the Workgroup on Home Detention Monitoring.
- 5 SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
- 6 That:
- 7 (a) There is a Workgroup on Home Detention Monitoring.
- 8 (b) The Workgroup consists of:
- 9 (1) three members of the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the President 10 of the Senate;
- 11 (2) three members of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of
- 12 the House;
- 13 (3) the Secretary of Public Safety and Correctional Services, or the
- 14 Secretary's designee;
- 15 (4) the Public Defender of Maryland, or the Public Defender's designee;

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

$\frac{1}{2}$	(5) the President of the Maryland State's Attorneys' Association, or the President's designee;
3 4	(6) one representative of the Judiciary, appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Maryland;
5 6	(7) the Executive Director of the Maryland Network Against Domestic Violence, or the Executive Director's designee; and
7	(6) (7) (8) the following members appointed by the Governor:
8	(i) one representative of the Job Opportunities Task Force;
9 10	(ii) one representative of the Maryland Chiefs of Police Association and the Maryland Sheriffs' Association;
11	(iii) one representative of a large local detention center;
12	(iv) one representative of a small local detention center;
13 14	(v) one representative of a county pretrial release program that does not charge fees to participants; $\frac{1}{2}$
15 16	(vi) one representative of a county pretrial release program that does charge fees to participants; and
17 18	(7) (vii) two representatives one representative of private home detention monitoring agencies who shall be nonvoting members.
19 20	(c) The President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House shall select two cochairs from among the members of the Workgroup.
21 22	(d) The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services shall provide staff for the Workgroup.
23	(e) A member of the Workgroup:
24	(1) may not receive compensation as a member of the Workgroup; but
25 26	(2) is entitled to reimbursement for expenses under the Standard State Travel Regulations, as provided in the State budget.
27 28	(f) A member of the Workgroup serves at the pleasure of the person who appointed the member.

$\frac{1}{2}$	(g) At the first meeting of the Workgroup that occurs on or after July 1, 2024, the Workgroup shall vote to adopt a code of conduct providing for the acceptable conduct of			
3	Workgroup members.			
4 5 6	(f) (h) The Workgroup shall study and make recommendations regarding the cost and availability of both publicly and privately provided pretrial home detention monitorin systems.			
7 8 9	(g) (i) On or before December 31 each year, the Workgroup shall submit a report of its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly, in accordance with § 2–1257 of the State Government Article.			
10 11 12 13	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect 1, 2024. It shall remain effective for a period of 3 years and, at the end of June 30, this Act, with no further action required by the General Assembly, shall be abrogated of no further force and effect.			
	Approved:			
	Governor.			
	President of the Senate.			
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.			