Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2024 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE Third Reader

House Bill 327

(Delegate Bagnall)

Appropriations

Education, Energy, and the Environment

Anne Arundel County - Board of Community College Trustees - Membership Alterations and Appointment Requirements

This bill adds two new members to the Board of Community College Trustees for Anne Arundel County. Additionally, the bill requires that, to the extent practicable, the Governor must take into consideration the geographic and ethnic representation of Anne Arundel County when appointing members to the board so that all segments of the population of the county are represented on the board. Notwithstanding the date of appointment of the initial additional members, the terms of the initial additional members must begin on July 1, 2024. **The bill takes effect July 1, 2024.**

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None. The bill is directed at Anne Arundel Community College (AACC).

Local Effect: AACC expenditures to onboard and provide reimbursement to new board members are minimal and likely absorbable with existing resources. Revenues are not affected.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: The Board of Community College Trustees for Anne Arundel County consists of eight members, appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate. Except the student member, members of the Board of Community College Trustees for Anne Arundel County serve four-year terms. A member may not serve more than three consecutive full terms. The student member serves a one-year term beginning

July 1 and ending June 30. A member appointed to fill a vacancy in an unexpired term serves only for the remainder of that term and until a successor is appointed and qualifies.

State law generally establishes that community college boards have seven members serving staggered six-year terms, with several specified exceptions. Therefore, there are variations in the number and terms of board members. **Appendix 1** shows characteristics of the various boards. With one exception, the boards are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Maryland Senate. For Chesapeake College, the board is appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Maryland House of Delegates.

Local Expenditures: AACC advises that the college's expenditures increase beginning in fiscal 2025 for (1) onboarding of new board members (a one-time cost of \$1,500); (2) annual travel reimbursements (up to \$3,000 per trustee annually); and (3) access to board software (\$400 per trustee annually). However, it is assumed that these costs are likely absorbable.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last three years.

Designated Cross File: SB 69 (Anne Arundel County Senators) - Education, Energy, and the Environment.

Information Source(s): Anne Arundel County; Anne Arundel Community College; Maryland Higher Education Commission; Department of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - January 22, 2024 js/clb Third Reader - March 18, 2024

Analysis by: Michael E. Sousane Direct Inquiries to:

(410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510

Appendix 1 - Selected Requirements for Board Members of Community Colleges

		Term Length		Residency
Community College	Number of Members	(in Years)	Term Limits	Requirements
Allegany	7	6	No Limit	None
Anne Arundel	8^1	4	3^2	Yes^3
Baltimore City	9^1	6	2^4	Some ⁵
Baltimore	15	5	2^4	See Note ⁶
Carroll	7	6	No Limit	None
Cecil	7	6	No Limit	None
Chesapeake	10	5	3	Yes ⁷
Frederick	7	5	3	Yes ⁸
Garrett	7	6	No Limit	None
Hagerstown	7	6	No Limit	Yes ⁹
Harford	9	5	2^4	$\mathrm{Yes^{10}}$
Howard	7	6	No Limit	Some ¹¹
Montgomery	$10^{1,12}$	6	No Limit	Some ¹³
Prince George's	9^1	5	2^4	Yes^{14}
Southern Maryland	9	5	2^4	Yes ¹⁵
Wor-Wic	7	6	No Limit	None

¹The board includes a student member serving a one-year term. The student body elects the student board member in Prince George's County.

²Consecutive full terms.

³All members must be a resident of Anne Arundel County.

⁴Consecutive terms.

⁵All members must be a resident of the State. The majority must be residents of Baltimore City.

⁶Of the members, one serves at large and the other 14 serve from the seven councilmanic districts in Baltimore County, two from each district.

⁷Two members from each county that supports Chesapeake College (Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, and Talbot).

⁸All seven members must be a resident of Frederick County.

⁹All members must be a resident of Washington County at the time of appointment and maintain residency in Washington County throughout their term of appointment.

¹⁰All members must be a resident of Harford County. The Harford County board includes three at-large members and one from each of the six council districts.

¹¹Of the seven members, at least six must be residents of Howard County at the time of appointment and maintain residency in Howard County throughout the term of appointment.

¹²A local nominating committee must submit to the Governor the names of two to four candidates per vacancy, from which the Governor must appoint a new member.

Source: Annotated Code of Maryland

¹³The student member must be a resident of the county.

¹⁴All members must be a resident of Prince George's County.

¹⁵Members must be a resident of the State. Each of the southern Maryland counties must be represented by at least three members who are residents of the county.