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Ratifying the Federal Child Labor Amendment 
 

 

This joint resolution ratifies the federal Child Labor Amendment to the U.S. Constitution, 

as proposed by U.S. House Joint Resolution 184 of 1924, to provide the U.S. Congress 

with the power to limit, regulate, and prohibit the labor of minors. A copy of this resolution 

must be forwarded by the Department of Legislative Services as specified. 
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The joint resolution does not directly affect State finances as additional states 

must ratify the federal Child Labor Amendment for it to take effect. If the Child Labor 

Amendment is ratified, depending on any future federal legislation and potential legal 

actions, the federal Child Labor Amendment may impact the State’s ability to regulate the 

labor of minors. 
  

Local Effect:  None. 
 

Small Business Effect:  None. 
 

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The U.S. House Joint Resolution of 1924 proposes to amend the 

U.S. Constitution so that the U.S. Congress has the power to limit, regulate, and prohibit 

the labor of persons under 18 years of age. In 1924, the U.S. Congress passed 

U.S. House Joint Resolution of 1924. The amendment was then brought before the states 

for ratification, but it failed to garner support from the three-fourths of states required to 

ratify and include the language in the U.S. Constitution. Maryland rejected the resolution 

in 1927, and the amendment is still outstanding. 
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Prior to the U.S. House Joint Resolution of 1924, the federal government attempted to 

regulate child labor through legislation in 1916 with the Keating-Owen Child Labor Act, 

but the U.S. Supreme Court ruled the Act as unconstitutional. The U.S. Congress passed 

the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) in 1938, prohibiting oppressive child labor. 

The act was challenged in the U.S. Supreme Court, but the FLSA was upheld. The FLSA 

generally sets the minimum age for employment (14 years for non-agricultural jobs), 

restricts the hours youth under the age of 16 may work, and prohibits youth under the age 

of 18 from being employed in hazardous occupations. 
 

All states also have standards concerning youth employment. When federal and state 

standards are different, the rules that provide the most protection to young workers apply. 
 

Maryland Work Permits and Special Permits 
 

Generally, a minor under the age of 14 may not be employed or allowed to be employed in 

Maryland and individuals between the ages of 14 and 18 may not work without a permit, 

subject to specified exemptions. Except under conditions specified in statute, a minor 

between the age of 14 and 18 may not work in about a dozen hazardous professions 

delineated in statute; additional occupations are restricted for minors younger than age 16. 
 

A parent or guardian of a minor may apply for a work permit by completing an online 

application and, after reviewing the application, the Commissioner of Labor and Industry 

may issue the permit if permissible. 
 

The Commissioner of Labor and Industry may issue a special permit for a minor of any 

age to be employed as an entertainer, model, or performer. If the commissioner is satisfied 

that the employment will not be detrimental to the minor’s health or welfare, the minor will 

be adequately supervised, and the minor’s education will not be neglected, the 

commissioner must issue the special permit. The special permit must be notarized with the 

signatures of the employer and the minor’s parent or guardian. 
 

Statute includes additional requirements related to the working hours of minors that 

generally limit the number of hours and time of day during which a minor may be 

employed. 
 

A person who interferes with the commissioner’s enforcement of the statute or knowingly 

gives false information to the commissioner is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction 

is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to 90 days. A person who 

knowingly employs or allows a minor to be employed in violation of the law is guilty of a 

misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine of up to $10,000, and/or imprisonment 

for up to one year. 
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Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Labor; U.S. Department of Labor; 

National Archives; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - March 7, 2024 
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Analysis by:   Heather N. MacDonagh  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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