## HB1544/613426/1

BY: Health and Government Operations Committee

# AMENDMENTS TO HOUSE BILL 1544

(First Reading File Bill)

#### AMENDMENT NO. 1

On page 1, in the sponsor line, strike "and Rosenberg" and substitute "Rosenberg, Alston, Bagnall, Chisholm, Cullison, Guzzone, Hill, Hutchinson, S. Johnson, Kaiser, Kerr, Kipke, Lopez, M. Morgan, Reilly, Ross, Szeliga, Taveras, White Holland, Woods, and Woorman"; and strike beginning with "requiring" in line 6 down through "recipient;" in line 7.

## AMENDMENT NO. 2

On page 1, in lines 23 and 24, strike "Corporal Jeremy Herbert, Officer Garry Kirts, Sergeant Paul Pastorek, and Officer Timothy Baublitz" and substitute "Sergeant Paul Pastorek, Corporal Jeremy Herbert, Senior Officer William Kinsey, Officer Timothy Baublitz, and Officer Garry Kirts".

On page 3, in line 4, strike "FOUR" and substitute "FIVE".

On page 4, strike lines 4 and 5 in their entirety; in lines 6 and 23, strike "(E)" and "(F)", respectively, and substitute "(D)" and "(E)", respectively.

On page 5, in line 5, strike "; and" and substitute a period; in line 6, after "(b)" insert "(1)"; in line 7, strike "or before January 31, 2026" and substitute "March 26, 2026"; and after line 7, insert:

"(2) The following individuals shall be awarded the Maryland Law Enforcement Public Service Medal at the ceremony held in accordance with paragraph (1) of this subsection in recognition of contributions made during the collapse of the Francis Scott Key Bridge:

# HB1544/613426/01 Health and Government Operations Committee Amendments to HB 1544 Page 2 of 2

- (i) Sergeant Paul Pastorek;
- (ii) Corporal Jeremy Herbert;
- (iii) Senior Officer William Kinsey;
- (iv) Officer Timothy Baublitz; and
- (v) Officer Garry Kirts.".