## **HOUSE BILL 207**

F25lr0921 HB 473/24 - APP**CF SB 268** (PRE-FILED) By: Delegate Pasteur Requested: September 23, 2024 Introduced and read first time: January 8, 2025 Assigned to: Appropriations Committee Report: Favorable House action: Adopted Read second time: February 11, 2025 CHAPTER AN ACT concerning Higher Education - Undocumented Students - Out-of-State Tuition Exemption **Eligibility** FOR the purpose of decreasing the number of years an individual or the individual's parent or guardian must file taxes before the academic year for eligibility to receive an out-of-state tuition exemption; and generally relating to out-of-state tuition exemptions for undocumented students. BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments, Article – Education Section 15-106.8(b)(4)Annotated Code of Maryland (2022 Replacement Volume and 2024 Supplement) SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND, That the Laws of Maryland read as follows: Article - Education 15-106.8. Notwithstanding any other provision of this article, an individual shall be exempt from paying the out-of-state tuition rate at a public institution of higher education

## EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

1

2 3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.

1 2	in the State, and shall be eligible for the tuition rates described under subsections (c) and (d) of this section, if the individual:
3 4 5 6	(4) Provides to the public institution of higher education documentation that the individual or the individual's parent or legal guardian has filed a Maryland income tax return annually for the [3–year] <b>2–YEAR</b> period before the academic year in which the tuition rate exemption would apply;
7 8	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect July 1, 2025.
	Approved:
	Governor.
	Speaker of the House of Delegates.
	President of the Senate.