HOUSE BILL 562

5lr2853 CF SB 352

By: Delegates R. Long, Szeliga, Grammer, Mangione, Metzgar, and Nawrocki Baltimore County Delegation

Introduced and read first time: January 23, 2025 Assigned to: Ways and Means

Committee Report: Favorable with amendments House action: Adopted Read second time: March 5, 2025

CHAPTER _____

1 AN ACT concerning

2 Baltimore County - Republican Political Party Central Committee - Elections

FOR the purpose of altering the number of members elected from each councilmanic district
of Baltimore County to the Baltimore County Republican Party Central Committee;
<u>altering the number of members elected from each legislative district of Baltimore</u>
<u>County to the Baltimore County Democratic Party Central Committee</u>; and generally
relating to the Baltimore County Republican Party Central Committee

- 8 party central committees in Baltimore County.
- 9 BY repealing and reenacting, with amendments,
- 10 Article Election Law
- 11 Section 4–203(c)(1) and (2)
- 12 Annotated Code of Maryland
- 13 (2022 Replacement Volume and 2024 Supplement)

SECTION 1. BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF MARYLAND,
That the Laws of Maryland read as follows:

- 16 Article Election Law
- 17 4–203.

18 (c) (1) In Baltimore County, the Republican Party Central Committee shall 19 consist of [four] **THREE** members elected from each councilmanic district in the county.

EXPLANATION: CAPITALS INDICATE MATTER ADDED TO EXISTING LAW.

[Brackets] indicate matter deleted from existing law.

<u>Underlining</u> indicates amendments to bill.

Strike out indicates matter stricken from the bill by amendment or deleted from the law by amendment.



 $\mathbf{2}$

HOUSE BILL 562

1	(2) For the Baltimore County Democratic Party Central Committee:
2	(i) [20] 10 members, [five] TWO from each district, shall be elected
3	from legislative districts [6, 8, 10, and 11] 11A, 42A, 42B, 43B, AND 44A, each district
4	being located wholly [within] IN Baltimore County;
5	(ii) [four] 12 members, FOUR FROM EACH DISTRICT, shall be
6	elected from legislative [district 44B that is] DISTRICTS 7A, 11B, AND 44B, EACH
$\overline{7}$	DISTRICT BEING located wholly in Baltimore County; AND
8	(iii) [four] 18 members, SIX FROM EACH DISTRICT, shall be elected
9	from [that part of] legislative [district 7 that is] DISTRICTS 6, 8, AND 10, EACH DISTRICT
10	BEING located WHOLLY in Baltimore County[;
11	(iv) four members shall be elected from that part of legislative
12	<u>district 12 that is located in Baltimore County; and</u>
10	
13	(v) <u>five members, of which two members shall be from delegate</u>
14	district 42A and three members shall be from delegate district 42B, shall be elected from
15	<u>legislative district 42 that is located wholly in Baltimore County].</u>
16	SECTION 2. AND BE IT FURTHER ENACTED, That this Act shall take effect
+ U	Shorior, a, mib bh if i orifithir himoriab, inde ende ende ende

17 October 1, 2025.

Approved:

Governor.

Speaker of the House of Delegates.

President of the Senate.