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Public Safety - Police Accountability - Police Officer Complainant

This bill authorizes a police officer to file a complaint of police misconduct with a county
or local police accountability board. In addition, the bill repeals the requirement for a
complaint reviewed by the investigating unit of a law enforcement agency or by a county
or statewide administrative charging committee to be filed by a member of the public.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The bill’s changes are not anticipated to materially affect State government
operations or finances.

Local Effect: The bill’s changes are not anticipated to materially affect local government
operations or finances.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: Chapter 59 of 2021 established a statewide accountability and discipline
process for police officers.

Pursuant to Chapter 59, an individual may file a complaint of police misconduct with a
police accountability board or the law enforcement agency that employs the police officer
who is the subject of the complaint. A complaint of police misconduct filed with a police
accountability board or the law enforcement agency must include specified information but
need not be notarized. If filed with a police accountability board, the complaint must be
forwarded to the appropriate law enforcement agency within three days of receipt, and each



such complaint by a member of the public must be immediately reviewed by the
investigating unit of the law enforcement agency.

On completion of an investigation, regardless of whether the complaint originated from
within the law enforcement agency or from an external source, the law enforcement agency
must forward the investigatory files for the complaint to the appropriate administrative
charging committee. The administrative charging committee must review and make a
determination or ask for further review within 30 days after completion of the investigating
unit’s review. The process for review by the investigating unit through disposition by the
administrative charging committee must be completed within one year and 1 day after the
filing of a complaint by a citizen.

Each county must have a police accountability board to, in addition to other duties, (1) hold
meetings with heads of law enforcement agencies and otherwise work with law
enforcement agencies and the county government to improve matters of policing;
(2) appoint civilian members to charging committees and trial boards; (3) receive
complaints of police misconduct filed by members of the public; (4) on a quarterly basis,
review outcomes of disciplinary matters considered by charging committees; and (5) by
December 31 each year, submit a report to the governing body of the county that identifies
any trends in the disciplinary process of police officers in the county and makes
recommendations on changes to policy that would improve police accountability in the
county.

For more information regarding the police accountability and discipline process, see the
Appendix — Police Accountability and Discipline Process.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last
three years.

Designated Cross File: None.

Information  Source(s): Anne Arundel, Cecil, and Frederick counties;
Maryland Association of Counties; Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission; City of
Havre de Grace; Maryland Municipal League; Comptroller’s Office; University System of
Maryland; Morgan State University; Department of Natural Resources; Department of
Public Safety and Correctional Services; Department of State Police;
Maryland Department of Transportation; Department of Legislative Services
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Appendix — Police Accountability and Discipline Process

Establishment of Accountability and Discipline Process for Police Officers

Chapter 59 of 2021 repealed the Law Enforcement Officers’ Bill of Rights and established
a statewide accountability and discipline process for police officers with procedural
requirements for handling complaints of police misconduct that could lead to disciplinary
action. The process includes requirements for the use of police accountability boards,
administrative charging committees, and trial boards, as well as the authorization for a
police officer who is the subject of a complaint of police misconduct to have the assistance
of a representative. It extends to police officers of specified State and local agencies. More
detail on the process is discussed below.

A law enforcement agency may not negate or alter any of the requirements relating to
Title 3, Subtitle 1 of the Public Safety Article (which addresses police accountability and
discipline) through collective bargaining, and collective bargaining may not be used to
establish or alter any aspect of the process for disciplining a police officer.

Police Accountability Boards: Each county must have a police accountability board to:

° hold quarterly meetings with heads of law enforcement agencies and otherwise work
with law enforcement agencies and the county government to improve matters of
policing;

° appoint civilian members to charging committees and trial boards;

° receive complaints of police misconduct filed by members of the public;

° on a quarterly basis, review outcomes of disciplinary matters considered by
charging committees; and

° by December 31 each year, submit a report to the governing body of the county that

identifies any trends in the disciplinary process of police officers in the county and
makes recommendations on changes to policy that would improve police
accountability in the county.

In addition, the local governing body must (1) establish the membership of and the budget
and staff for a police accountability board; (2) appoint a chair for a police accountability
board, as specified; and (3) establish the procedures for recordkeeping by a police
accountability board. An active police officer may not be a member, and to the extent
practicable, the membership must reflect the racial, gender, and cultural diversity of the
county.
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Administrative Charging Committees: Each county must have one administrative charging
committee to serve countywide law enforcement agencies and local law enforcement
agencies in the county, and there must be at least one statewide administrative charging
committee to serve statewide and bi-county law enforcement agencies. An administrative
charging committee must (1) review the findings of a law enforcement agency’s
investigation conducted and forwarded, as specified; (2) make a determination as to
whether or not to administratively charge the police officer who is the subject of the
investigation; (3) if the police officer is charged, recommend discipline in accordance with
the law enforcement agency’s disciplinary matrix, as specified; (4) review any body camera
footage that may be relevant to the matters covered in the complaint of misconduct;
(5) authorize a police officer called to appear before an administrative charging committee
to be accompanied by a representative; (6) issue a written opinion that describes in detail
its findings, determinations, and recommendations; and (7) forward the written opinion to
the chief of the law enforcement agency, the police officer, and the complainant. An
administrative charging committee may request specified information and make specified
determinations.

Chapter 59 also established requirements regarding the composition of a county and
statewide administrative charging committee. An individual must receive training on
matters relating to police procedures from the Maryland Police Training and Standards
Commission (MPTSC) before serving as a member of an administrative charging
committee.

Investigation of Citizen Complaints: An individual may file a complaint of police
misconduct with a police accountability board or the law enforcement agency that employs
the police officer who is the subject of the complaint. A complaint of police misconduct
filed with a police accountability board or the law enforcement agency must include
specified information but need not be notarized. If filed with a police accountability board,
the complaint must be forwarded to the appropriate law enforcement agency within
three days of receipt, and each such complaint by a member of the public must be
immediately reviewed by the investigating unit of the law enforcement agency.

On completion of an investigation, regardless of whether the complaint originated from
within the law enforcement agency or from an external source, the law enforcement agency
must forward the investigatory files for the complaint to the appropriate administrative
charging committee. The administrative charging committee must review and make a
determination or ask for further review within 30 days after completion of the investigating
unit’s review. The process for review by the investigating unit through disposition by the
administrative charging committee must be completed within one year and 1 day after the
filing of a complaint by a citizen.
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Disciplinary Matrix: MPTSC must develop and adopt, by regulation, a model uniform
disciplinary matrix for use by each law enforcement agency in the State, and each law
enforcement agency must adopt the matrix for all matters that may result in discipline of a
police officer.

Within 15 days after an administrative charging committee issues an administrative charge
against a police officer, the chief of the law enforcement agency must offer discipline to
the police officer who has been administratively charged in accordance with the
disciplinary matrix. The chief may offer the same discipline that was recommended by the
administrative charging committee or a higher degree of discipline within the applicable
range of the disciplinary matrix but may not deviate below the discipline recommended by
the administrative charging committee. If the police officer accepts the chief’s offer of
discipline, the offered discipline must be imposed. However, if the police officer does not
accept the chief’s offer of discipline, the matter must be referred to a trial board. At least
30 days before a trial board proceeding begins, the police officer must be provided a copy
of the investigatory record and notified of the charges against the police officer and the
recommended disciplinary action.

Trial Board Process: Each law enforcement agency must establish a trial board process to
adjudicate matters for which a police officer is subject to discipline; however, a small law
enforcement agency may use the trial board process of another law enforcement agency by
mutual agreement. Chapter 59 also established requirements regarding the composition of
a trial board and requires an individual, before serving as a member of a trial board, to
receive training on matters relating to police procedures from MPTSC.

With specified exceptions, proceedings of a trial board must be open to the public. A trial
board may administer oaths and issue subpoenas as necessary to complete its work. A
complainant has the right to be notified of a trial board hearing and, with specified
exceptions, the right to attend a trial board hearing. A police officer may be disciplined
only for cause; with specified exceptions, a law enforcement agency has the burden of
proof by a preponderance of the evidence.

Within 45 days after the final hearing by a trial board, the trial board must issue a written
decision reflecting the findings, conclusions, and recommendations of a majority of the
trial board. Within 30 days after the date of issuance of a decision of a trial board, the
decision may be appealed by the police officer, as specified. An appeal taken from a trial
board decision must be on the record, and a trial board decision that is not appealed is final.

Suspensions and Terminations: Pending an investigatory, administrative charging
committee, and trial board process, the chief may impose an emergency suspension with
pay or, for at most 30 days, without pay if the chief determines that such a suspension is in
the best interest of the public. If an administrative charging committee determines not to
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administratively charge a police officer in connection with the matter on which a
suspension without pay is based, the police officer is entitled to receive back pay.

A chief or a chief’s designee may suspend a police officer without pay and suspend the
police officer’s police powers on an emergency basis if the police officer is charged with
specified crimes. A police officer who was suspended without pay is entitled to receive
back pay if the criminal charge or charges against the police officer result in a finding of
not guilty, an acquittal, a dismissal, or a nolle prosequi.

The chief must terminate the employment of a police officer who is convicted of a felony
and may terminate the employment of a police officer who (1) receives a probation before
judgment for a felony or (2) is convicted of a misdemeanor committed in the performance
of duties as a police officer, misdemeanor second-degree assault, or a misdemeanor
involving dishonesty, fraud, theft, or misrepresentation.

In connection with a disciplinary matter, a police officer may be required to submit to blood
alcohol tests; blood, breath, or urine tests for controlled dangerous substances; polygraph
examinations; or interrogations that specifically relate to the subject matter of the
investigation. If a police officer is required to submit to a test, examination, or interrogation
and the police officer refuses to do so, the law enforcement agency may commence an
action that may lead to a punitive measure as a result of the refusal. However, if a police
officer is required to submit to a test, examination, interrogation, or polygraph examination,
the results are not admissible or discoverable in a criminal proceeding against the police
officer and the results of the polygraph examination are also not admissible or discoverable
in a civil proceeding against the police officer.

Victims’ Rights Advocates: A law enforcement agency must designate an employee as a
victims’ rights advocate, with specified duties, to act as the contact for the public within
the agency on matters related to police misconduct.

Database to Track Complaints: Each law enforcement agency must create a database that
enables a complainant to enter the complainant’s case number to follow the status of the
case, as specified.

Police Officer Rights: Both a police officer who is the subject of a complaint of police
misconduct and a complainant may have the assistance of a representative in connection
with disciplinary proceedings.

A police officer may not be discharged, disciplined, demoted, or denied promotion,
transfer, or reassignment, or otherwise discriminated against or threatened in regard to the
police officer’s employment because the police officer (1) disclosed information that
evidences mismanagement, a waste of government resources, a danger to public health or
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safety, or a violation of law or policy committed by another police officer or (2) lawfully
exercised constitutional rights. A police officer may not be denied the right to bring suit
arising out of the police officer’s official duties and has the same rights to engage in
political activity as a State employee, except when on duty or acting in an official capacity.
A law enforcement agency may not prohibit secondary employment by a police officer but
may adopt reasonable regulations that relate to secondary employment by a police officer.

Expungement and Destruction of Records: A record relating to an administrative or
criminal investigation of misconduct by a police officer, including an internal affairs
investigatory record, a hearing record, and records relating to a disciplinary decision, may
not be expunged or destroyed by a law enforcement agency.
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