Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2025 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE First Reader

House Bill 1012 (Delegate Kerr)

Health and Government Operations

Massage Therapy - Continuing Education Requirements

This bill requires the State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners to establish continuing education requirements as a condition for license renewal. The board must adopt regulations to (1) approve continuing education courses and (2) establish the number of hours of continuing education required, at least half of which must include supervised hands-on techniques. Applicants for license renewal must submit a certification of the required course attendance on a form provided by the board at the time of license renewal. The board may refuse to renew the license of a licensed massage therapist who has failed to attend the required courses or failed to submit certification of attendance at the required courses. **The bill takes effect July 1, 2026.**

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: The board can update regulations and receive continuing education certifications from licensees using existing budgeted resources. Revenues are not affected.

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: Minimal.

Analysis

Current Law: Chapters 705 and 706 of 2022 phase out the registered massage practitioner credential. Until October 31, 2026, an individual may practice massage therapy in the State if the individual is either (1) licensed by the board or (2) registered by the board to practice massage therapy in a nonhealth care setting. Beginning November 1, 2026, an individual must be licensed by the board to practice massage therapy in the State.

By October 31, 2026, the board must convert the registration of an individual registered as a massage practitioner to a license to practice massage therapy if the individual complies with regulations adopted by the board. An individual registered by the board on October 1, 2024, must be considered, in all respects, registered as a registered massage practitioner by the board for the remainder of the individual's registration.

To qualify as a licensed massage therapist, an individual must (1) be of good moral character; (2) be at least 18 years old; (3) graduate from an institution of postsecondary education approved by the Maryland Higher Education Commission with at least 750 contact hours of education in a curriculum endorsed by the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation (COMTA) or an equivalent entity and approved by the board; (4) complete 750 contact hours of education in a board-approved program with specified areas of content; (5) pass a board-approved examination; and (6) submit to a criminal history records check (CHRC).

On or before September 30, 2024, to qualify as a registered massage therapy practitioner, an individual must (1) be of good moral character; (2) be at least 18 years old; (3) graduate from a program for the study of massage therapy that has a curriculum endorsed by the board and COMTA or an equivalent entity and accredited by an institutional accreditation agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education with at least 600 contact hours of classroom instruction in specified areas of content; (4) pass an examination approved by the board; and (5) submit to a CHRC.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last three years.

Designated Cross File: None.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Health; Department of Legislative

Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - March 4, 2025

km/jc

Analysis by: Michael E. Sousane Direct Inquiries to:

(410) 946-5510 (301) 970-5510