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State Board of Education - Membership - Early Childhood Development 

Professional 
 
 

This bill adds one member to the State Board of Education (SBE) who must be an early 

childhood development professional. The individual must have extensive experience in the 

operations of a child care business and early childhood curriculum and development, as 

determined by the Office of Child Care Advisory Council. The Governor must appoint the 

early childhood development member with the advice and consent of the Senate from a list 

of three qualified individuals submitted to the Governor from the Office of Child Care 

Advisory Council. The Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) must provide 

notice of the initial early childhood development member vacancy and any subsequent 

vacancy to all licensed child care providers in the State. The early childhood development 

member may attend and participate in an executive session of the board. The bill takes 

effect July 1, 2025. 
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund expenditures increase by approximately $5,000 annually 

beginning in FY 2027 to cover expense reimbursements for the additional SBE member. 

Revenues are not affected. 
  

(in dollars) FY 2026 FY 2027 FY 2028 FY 2029 FY 2030 

Revenues $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

GF Expenditure 0 5,000 5,000 5,000 5,000 

Net Effect $0 ($5,000) ($5,000) ($5,000) ($5,000)   
Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

 

Local Effect:  None. 
 

Small Business Effect:  None. 
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:  SBE consists of 13 regular members and 1 student member appointed by 

the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. In making appointments to the 

State board, the Governor must consider representation from all parts of the State and areas 

of the State with concentrations of population or unique needs. Members of the board must 

be appointed from the general public. Except for the teacher and student members, any 

individual who is subject to the authority of the State board may not be appointed to the 

State board. In addition, the Governor and the State Superintendent of Schools may not be 

appointed to the State board. 

 

Each regular member serves for a staggered four-year term and until a successor is 

appointed and qualifies. The Governor must appoint a new member to fill any vacancy on 

the State board for the remainder of that term and until a successor is appointed and 

qualifies. A member is eligible for reappointment but may not serve for more than two full 

four-year terms. The student member serves for a term of one-year. A student member is 

eligible for reappointment but may not serve more than two full one-year terms. 

 

Among the regular members, the Governor must appoint one teacher and one parent 

member with the advice and consent of the Senate. The teacher member who received the 

highest number of votes after an election by teachers in the State must be appointed by the 

Governor. For the parent member, the Governor must appoint the parent member from a 

list of three qualified individuals submitted by the Maryland Parent Teacher Association 

(PTA). MSDE must provide notice of a teacher member vacancy to (1) all certified teachers 

who are actively teaching in the State and (2) all teachers’ organizations representing 

teachers in the State for purposes of collective bargaining. The elections must be conducted 

under regulations adopted by MSDE. MSDE may consult with the State Retirement 

Agency of the Maryland State Retirement and Pension System to conduct the election. 

MSDE must provide notice of a parent member vacancy to the Maryland PTA. 

 

A teacher or parent member may attend and participate in an executive session of the 

State board; however, a teacher member may not vote on any matter that relates to appeals 

to the State board related to the suspension or dismissal of teachers, principals, and other 

professional personnel. 

 

State Expenditures:  MSDE advises that the expense reimbursement amount for  

State board members averages $5,000 for travel and expenses. State expenditures could 

increase beginning in fiscal 2027 by this amount, assuming that the Governor appoints the 

early childhood development member to a standard four-year term beginning on  

July 1, 2026. 
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Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  SB 462 (Senator M. Washington) - Education, Energy, and the 

Environment. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland State Department of Education; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 10, 2025 

 rh/hlb 

 

Analysis by:  Andrew Stover  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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