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Income Tax - Credit for Individuals Residing With and Caring for Elderly 

Parents 
 

 

This bill establishes a refundable personal income tax credit equal to $3,000 for an 

individual who resides with and provides care for a qualifying parent (an individual age 70 

or older who is a biological or adoptive parent of the taxpayer) for at least six months 

during the tax year, meets a specified income threshold, and is not a dependent of another 

taxpayer. To be eligible for the credit, a taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income (AGI) 

may not exceed $103,650 ($161,000 if married filing jointly), as adjusted for inflation for 

tax years after 2025. An individual may claim the credit for more than one parent. The 

credit may not be claimed by multiple individuals in the same household with respect to 

the same parent. The bill takes effect July 1, 2025, and applies to tax year 2025 and 

beyond. 
 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  General fund revenues decrease significantly, potentially by more than 

$40.0 million annually, beginning in FY 2026. General fund expenditures increase by 

$100,000 to $200,000 in FY 2026 only. 

 

Local Effect:  None. 

 

Small Business Effect:  None. 

 

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The State does not offer a personal income tax credit for caregivers of 

elderly parents, specifically. However, the State’s child and dependent care credit offers 
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income tax relief to taxpayers who incur certain eligible expenses for the care of adult 

dependents, as discussed below. As also discussed below, recently enacted legislation 

establishes an expense grant program within the Maryland Department of Aging (MDOA) 

for family caregivers who pay or incur qualified expenses for the care of a qualified family 

member. 

 

Maryland Child and Dependent Care Credit 

 

The State’s child and dependent care credit offers a partially refundable personal income 

tax credit for resident taxpayers who qualify for and claim the federal child and dependent 

care credit and who meet certain income eligibility limits. A taxpayer may be eligible for 

the federal child and dependent care credit if the taxpayer has earned income and paid 

eligible expenses for the care of one or more qualifying individuals if the expenses are 

incurred to enable the taxpayer to work or look for work. Generally, a qualifying individual 

is a dependent of the taxpayer who is younger than age 13 or a spouse or dependent of the 

taxpayer who is incapable of self-care and who lived with the taxpayer for more than 

one-half of the year. 

 

The maximum value of the State credit is 32% of the federal child and dependent care 

credit allowed for the tax year. For tax year 2023, the maximum value of the State credit is 

$336 for taxpayers with one qualifying dependent and $672 for taxpayers with two or more 

qualifying dependents. For tax year 2023, the State credit begins to phase out for taxpayers 

with federal AGI above $30,000 ($50,000 if married filing jointly), fully phases out for 

taxpayers with federal AGI above $103,650 ($161,000 if married filing jointly), and is 

refundable for taxpayers with federal AGI of up to $56,300 ($84,500 if married filing 

jointly). 

 

Caregiver Expense Grant Program 

 

Chapter 161 of 2024 established the Caregiver Expense Grant Program within MDOA to 

award grants for qualified expenses paid or incurred by an individual who provides care to 

a qualified family member and whose federal AGI does not exceed $75,000 ($150,000 if a 

joint tax filer). A qualified family member is an individual who requires assistance with 

one or more daily living activities, as certified by a licensed physician, physician assistant, 

or registered nurse practitioner, and (1) is at least 60 years old or has Alzheimer’s Disease 

or a related disorder and is cared for by an adult relative or informal caregiver who is at 

least 18 years old or (2) is a child or an adult with developmental or functional disabilities 

and is cared for by a parent, grandparent, or other relative that is at least 55 years old. 

 

Subject to available funding, an eligible caregiver may apply for a grant equal to 30% of 

the amount of qualified expenses that exceed $2,000, up to a maximum grant of $2,500 per 
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fiscal year. While the Act specifies that the Governor may include up to $5.0 million for 

the program in the annual budget bill, there is no requirement that funding be provided. 

 

State Revenues:  General fund revenues decrease significantly beginning in fiscal 2026 

due to credits claimed against the personal income tax. Due to data limitations, the potential 

number of claimants is unknown; thus, a precise estimate of the bill’s effect on State 

revenues is not feasible at this time. However, preliminary analysis by the Comptroller’s 

Office suggests that resulting general fund revenue losses may exceed $40.0 million 

annually. 

 

State Expenditures:  The Comptroller’s Office advises that the bill necessitates changes 

to its tax processing system with estimated costs ranging from $100,000 to $200,000. Thus, 

general fund expenditures for the Comptroller’s Office increase by $100,000 to $200,000 

in fiscal 2026 only. The Comptroller’s Office also advises that the bill presents potential 

enforcement challenges, as a number of the tax credit eligibility requirements cannot be 

validated at the time a return is filed (for example, whether the taxpayer provided care for 

the qualifying parent). 

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Maryland Department of Aging; Comptroller’s Office; Maryland 

Department of Health; Department of Human Services; Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - January 13, 2025 
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Analysis by:   Elizabeth J. Allison  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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