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Maryland Self-Service Storage Act - Sale of Personal Property in Satisfaction of 

Lien - Notice Requirements 
 

 

This bill requires a self-service storage facility operator to provide an occupant a notice 

that includes certain information prior to conducting a lien sale of personal property. 

Specifically, at least 10 days before conducting a lien sale of personal property authorized 

under the Maryland Self-Service Storage Act, the operator must notify the occupant of the 

time, place, and terms of the sale by hand delivery, verified mail, or electronic mail at the 

occupant’s last known address. If an operator notifies the occupant via email and does not 

receive a response at least 5 days before the sale, the operator must promptly send a 

second notice to the occupant by verified mail (to the occupant’s last known postal 

address). The bill takes effect July 1, 2025. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  The bill does not materially affect State finances or operations. 

  

Local Effect:  The bill does not materially affect local government finances or operations. 

 

Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 

 

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law:  The Maryland Self-Service Storage Act was adopted in 1983 and applies 

to all rental agreements entered into or renewed after July 1, 1983. 

 

Under the Act, a “self-service storage facility” is any real property used for renting or 

leasing individual storage spaces in which the occupants themselves store and remove their 
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own personal property on a “self-service” basis. An “operator” is defined as the owner, 

operator, lessor, sublessor, agent, or any other person authorized to manage the self-service 

storage facility. An “occupant” is defined as a person, sublessee, successor, or assignee 

entitled to use the leased space at a self-service storage facility under a rental agreement. 

“Personal property” is any movable property not affixed to land and includes goods, wares, 

merchandise, motor vehicles, watercraft, and household items and furnishings. “Default” 

is defined as the failure to perform an obligation or duty set forth in the rental agreement 

on time. 
 

An operator of a self-service storage facility has a lien on all personal property stored in 

each leased space for rent, labor, or other charges and for expenses reasonably incurred in 

its sale. 
 

A rental agreement between an operator and occupant of a self-service storage facility must 

contain a statement, in bold type, advising the occupant that, in the event of the occupant’s 

default, the lien sale of personal property stored in the leased space may be advertised (1) in 

a newspaper of general circulation in the jurisdiction where the sale is to be held; (2) by 

email; or (3) on a website. 
 

If an occupant is in default for more than 60 days, the operator may enforce the lien by 

selling the personal property stored in the leased space at a public sale for cash; proceeds 

are applied to satisfy the lien and the operator must hold the balance, if any, for delivery 

on demand to the occupant or any other recorded lien holder. The operator must notify the 

occupant of the occupant’s default status before conducting the sale. The notice must 

include specified information about the operator’s lien on the personal property, including 

the due date by which any outstanding charges must be paid before the personal property 

is sold; the due date must be at least 14 days after the notice’s mailing date. The notice 

must be provided by hand delivery, verified mail, or email; however, email notice is only 

authorized if so specified in the rental agreement or in a written change to the rental 

agreement. 
 

At least three days before conducting a sale of the personal property, the operator must 

advertise the time, place, and terms of the sale via the methods noted above. The operator 

may not advertise the sale through email or a website unless the occupant initials the 

required statement in the rental agreement. 
 

At any time before a sale, the occupant may pay the amount necessary to satisfy the lien 

and redeem the occupant’s personal property. A sale must be held at the self-service storage 

facility where the personal property is stored (but may also be sold on an online auction 

website. 
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Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  Office of the Attorney General (Consumer Protection Division); 

Department of Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 23, 2025 

 caw/jkb 

 

Analysis by:  Eric F. Pierce  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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