Department of Legislative Services

Maryland General Assembly 2025 Session

FISCAL AND POLICY NOTE First Reader

House Bill 565 (Delegate Hutchinson)

Health and Government Operations

State Board of Pharmacy - Renewal Notices - Electronic Means

This bill requires the State Board of Pharmacy to send renewal notices by email instead of by first-class mail, unless otherwise requested. At least one month before a pharmacy license, wholesale distributor permit, pharmacy technician registration, or pharmacy intern registration expires, and before March 1 of the expiration year of a pharmacy permit, the board must send a renewal notice to the last known email address of the licensee or permit or registration holder. If requested, the board must instead send a renewal notice by first-class mail to the individual's last known address.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: Special fund expenditures decrease by an estimated \$14,500 annually beginning in FY 2026 due to reduced printing and mailing costs. Revenues are not affected.

(in dollars)	FY 2026	FY 2027	FY 2028	FY 2029	FY 2030
Revenues	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0
SF Expenditure	(14,500)	(14,500)	(14,500)	(14,500)	(14,500)
Net Effect	\$14,500	\$14,500	\$14,500	\$14,500	\$14,500

Note:() = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease

Local Effect: None.

Small Business Effect: None.

Analysis

Current Law: The State Board of Pharmacy regulates the practice of pharmacy by licensing pharmacists, registering pharmacy technicians, issuing permits to individuals to

establish or operate pharmacies in the State, setting pharmacy practice standards, and developing and enforcing laws and regulations to protect the public.

Unless otherwise requested, the board must send a renewal notice by mail to the individual's last known address prior to the expiration of a license, registration, or permit. If requested, the board must send a renewal notice by email at least two times within the month before the license, permit, or registration expires. If the email is undeliverable, the board must send a renewal notice by mail. The renewal notice must state (1) the date the license, permit, or registration expires; (2) the deadline by which the renewal application must be received for the renewal to be mailed prior to expiration; and (3) the amount of the renewal fee.

Pharmacy Licenses

Generally, an individual must be licensed by the board before practicing pharmacy in Maryland. An applicant for a license must (1) have graduated from a school of pharmacy approved by the board or accredited by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education; (2) have completed the required professional experience program; (3) pass the exam; (4) submit an application; and (5) pay the application fee. A license expires on the date set by the board unless renewed for an additional term, which cannot be longer than two years.

Pharmacy Permits

An individual must have a pharmacy permit issued by the board before establishing or operating a pharmacy in the State. A separate permit is required for each pharmacy an individual establishes or operates. To apply for a permit, an individual must submit an application to the board and pay the application fee. A permit expires on the May 31 after its effective date unless renewed for a two-year term.

Pharmacy Technician Registration

Generally, an individual must be registered and approved by the board as a pharmacy technician before performing delegated pharmacy acts. Generally, an applicant must (1) submit a signed application to the board; (2) provide documentation of training program and examination completion; (3) submit a request for a State criminal history records check (CHRC); and (4) pay the application fee. A registration expires on the date set by the board unless renewed for an additional term, which cannot be longer than two years.

Wholesale Distributor Permits

A wholesale distributor must have a permit issued by the board before engaging in wholesale distribution in the State. To apply for a permit, an applicant must submit an HB 565/Page 2

application to the board and pay the application fee. A permit expires on the May 31 after its effective date unless renewed for a two-year term.

Pharmacy Intern Registration

Generally, an individual must be registered and approved by the board as a registered pharmacy intern before practicing pharmacy under the direct supervision of a licensed pharmacist. Generally, an applicant must (1) submit a signed application to the board; (2) provide documentation of enrollment in a Doctor of Pharmacy program or graduation from an approved college of pharmacy; (3) submit a request for a CHRC; and (4) pay the application fee. A registration expires two years from the date of issue, unless renewed. A registered pharmacy intern may renew the registration one time if the intern (1) otherwise is entitled to be registered as a pharmacy intern; (2) submits a renewal application; and (3) pays a renewal fee.

State Expenditures: Given that email costs less than printing and sending notices via first-class mail, State Board of Pharmacy special fund expenditures decrease beginning in fiscal 2026, as the board will avoid the costs associated with printing and mailing renewal notices. The board reports that it renewed 14,386 licenses in fiscal 2024. Assuming that the board mails about 14,500 renewal notices each year and printing and postage together cost about \$1.00 per item, special fund expenditures may decrease by approximately \$14,500 annually.

Additional Information

Recent Prior Introductions: Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last three years.

Designated Cross File: SB 371 (Senator Beidle) - Finance.

Information Source(s): Maryland Department of Health; Department of Legislative

Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - January 31, 2025

js/jc

Analysis by: Eliana R. Prober Direct Inquiries to: (410) 946-5510

(301) 970-5510