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Ways and Means   

 

Personal Property Tax - Exemption for Low Assessments - Alteration 
 

   

This bill repeals a prohibition on the State Department of Assessments and Taxation 

(SDAT) from collecting personal property information or requiring a person to submit a 

personal property tax return if the person is exempt from personal property valuation and 

taxation due to the fact that the person has personal property valued at less than $20,000. 

The bill takes effect June 1, 2025, and applies to taxable years beginning after 

June 30, 2025. 

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  None. SDAT can handle the bill’s requirements with existing budgeted 

resources. 

  

Local Effect:  Potential minimal increase in local personal property tax revenues to the 

extent that more businesses are required to pay personal property taxes due to the enhanced 

tax compliance capabilities at SDAT provided under the bill. 

 

Small Business Effect:  Minimal. 

 

 

Analysis 
 

Current Law: 
 

Personal Property Taxation 

 

In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal property that is imposed and 

collected by local governments. Personal property generally includes business property 



    

HB 296/ Page 2 

including furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery, tools, supplies, 

inventory, and any other property not classified as real property. To provide for uniform 

assessments, SDAT is responsible for assessing all personal property. Each county or 

municipal government is responsible for issuing the tax bills and collecting the tax. The 

tax year begins on July 1 and ends on June 30. The personal property tax has been a 

local tax exclusively since 1984 when the State tax rate on personal property was set at 

zero. 

 

Personal Property Assessment Process 

 

At the beginning of each calendar year, SDAT notifies business entities on record that a 

personal property tax return must be filed by April 15. This tax return must include personal 

property located in Maryland as of January 1, the date of finality. The date of finality is the 

date used to determine ownership, location, value, and liability for tax purposes. The 

assessment is calculated using the cost less depreciation method. Once the assessment is 

completed, it is certified to the county or municipality in Maryland. SDAT shares the 

certifications for the current assessment year by July 1, when the jurisdictions can start 

billing. If a business entity wants to appeal the assessment, they have 45 days from the date 

of notice to appeal. All tax returns are currently filed electronically. An annual report fee 

is required to be paid to SDAT with the personal property tax return. The annual report fee 

is for the privilege of maintaining the legal entity’s existence in the State. 

 

Exemptions to Filing Personal Property Tax Return 

 

If all of a person’s personal property statewide had a total original cost of less than $20,000, 

the personal property is exempt from personal property valuation and taxation. SDAT is 

prohibited from collecting personal property information or requiring the person to submit 

a personal property tax return. 

 

State Fiscal Effect:  The bill provides SDAT the means to verify eligibility for a 

personal property tax exemption and to verify accuracy for audit purposes. Absent this 

authority, as under current law, the department is unable to confirm whether or not business 

entities are entitled to the exemption because personal property assessment values can 

change from year to year. 

 

Local Fiscal Effect:  To the extent that the bill results in more business entities being 

subject to personal property taxes, local government revenues may increase by a minimal 

amount. 
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Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years. 

 

Designated Cross File:  None. 

 

Information Source(s):  State Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 2, 2025 

 caw/hlb 

 

Analysis by:  Michael Sanelli  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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