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Real Property – Filing Fee for Residential Mortgage Foreclosure – Increase 
 

 

This bill increases, from $300 to $600, the filing fee that must accompany an order to 

docket (OTD) or a complaint to foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust on residential 

property.  

 

 

Fiscal Summary 
 

State Effect:  Special fund revenues for the Department of Housing and Community 

Development (DHCD) increase by approximately $1.1 million in FY 2026; future years 

reflect annualization. General fund revenues increase minimally beginning in FY 2026. 

Expenditures are not directly affected.  

  
($ in millions) FY 2026 FY 2027 FY 2028 FY 2029 FY 2030 

SF Revenue $1.1 $1.4 $1.4 $1.4 $1.4 

Expenditure 0 0 0 0 0 

Net Effect $1.1 $1.4 $1.4 $1.4 $1.4   
Note:  () = decrease; GF = general funds; FF = federal funds; SF = special funds; - = indeterminate increase; (-) = indeterminate decrease 

 

Local Effect:  The bill does not materially affect local finances or operations.  

 

Small Business Effect:  Meaningful.  
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Analysis 
 

Current Law:   

 

Initiation of the Foreclosure Process in Maryland – Generally 

 

Generally, to foreclose on residential property in Maryland, the secured party must 

first send a notice of intent to foreclose (NOI) to the mortgagor or grantor and the record 

owner, then file and serve an OTD or a complaint to foreclose. (Whether an OTD or a 

complaint to foreclose is appropriate is based on the lien instrument held by the secured 

party.) An OTD or a complaint to foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust on residential 

property must be accompanied by, in addition to any other filing fees required by law, a 

$300 filing fee.  

 

A copy of the NOI must be sent to the Commissioner of Financial Regulation, and if the 

property is owner-occupied, the NOI must be accompanied by a loss mitigation application 

form. An action to foreclose a mortgage or deed of trust may not be filed until the later of 

(1) 90 days (or 120 days if the loan is “federally related”) after a default in a condition on 

which the mortgage or deed of trust specifies that a sale may be made or (2) 45 days after 

an NOI is sent. An OTD or complaint to foreclose must be filed with the circuit court, and 

a copy must be served on the mortgagor or grantor. The OTD or complaint to foreclose 

must also contain an affidavit stating the date and nature of the default and, if applicable, 

that the NOI was sent and that the contents of the NOI were accurate at the time it was sent. 

Additional requirements and procedures relating to the foreclosure process are specified in 

statute.  

 

Housing Counseling and Foreclosure Mediation Fund 

 

Revenue collected from the filing fee is required to be distributed to the Housing 

Counseling and Foreclosure Mediation Fund administered by DHCD. The fund may only 

be used for specified purposes, including (1) supporting nonprofit and government housing 

counselors and other nonprofit entities with providing legal assistance to homeowners who 

are trying to avoid foreclosure or manage foreclosure proceedings; (2) supporting efforts 

by DHCD and the Maryland Department of Labor to provide advice and assistance to 

homeowners facing financial difficulty or foreclosure; and (3) assisting in funding the costs 

of foreclosure mediation provided by the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH).  

 

State Revenues:  DHCD reports that there were 4,672 foreclosure fillings in fiscal 2024, 

resulting in special fund revenues of $1.4 million. To the extent that the number of filings 

stays consistent despite the fee increase in the bill, special fund revenues for the Housing 

Counseling and Foreclosure Mediation Fund increase by approximately $1.1 million in 

fiscal 2026, which accounts for the bill’s October 1, 2025 effective date, and by 
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$1.4 million annually thereafter. Although there is no direct impact on expenditures, 

additional funding is available for specified purposes, including funding the costs of 

foreclosure mediations provided by OAH.  

 

General fund revenues increase minimally beginning in fiscal 2026, due to interest earnings 

from the additional fee revenues generated by the bill accruing to the general fund.  

 

Section 8 of Chapter 717 of 2024 (the Budget Reconciliation and Financing Act of 2024) 

and § 6-226(a)(2) of the State Finance and Procurement Article require, notwithstanding 

any other provision of law, that interest earnings from special funds (with certain 

exceptions) accrue to the general fund. Section 8 of Chapter 717 applies from fiscal 2024 

through 2028 and § 6-226(a)(2) applies from fiscal 2029 forward. The Housing Counseling 

and Foreclosure Mediation Fund is not exempted from the requirement under Section 8 of 

Chapter 717 nor the requirement under § 6-226(a)(2). General fund revenues therefore 

increase minimally beginning in fiscal 2026.  

 

Small Business Effect:  Any small business lenders are subject to increased fees under the 

bill.  

 

 

Additional Information 
 

Recent Prior Introductions:  Similar legislation has not been introduced within the last 

three years.  

 

Designated Cross File:  SB 566 (Senator Sydnor) - Judicial Proceedings. 

 

Information Source(s):  Judiciary (Administrative Office of the Courts); Department of 

Housing and Community Development; Maryland Department of Labor; Department of 

Legislative Services 

 

Fiscal Note History:  First Reader - February 5, 2025 

 js/jkb 

 

Analysis by:   Donavan A. Ham  Direct Inquiries to: 

(410) 946-5510 

(301) 970-5510 
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