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Budget and Taxation

Manufacturing Business Personal Property Tax - Exemption

This bill exempts the personal property, including manufacturing inventory, in the
possession of a person engaged in a manufacturing business that is a small or medium-sized
enterprise from county and municipal property tax, including any special taxing district
property tax. The bill takes effect June 1, 2025, and applies to taxable years beginning
after June 30, 2025.

Fiscal Summary

State Effect: None.

Local Effect: County and municipal property tax revenues decrease beginning in
FY 2026. Based on available data, Worcester County property tax revenues decrease by
approximately $502,800 and municipal property tax revenues decrease by approximately
$4.8 million annually. This bill imposes a mandate on a unit of local government.

Small Business Effect: Potential meaningful. Small manufacturing businesses will pay
less in personal property taxes.

Analysis
Current Law:

Personal Property Taxation

In Maryland, there is a tax on business-owned personal property that is imposed and
collected by local governments. Personal property generally includes business property



including furniture, fixtures, office and industrial equipment, machinery, tools, supplies,
inventory, and any other property not classified as real property. To provide for uniform
assessments, the State Department of Assessments and Taxation (SDAT) is responsible for
assessing all personal property. Each county or municipal government is responsible for
issuing the tax bills and collecting the tax. The tax year begins on July 1 and ends on
June 30. The personal property tax has been a local tax exclusively since 1984 when the
State tax rate on personal property was set at zero.

Personal Property Assessment Process

At the beginning of each calendar year, SDAT notifies business entities on record that a
personal property tax return must be filed by April 15. This tax return must include personal
property located in Maryland as of January 1, the date of finality. The date of finality is the
date used to determine ownership, location, value, and liability for tax purposes. The
assessment is calculated using the cost less depreciation method. Once the assessment is
completed, it is certified to the county or municipality in Maryland. SDAT shares the
certifications for the current assessment year by July 1 when the jurisdictions can start
billing. If a business entity wants to appeal the assessment, they have 45 days from the date
of notice to appeal. All tax returns are currently filed electronically. An annual report fee
is required to be paid to SDAT with the personal property tax return. The annual report fee
is for the privilege of maintaining the legal entity’s existence in the State.

The operating property of a utility or railroad is assessed by SDAT’s Utility Valuation
Department using the unit valuation method. The operating property of a utility includes
all real property and personal property used to operate the utility. SDAT calculates the
value (operating unit) of the public utility using the required annual return filings,
regulatory filings (federal and State), and other publicly available information. A portion
of the company’s operating unit is allocated to Maryland based on the amount of the
utility’s property located in the State. The allocation to Maryland is then further divided
into real and personal property values and apportioned to the counties and municipalities
where the property is located. The Utility Valuation Department also completes the
personal property assessments of non-utility electric generators and cable companies
following the procedures set by the business personal property unit and the Code of
Maryland Regulations.

The assessment process for personal property does not differ for counties and
municipalities. However, there may be differences in exemptions and/or the taxable nature
of certain property between jurisdictions that may affect an assessment because counties
and municipalities may exempt different types of personal property from personal property
taxes. The certification of assessments and notification to the jurisdictions is the same for
all counties and municipalities as well as the appeal period.
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Property Classification for Assessment Purposes

Title 8 of the Tax Property Article establishes the methods of property valuation and
assessments and lists those classifications of property created by the General Assembly.
For assessment purposes, property is divided into 2 classes — real property and
personal property. Real property is divided into 11 subclasses, and personal property is
divided into 7 subclasses. The State only imposes a property tax on real property, whereas
county governments impose separate tax rates for real and personal property. Several
county governments do not impose a personal property tax on business property.

Prior to fiscal 2025, State and county governments were not authorized to set separate
property tax rates among different subclasses of property. However, Chapter 277 of 2024
authorized Baltimore City and county governments, beginning July 1, 2024, to establish,
by law, a subclass of real property consisting of vacant lots or improved property cited as
vacant and unfit for habitation or other authorized use on a housing or building violation
notice. Baltimore City and county governments are authorized to set a special property tax
rate for a vacant lot or improved property cited as vacant and unfit for habitation or other
authorized use on a housing or building violation notice. An annual reporting requirement
was included for jurisdictions that enact a special property tax rate.

Unlike the State and county governments, municipalities have broader discretion to impose
property tax rates on different classes of property. Municipalities may impose property
taxes on those classes of property that it selects to be subject to the municipal property tax.
In addition, municipalities retain the authority to classify property for local purposes and
to impose different tax treatment on those classes. Furthermore, municipalities have the
express power to exempt classes of property from taxation. Moreover, because
municipalities may select the classes of property to be taxed and may set special rates for
any class of property that is subject to the municipal property tax, municipalities retain the
authority to levy different tax rates on selected classes of property.

Establishing Personal Property Tax Rates

Prior to July 1, 2013, State law required the county personal property tax rate to be set at
2.5 times the county real property tax rate. Beginning July 1, 2013, the county personal
property tax rate was decoupled from the county real property tax rate by authorizing
county governments to set a personal property tax rate at no more than 2.5 times the county
real property tax rate.

Under Tax-Property Article Section 6-303, municipal governments are granted authority
to set municipal tax rates. Chapter 80 of 2000 could have been interpreted to require that
counties and municipalities set personal property tax rates at 2.5 times their rates of
real property tax, in order to ensure revenue neutrality when the valuation of real property
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went from 40% to 100%. However, unlike counties, municipalities have historically had
broader authority to set different tax rates on classes of property. When Section 6-303 was
amended by Chapter 80, it failed to recognize the ability of municipal governments to set
different tax rates for different classes of property. Chapter 37 of 2001 clarified that
municipal governments may set differing tax rates among classes of property that are not
tied to the real property tax rate.

Local Fiscal Effect: County and municipal personal property tax revenues decrease by a
significant amount beginning in fiscal 2026. As shown in Exhibit 1, Worcester County
could realize a $502,800 annual revenue loss, while municipalities could realize a
$4.8 million annual revenue loss.

Worcester County Fiscal Impact

Based on data provided by SDAT, Worcester County is the only county that taxes
manufacturing personal property. For fiscal 2023, the county had a manufacturing personal
property base of approximately $23.8 million and a personal property tax rate of
$2.1125 per $100 of assessment. As a result, Worcester County personal property tax
revenues could decrease by approximately $502,775 beginning in fiscal 2026. This revenue
loss does not reflect any exemptions that may be granted.

Municipal Fiscal Impact

SDAT reports that for fiscal 2023, 57 municipalities reported business personal property
for manufacturing equipment with the corresponding personal property base totaling
approximately $358.6 million. Based on the current municipal personal property tax rates,
municipal personal property tax revenues could decrease by approximately $4.8 million
beginning in fiscal 2026. The most significant impact on municipal revenues occurs in the
Eastern Shore counties of Caroline, Dorchester, and Wicomico, where municipalities in
those counties could lose over $1.0 million in property tax revenue. To the extent there are
other municipalities that tax manufacturing personal property, the total municipal revenue
loss could be greater. The bill does not define a small or medium-sized enterprise, so the
estimate reflects all manufacturing personal property as reported by SDAT.
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Exhibit 1

Potential Fiscal Impact of Personal Property Tax Exemption

County County Revenue Loss Municipal Revenue Loss
Allegany $0 ($98,724)
Anne Arundel 0 0
Baltimore City 0 0
Baltimore 0 0
Calvert 0 0
Caroline 0 (1,069,706)
Carroll 0 (1,763)
Cecil 0 (491,937)
Charles 0 (961)
Dorchester 0 (1,329,093)
Frederick 0 (85,720)
Garrett 0 (15,170)
Harford 0 (1,648)
Howard 0 0
Kent 0 0
Montgomery 0 (389)
Prince George’s 0 (343,421)
Queen Anne’s 0 0
St. Mary’s 0 0
Somerset 0 (75,373)
Talbot 0 0
Washington 0 (26,664)
Wicomico 0 (1,050,443)
Worcester (502,775) (189,065)
Total ($502,775) (%$4,780,078)

Source: State Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department of Legislative Services

Recent Prior Introductions:

Additional Information

Similar legislation has been introduced within the last

three years. See HB 1018 of 2024,
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Designated Cross File: HB 168 (Delegate Qi) - Ways and Means.

Information Source(s): Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne’s, and Worcester counties;
Maryland Municipal League; State Department of Assessments and Taxation; Department
of Legislative Services

Fiscal Note History: First Reader - February 16, 2025
js/hlb

Analysis by: Michael Sanelli Direct Inquiries to:
(410) 946-5510

(301) 970-5510
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