

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Chairman Guzzone and members of the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee 3 West Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

## Re: SB 424 (Senator Zucker) Maryland Transit Administration – Funding (Transit Safety and Investment Act)

Dear Chairman Guzzone and Members of the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee:

Located in the geographic center of Montgomery County, Maryland, Gaithersburg residents enjoy the best of both worlds - the familiarity and comfort of a small-town community within the exciting metropolitan area of the nation's capital. As such, the City of Gaithersburg supports SB 424, which would provide an estimated increase of \$100 million annually for the capital needs of the Maryland Transit Administration (MTA) to address the maintenance backlog.

The City of Gaithersburg is served by the MARC Brunswick Line with stops in Olde Towne Gaithersburg and Metropolitan Grove; boarding a combined average of 500 riders each workday. There is also a commuter stop in the adjacent community of Washington Grove. Additionally, the MARC Brunswick Line carries 22 percent of all MARC passengers and has the second largest share of average annual passengers throughout the MARC Train system.

The MARC Brunswick Line is an important element to the City's on-going economic growth and residents rely on the MARC Train to travel to work, access services, and enjoy activities and recreation that improve their quality of life. The <u>MDOT MTA's Capital Needs Inventory</u> outlines various funding needs for the MARC Brunswick Line that would be used to address facility maintenance and station renovations, to ensure riders a safe, reliable and pleasant experience.

## For these reasons, the City of Gaithersburg respectfully requests your support for SB 424.

Please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or concerns that you may have. You may also contact Jessica Kwasny, the Legislative Affairs manager for the City of Gaithersburg. She can be reached at 301.805.1090 or <u>jess.kwasny@gaithersburgmd.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Jud Ashman Mayor

City of Gaithersburg • 31 South Summit Avenue, Gaithersburg, Maryland 20877-2038 301-258-6300 • FAX 301-948-6149 • cityhall@gaithersburgmd.gov • gaithersburgmd.gov

COUNCIL MEMBERS Neil Harris Laurie-Anne Sayles Michael A. Sesma Ryan Spiegel Robert T. Wu