

NO FRESH START IN 2019

HOW STATES STILL ALLOW DEBT COLLECTORS TO PUSH FAMILIES INTO POVERTY

http://bit.ly/rpt-no-fresh-start

© Copyright 2019, National Consumer Law Center, Inc.

APPENDIX A STATE PROTECTION OF WAGES

NCLC's Model Family Financial Protection Act Recommendation: 80 times federal or state minimum wage or 10% of disposable income (15% if weekly disposable income exceeds \$1200)

STATE	AMOUNT PROTECTED	
"A" States Ban Wage Garnishment for Most Debts		
North Carolina	All wages exempt if supporting a family	
Pennsylvania	All wages exempt for most debts	
South Carolina	All wages exempt	
Texas	All wages exempt	
	nough Wages So That Paycheck Does Not Drop Below the Poverty eek for family of four)	
Alaska	\$743 per week if debtor is sole support of debtor's household	
District of Columbia	75% of wages or 40 times D.C. minimum wage (\$14/hour); can be increased if undue hardship is shown	
Florida	\$750 if wage earner is head of family	
Massachusetts	85% of gross wages or 50 times the greater of the federal or state (\$12/hour) minimum wage	
Wisconsin	Federal poverty amount, based on family size, is exempt; also allows hardship exemption	
"C" States Protect at	t Least \$350 per Week	
California	75% of wages or 40 times state minimum wage (\$12/hour for large employers, otherwise \$11) or local minimum wage; more if debtor proves that higher amount is needed. Garnishment is limited to 50% of amount in excess of 40 times state or local minimum wage.	
Colorado	80% of disposable income or 40 times state minimum wage (\$11.10/hour); also allows hardship exemption	
Connecticut	40 times federal or state (\$10.10/hour) minimum wage	
Maine	75% of wages or 40 times federal or state (\$11/hour) minimum wage	
Illinois	Garnishment is limited to 15% of gross wages or the amount in excess of 45 times federal or state (\$8.25/hour) minimum wage	
Nevada	82% of wages or 50 times federal minimum wage	
New Hampshire	50 times federal minimum wage	

STATE	AMOUNT PROTECTED
"C" States Protect	at Least \$350 per Week (continued)
New York	Garnishment is limited to 10% of gross wages, or amount in excess of 30 times federal or state minimum wage. State minimum wage varies from \$11.10 to \$15/hour. Also prohibits garnishment if debtor receives public assistance or would be qualified to receive it if wages were reduced by the garnishment
South Dakota	80% of wages or 40 times federal or state (\$9.10/hour) minimum wage, plus \$25 per dependent
Washington	For consumer debt, 80% of disposable earnings or 35 times state minimum wage ($$12/hour$)
West Virginia	80% of wages or 50 times federal minimum wage
"D" States Preserv	e More of a Worker's Wages Than the Minimum Required by Federal Lav
Arizona	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage, but allows reduction in case of hardship
Delaware	85% of wages
Hawaii	Protects all but 5% of the first \$100 in wages, all but 10% of next \$100, and all but 20% of remainder
Indiana	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage, but allows reduction in case of hardship
Iowa	For debts arising from consumer contract, protects 75% of wages or 40 times minimum wage; also places dollar cap on amount that can be garnished in a year
Minnesota	75% of wages or 40 times federal minimum wage. Also exempts wages of anyone who is, or was within the last 6 months, eligible for public assistance
Missouri	90% of wages for head of family
Nebraska	85% of wages for head of household
New Jersey	90% of wages if under 250% of poverty
New Mexico	75% of wages or 40 times federal minimum wage
North Dakota	75% of wages or 40 times federal minimum wage, plus \$20 per dependent
Oklahoma	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage, but allows hardship exemption.
Oregon	Protects the greater of 75% of wages or \$254/week
Rhode Island	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage, but also prohibits garnishment for one year after receipt of public assistance
Tennessee	Federal minimum (75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage), plus \$2.50 per week for each dependent child under age 16
Vermont	For debt arising from consumer credit transaction, 85% of wages or 40 times federal minimum wage; more if debtor shows need
Virgin Islands	90% of wages
Virginia	75% of wages or 40 times federal minimum wage. If household income does not exceed \$1,750/month, additional exemptions of \$34/week for one child, \$52/week for two, and \$66/week for three or more

STATE	AMOUNT PROTECTED
"F" States Protec	t Only the Federal Minimum
Alabama	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Arkansas	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Georgia	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Idaho	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Kansas	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Kentucky	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Louisiana	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Maryland	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Michigan	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Mississippi	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Montana	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Ohio	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Puerto Rico	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Utah	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage
Wyoming	Only protects the federal minimum, 75% of wages or 30 times federal minimum wage