BRIAN E. FROSH Attorney General

**ELIZABETH F. HARRIS** Chief Deputy Attorney General

**CAROLYN QUATTROCKI** Deputy Attorney General

G



## STATE OF MARYLAND OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL CONSUMER PROTECTION DIVISION

February 11, 2020

- To: The Honorable Dereck E. Davis Chair, Economic Matters Committee
- From: Karen S. Straughn Consumer Protection Division

Re: House Bill 770 – Business Regulation – Home Improvement Contracts – Deposits (OPPOSE)

The Consumer Protection Division of the Office of the Attorney General submits the following written testimony in opposition of House Bill 770 sponsored by Delegates Christopher T. Adams, et al. This bill increases the maximum amount of a home improvement contract that can be collected as a deposit from one-third to one-half.

By collecting one-third as a deposit, a contractor is able to purchase necessary supplies without coming out of pocket. The general practice is to collect the deposit upon signing of the contract, then to charge the next one-third upon beginning work and to charge the final one-third when the work is completed. But often contractors do not finish the job, perform the work poorly, or some do not even begin the work at all. By increasing the amount of the initial deposit, it increases the harm to consumers in these situations.

The Consumer Protection Division receives complaints from consumers advising that they have been scammed by a contractor who collected a deposit and then failed to complete the work or did not even begin the work. In many of these cases the contractor can no longer be found and refuses to return phone calls. By increasing the amount that can be collected as a deposit, these situations may increase. Moreover, there can be disputes even with honest and reputable contractors. This bill diminishes the recourse available to consumers who find that the work is severely delayed, poorly done or not completed.

Writer's Direct Dial No.

410-576-7942 Fax: 410-576-7040 For these reasons, we ask that the Economic Matters Committee return an unfavorable report on this bill.

cc: The Honorable Christopher T. Adams The Honorable Carl Anderton, Jr. The Honorable Steven J. Arentz The Honorable Jason C. Buckel The Honorable Brian Chisolm The Honorable Paul Corderman The Honorable Daniel L. Cox The Honorable Mike Griffith The Honorable Kevin B. Hornberger The Honorable Jay A. Jacobs The Honorable Trent Kittleman The Honorable Susan W. Krebs The Honorable Nino Mangione The Honorable Johnny Mautz The Honorable Susan K. McComas The Honorable Mike McKay The Honorable Ric Metzgar The Honorable Warren E. Miller The Honorable Matthew Morgan The Honorable Charles J. Otto The Honorable Teresa E. Reilly The Honorable Sid Saab The Honorable Haven Shoemaker The Honorable Kathy Szeliga Members, Economic Matters Committee