

February 24, 2020

Re: MD SB0737 Sustainable Maryland Program Fund - Establishment

Dear Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee,

Maryland's municipal communities stand united in support of the MD SB0737 and urge a "YES" vote on the bill to establish the Sustainable Maryland Program Fund. Our cities and towns represent a broad-based and diverse cross-section of over 79 communities from across that state that have benefited from the technical assistance, education, and resources provided by the Sustainable Maryland (SM) program. This bill to expand and enhance SM is a critical step in the state's effort to empower local action and realize statewide environmental, economic, and social sustainability.

Over the past nine years, SM has supported municipal governments across the state of Maryland by providing jurisdictions like ours with a comprehensive suite of policies, resources, direct support, and incentives designed to help municipalities make progress across a broad range of sustainability goals. In addition, SM has helped communities build a strong network of active citizens committed to building the capacity of local governments and improving local-level sustainability throughout the state. This bill to establish an SM program fund will help codify this statewide effort and ensure local governments have the education, technical assistance, and financial resources necessary to improve quality of life.

As registered and certified municipalities of the SM program, we have firsthand experience with the benefits of a dedicated and comprehensive technical assistance program. While other programs may offer specific environmental services, the SM program framework helps provide our elected officials, staff, and local Green Teams the education and technical assistance needed to develop our own capacity to manage local sustainability issues and take advantage of resources already available.

Not only does SM enable us to more easily navigate other state and local programs, but it also helps us to organize our residents to take action. Through the SM program we have received training and information necessary to communicate the importance of sustainability to our residents, established a plan for taking action, and increased our ability to pursue funding to improve our community. The SM program has become a primary driver for building community capacity to engage in sustainability projects. By supporting this bill, the state will help to elevate and amplify these efforts. The SM Program Fund will help to replicate and scale Green Teams to

other local jurisdictions and provide much needed funding to pursue new innovative community-based projects.

By supporting the SM Program Fund, you honor the state's commitment to support Maryland communities. The current legislation advocates for local governments and helps provide much needed resources for improving the civic infrastructure upon which our communities depend. The state should take this opportunity to expand and support this high performing program in order to increase technical assistance, coordinate local efforts, and encourage more communities to take action.

Sincerely,

Sustainable Maryland Registered and Certified Municipalities

# **City of Cambridge**

Victoria Jackson-Stanley, Mayor

# **City of College Park**

Patrick L Wojahn, Mayor

# City of Frederick

Michael C. O'Connor, Mayor Kelly Russell, President Pro Tem

## **City of Frostburg**

Bob Flanigan, Mayor Nina Forsythe, Commissioner of Water, Parks and Recreation Laura Bennett, Community Development Director

## City of Gaithersburg

Jud Ashman, Mayor

# **City of Greenbelt**

Collin Bird, Mayor Luisa Robles, Sustainability Coordinator

# City of Havre de Grace

William Martin, Mayor

## City of Hyattsville

Candace Hollingsworth, Mayor

# City of Laurel

Craig A. Moe, Mayor

# **City of Mount Rainier**

Malinda Miles, Mayor Luke Chesek, Councilmember Scott B. Cecil, Councilmember Celina Benitez, Councilmember

# **City of New Carrollton**

Duane Rosenberg, Mayor

## City of Rockville

Bridget Donnell Newton, Mayor

## City of Salisbury

Jake Day, Mayor

## **City of Seat Pleasant**

Eugene W. Grant, Mayor

## **City of Takoma Park**

Kate Stewart, Mayor

# **Town of Barnesville**

Mildred Callear, Commission President

# **Town of Bel Air**

Amy G Chmielewski, Mayor

#### Town of Berlin

Gee Williams, Mayor

#### **Town of Boonsboro**

Howard Long, Mayor

# **Town of Capitol Heights**

Shawn Maldon, Mayor

#### Town of Chestertown

Chris Cerino, Mayor

# **Town of Cheverly**

Laila Riazi, Mayor

### **Town of Colmar Manor**

Sadara B. Barrow, Mayor

## **Town of Cottage City**

Ann Marshall Young, Chair Commission

#### **Town of Edmonston**

Tracy Gant, Mayor Rod Barnes, Town Administrator

## **Town of Emmitsburg**

Donald N. Briggs, Mayor Maddy Shaw, Town Clerk

#### **Town of Federalsburg**

Kimberly Abner, Mayor

#### **Town of Galena**

John Carroll, Mayor Kathleen Billmire, Town Facilities and Zoning Coordinator

# **Town of Glen Echo**

Willem Polak, Mayor Elizabeth Boa, Town Manager

## **Town of Goldsboro**

Robin Cahall, Mayor

### **Town of Landover Hills**

Jeff Schomisch, Mayor

#### **Town of Middletown**

Mark Carney, Planning Commission chairman

Cynthia Unangst, Staff Planner

#### **Town of New Market**

Lawrence "Jake" Romanell, Councilman

#### **Town of North Beach**

Mike Benton, Mayor

#### **Town of North Brentwood**

Petrella Robinson, Mayor

# **Town of Perryville**

Robert Rashby, Jr, Mayor

#### **Town of Pittsville**

George Whited, Jr, Commission President Joseph A Mangini, Jr, Town Manager

#### Town of Poolesville

Jerome Klobukowski, Commission President

#### **Town of Riverdale Park**

Alan K. Thompson, Mayor

## **Town of Snow Hill**

Gary Weber, Mayor

### **Town of Somerset**

Jeffrey Slavin, Mayor

Marnie Shaul, Council President

# **Town of Thurmont**

Town of Thurmont, John A. Kinnaird, Mayor Jim Humerick, Chief Administrative Officer Vickie Grinder, Economic Development Manager

# **Town of Upper Marlboro**

Linda Pennoyer, President/Mayor

# Village of North Chevy Chase

Adrian Andreassi, Council Chair