

50 Harry S. Truman Parkway • Annapolis, MD 21401 Office: 410-841-5772 • Fax: 410-841-5987 • TTY: 800-735-2258

> Email: rmc.mda@maryland.gov Website: www.rural.maryland.gov

Charlotte Davis, Executive Director

POSITION STATEMENT

House Bill 263 – Real Property – Sales of Mobile Home Parks – Notice Requirements
Environment and Transportation Committee
February 11, 2020

The Rural Maryland Council **SUPPORTS** House Bill 263 – Real Property – Sales of Mobile Home Parks – Notice Requirements.

This bill requires a mobile home park owner to provide specified notice of the sale of a mobile home park no less than 30 days before the date of the sale, rather than within 5 days after entering into the contract for the sale per current law (Md. Code, Real Property § 8A-801)

Currently, there are 263 mobile home parks in Maryland. A mobile home park is defined as real property that is rented or held for rent to others for the placement of multiple mobile homes. A mobile home is a portable structure at least 8 feet wide and 30 feet long, built on a permanent frame and designed for use as a home when connected to required utilities. Mobile homes are unique in that, while a person may own the mobile home, this person likely rents the land that it sits on from a mobile home park owner. Therefore, mobile home residents are both owners and tenants. The rights of mobile home residents are protected by the Maryland Mobile Home Parks Act of 1980.

The sale of a mobile home park has the potential to negatively impact multiple residents as it often leads to an increase in lot rent, utilities, and amenities when it remains a mobile home park or it can mean resident displacement if sold and converted to more immediately profitable developments. HB 263 simply increases the notification time that is provided to mobile home park residents from 5 days to 30 days, which will enable residents to prepare for potential issues associated with a change of ownership.

Current law states that a resident of a mobile home must give the park owner at least a 30-day notice of the intent to sell. Additionally, 30-days is the general notification required by Maryland Law for apartment owners to provide an end of tenancy to renters, with the exception of Montgomery County and Baltimore City, which requires a 60-day notice. Therefore, the Council feels that it is reasonable to approve a bill that requires a 30-day notification from the park owner to the mobile home resident. The Council respectfully requests your favorable support of HB 263.

The Rural Maryland Council (RMC) brings together citizens, community-based organizations, federal, state, county and municipal government officials as well as representatives of the for-profit and nonprofit sectors to collectively address the needs of Rural Maryland communities. We provide a venue for members of agriculture and natural resource-based industries, health care facilities, educational institutions, economic and community development organizations, for-profit and nonprofit corporations, and government agencies to cross traditional boundaries, share information, and address in a more holistic way the special needs and opportunities in Rural Maryland.