MARYLAND TRANSIT CAUCUS



Co-Chairs Delegate Brooke Lierman Senator Pam Beidle Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo Senator Malcolm Augustine Delegate Marc Korman Delegate Erek Barron

Members

Delegate Gabriel Acevero Delegate Carl Anderton Delegate Heather Bagnall Delegate Sandy Bartlett Delegate Regina Bovce Delegate Tony Bridges Delegate Alice Cain Delegate Al Carr Delegate Lorig Charkoudian Delegate Paul Corderman Delegate Brian Crosby Delegate Charlotte Crutchfield Delegate Debra Davis Delegate Kathleen Dumais Delegate Eric Ebersole Senator Arthur Ellis Delegate Jessica Feldmark Delegate Wanika Fisher Delegate Catherine Forbes Delegate Jim Gilchrist Delegate Michele Guyton Senator Guy Guzzone Delegate Anne Healey Delegate Shelly Hettleman Delegate Terri Hill Delegate Kevin Hornberger Delegate Carl Jackson Senator Cheryl Kagan Delegate Anne Kaiser Delegate Ariana Kelly Delegate Ken Kerr Delegate Trent Kittleman Delegate Carol Krimm Senator Susan Lee Delegate Mary Lehman Delegate Robbyn Lewis Delegate Jazz Lewis Delegate Karen Lewis Young Delegate Mary Ann Lisanti Delegate Lesley Lopez Delegate Sara Love Delegate Eric Luedtke Senator Cory McCray Delegate Maggie McIntosh Delegate Mike McKay Delegate David Moon Delegate Julie Palakovich Carr Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk Delegate Lily Qi Delegate Kiril Reznik Senator Jim Rosapepe Delegate Emily Shetty Delegate Stephanie Smith Delegate Jared Solomon Delegate Dana Stein Delegate Vaughn Stewart Delegate Jen Terrasa Delegate Kris Valderrama Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith Delegate Jay Walker Delegate Alonzo Washington Senator Mary Washington Delegate Courtney Watson Delegate Melissa Wells Delegate Jheanelle Wilkins Delegate Nicole Willams Delegate Pat Young Senator Ronald Young Senator Craig Zucker

Hon. Maggie McIntosh, Chair Hon. Kumar Barve, Chair Appropriations Committee Environment and Transportations Committee House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

marylandtransitcaucus.org • @CaucusTransit • transitcaucus@gmail.com

February 18, 2020

Re: HB 432 – The Electric Bus Transition Act

Dear Chair McIntosh and Chair Barve:

The purpose of this letter is to express the support of the Maryland Transit Caucus for HB 432, The Electric Bus Transition Act. *The Transit Caucus chose to not only endorse this legislation but to select this bill as one of our legislative priorities for the 2020 session.*

The Electric Bus Transition Act will greatly help Maryland meet its emission reduction goals as well as help improve the infrastructure needed to support electric vehicle use on a large-scale.

We know that urban sprawl makes communities reliant on cars, degrades the environment, and contributes to public health inequities. The Electric Bus Transition Act will transition MTA's fleet to 100% electric buses over time. This bill mandates that starting in FY 2022, MTA will not be allowed to enter into contracts to purchase non-electric buses.

Several localities in Maryland have already started the process of transitioning their buses to electric. Expanding this statewide would result in a reduction in the carbon emissions of gasoline-fueled vehicles within the state of Maryland into environmentally sustainable efforts.

The Caucus respectfully requests a favorable report for this legislation, considering the positive environmental and economic impacts it will have on the future of the state of Maryland.

Thank you for your consideration.