President Robert Meffley, District 1

Vice President Jackie Gregory, District 5

Councilman William H. Coutz, District 2

Councilman Al Miller, District 3

Councilman George Patchell, District 4



James Massey Council Manager

County Council Office 410.996.5201 FAX 800.865.0587 Email: council@ccgov.org

COUNTY COUNCIL OF CECIL COUNTY

Cecil County Administration Building 200 Chesapeake Boulevard, Suite 2110, Elkton, MD 21921

February 26, 2020

The Hon. Shane E. Pendergrass, Chair House Health and Government Operations Committee Room 241 House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: HB 779 Maryland Medical Assistance Program – Emergency Service Transporters

and Emergency Medical Services Providers - Reimbursement

Letter of Support

Dear Chairperson Pendergrass:

The County Council of Cecil County unanimously supports HB 779 Maryland Medical Assistance Program – Emergency Service Transporters and Emergency Medical Services Providers - Reimbursement, which is scheduled for hearing on March 4, 2020.

It is our understanding that this legislation will require the Maryland Department of Health to reimburse certain emergency medical services providers for certain services provided to recipients of Maryland Medical Assistance Programs for at least \$200 per transport and a minimum reimbursement rate of \$100 per interaction for certain services provided by emergency service providers.

Cecil County will benefit from this legislation because of the required reimbursement to our nine Volunteer Fire Companies who serve our county residents, regardless of their ability to pay. Volunteer Fire Companies struggle to raise funds to support their services. This legislation will also provide funding when the person having an emergency is unwilling to be transported to the hospital or other emergency care facility. Cecil County provides funding to support its fire companies but unreimbursed ambulance runs impact all fire companies.

The Cecil County Council respectfully requests that the Health and Government Operations Committee consider a favorable report on HB 779.

Sincerely,

Robert Meffley Council President

Copy: Delegate Kevin Hornberger

Delegate Jay Jacobs Delegate Steve Arentz Delegate Jeff Ghrist Delegate Teresa Reilly Delegate Mike Griffith