MSCCSP



Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy

> Chair Hon. Brett R. Wilson

Vice-Chair

Hon. Shannon E. Avery

Commissioners

Sen. Robert G. Cassilly Del. Luke H. Clippinger Chief Douglas DeLeaver Hon. Brian L. DeLeonardo Paul B. DeWolfe, Esq. Richard A. Finci, Esq. Hon. Brian E. Frosh Sec. Robert L. Green Melinda C. Grenier Brian D. Johnson, Ph.D. Sen. Delores G. Kelley Molly Knipe William E. Koutroumpis Hon. Patrice E. Lewis Del. David Moon Hon. James P. Salmon (Ret.) Lisa M. Spicknall-Horner

Executive Director

David A. Soulé, Ph.D.

University of Maryland 4511 Knox Road, Suite 309 College Park, MD 20742-8660 (301) 403-4165 / phone (301) 403-4164 / fax www.msccsp.org

TO:	Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee
FROM:	MSCCSP
RE:	Senate Bill 272 State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy – Annual Report – Crimes of Violence (The Judicial Transparency Act of 2020)
DATE:	February 6, 2020

POSITION: Oppose

The Maryland State Commission on Criminal Sentencing Policy (MSCCSP or Commission) convened via teleconference on January 29, 2020, to solicit feedback on Senate Bill (SB) 272 and its cross-filed House Bill (HB) 355. Sixteen of the 19 Commissioners participated in the call. By a majority vote of 8 to 5 (with two votes to abstain and one non-vote from the Chair who typically does not vote unless to break a tie), the Commission voted to oppose SB 272 and its cross-filed HB 355. The five who voted not to oppose the legislation supported a separate failed motion that the Commission should take no position on the legislation. A majority of Commissioners voted to oppose SB 272/ HB 355 because the legislation is inconsistent with the Commission's historical and statutory purpose. Sentencing guidelines are voluntary and were never intended to impose an absolute limit on judicial discretion, or to gather and/or publish judge-specific sentencing information.