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MD - no Code of lan REAL PROPERTY TITLE 3.
RECORDATION SUBTITLE 6. RE D OTHER COSTS

Section 3-601. Recording costs

(a) In general. -- i
(1) In this subsection, "page” means one side of a leaf not larger thamg8 1/2 inches wide by 14

£

inches long, or any portion of it. ]

(2) Before recording an instrument among the tand or financing records, a clerk shail co‘EIee%:

(i} $ 10 for a release 9 pages or less in length;

(ii) $ 20 for any other instrument 9 pages or less in length;

(iii) Except as provided in item (i) of this paragraph, $ 20 for an instrument, regardless of length,
involving solely a principal residence; and ’

(iv) $ 75 for any other instrument 10 pages or more in length.

{3) The recording costs under this subsection shall also apply to instruments required to be recorded
in the financing statement records of the State Department of Assessments and Taxation.

(b) Refunds. --

{1) A person who submits a written refund claim for recording fees, including any recording
surcharge, that have been overpaid to the clerk of a circuit court, is efigible for a refund of the
amount everpaid from the clerk that collected the fees.

(2) A claim for a refund under paragraph (1} of this subsection shall be as required by regulations
adopted by the State Court Administrator.

History

An. Code 1957, art. 36, Section 12; 1974, ch. 12, Section 2; 1977, ch. 903; 1980, ch. 649, Section
1; 1982, ch. 906, Section 3; 1983, ch. 378; 1993, ch. 240 ; 1994, ¢h. 642 ; 2018, ch. 636, Section
2.
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- d C f M n REAL PROPERTY TITLE 3. RECORDATION SUBTITLE
6. RECORDING AND OTHER COSTS

Section 3-603. Counties, municipalities, and commissions exempt
from fees

The clerk may not charge any county, any municipality, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning
Commission, or the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission any fee provided by this subtitle unless
the county, municipality, or respective commission first gives its consent, No charge may be made
against the Comptrolier for any service performed in connection with the recording and indexing of
property liens arising under the Maryland income tax or the Maryland sales and use tax laws.

History

An. Code 1957, art. 36, Section 12; 1974, ch. 12, Section 2; 1980, ch. 649, Section 1; 1982, ch. 197;
1988, ch. 110, Section 1; 1990, ch. 633 .
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MD - Annotated Code of Maryland COURTS AND JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS TITLE 7, COSTS,
FINES, AND FORFEITURES SUBTITLE 2. CIRCUIT COURT

Section 7-202. Court fees

{a) Determination by State Court Administrator; uniformity; collection by clerks. --

(1)

(i) The State Court Administrator shall determine the amount of alt court costs and charges for the
circuit courts of the counties with the approval of the Board of Public Works.

{ii) The fees and charges shall be uniform throughout the State.

(2) The Comptrolier of the State shall require cierks of court to collect all fees required to be collected
by law.

(b) Officials exempt from fees. -- The clerk may not charge the State, any county, municipality, or
Baitimore City any fee provided by this subtitle, unltess the State, county, municipality, or Battimore City
first gives its consent.

{c) Fees for other services. -- The clerk is entitled to a reasonable fee for performing any other
service that is not enumerated in this subtitle or in Sections 3-601 through 3-603 of the Real Property
Article.

{d) Surcharge. -- The State Court Administrator, as part of the Administrator's determination of the
amount of court costs and charges in civil cases, shall assess a surcharge that:

(1) May not be more than $ 55 per case; and

{2} Shall be deposited into the Maryland Legal Services Corporation Fund established under Section 11-
402 of the Human Services Article.

{e) Additional surchage. --

{1) In addition to the surcharge assessed under subsection {d} of this section, the State Court
Administrator, as part of the Administrator's determination of the amount of court costs and charges in
civil cases, shall assess a surcharge that:

(i)

1. Except as provided in item 2 of this item, shall be $ 30 per case; and /]\
2. Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, shall be $ 6 to reopen any civil case; and

(ii) Shall be deposited into the Circuit Court Real Property Records Improvement Fund established

under Section 13-602 of this articte.

{2) A surcharge may not be assessed under this subsection to reopen a case brought by a petitioner

under Titie 4, Subtitle 5 of the Family Law Article.
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Business Occupations and Professions Article; and

(2} Pay $ 75 of the fee to the Janet L. Hoffman Loan Assistance Repayment Program established under
Section 18-1502 of the Education Article.

{9) Determination of reasonableness of fee, —- If a party in a proceeding feels aggrieved by any
fee permitted under this subtitle or by Sections 3-601 through 3-603 of the Real Property Article, the
party may request a judge of that circuit court to determine the reasonableness of the fee,

History

An. Code 1957, art. 36, Section 12; 1973, Lst Sp. Sess., ch. 2, Section t; 1974, ch. 684, Section 4;
1975, ch. 548, Section 1; 1982, ch. 820, Section 3; 1984, ch. 255; 1990, ch. 6, Section 2; ch. 467 :
1992, ch. 98 ; 1998, ch. 765 ; 2004, ch. 448 ; 2005, ch. 25, Section 1; 2007, ch. 8, Sectien 1; 2010,
ch, 486 ; 2011, ch. 129 ; 2013, chs. 71, 72 ; 2015, ch. 488 ; 2017, chs. 797 , 798 .
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CARMEN M. SHEPARD
DONNA HILL STATON

1. JosepH CURRAN, JR.
Attorney General

Deputy Attorneys General
(410)576.6393 OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL walliOgene

December 21, 2001

Nancy H. Russell-Forrester, Assistant
Attorney General -

300 W. Preston Street, Room 201
Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Re: Recording and Copying Fees — Payment by State Agencies/Instrumentalities
Dear Ms. Russell-Forrester:

By letter dated December 6, 2001, you have requested my advice concerning whether State
agencies or insirumentalities (hereinafter collectively referred to as “State agencies”) are required
to pay recording fees, including the Real Property Records Improvement Fund surcharge, relative
to documents that the agencies, directly or through the title companies or attomeys handling
settlements for them, submit for recording in the land records. You also inquire whether State
agencies, or the title companies, abstractors, or attorneys contracted by them, are required to pay for
copies of land record documents obtained from the circuit court clerks. For the following reasons,
I have concluded that the State agencies, for practical reasons, should not be required to pay the
recording fees, although the pertinent law does not expressly exempt them. Of course, it would be
best if legislation were introduced to amend the law to expressly exempt the State. With respect to
copying fees, the law does expressly exempt the State. Of course, the circuit court clerks have no
way of knowing with which persons the State agencies have contracted for the performance of title
searches and when such persons are working on State business; therefore, some means would be
needed of advising the clerk when the private contractor is making copies for a State agency.'

Until 1986, the circuit court clerks’ offices were fee-funded under the Maryland Constitution,
Artic}e IV, §10. By Acts of 1986, Chapter 722, that constitutional provision was amended by
deletion in subsection (a}) of the language “and be allowed the fees.” The clerks’ offices became

' ‘While your letter did not provide any details about such contracts, I assume that the State
agency pays for copies made, or reimburses the contractor for such costs, separate from paying a fee
for the work performed. Clearly, if the copying costs were included in the fee payable for the service
and an exemption from such costs was not taken into account when the amount of fee was
negotiated, applying the exemption would benefit the contractor, but not the State.

200 Saint Paul Place ¢ Baltimore, Marytand 21202-2021

" Telephone Numbers: (410) 576-6300 & {888) 743-0023 ¢ D.C. Metro (301) 470-7534 .
Telephone for Deaf: (410) 576-6372




Nancy H. Russell-Forrester, Assistant
Attorney General

December 21, 2001

Page 2

funded through the State budget. Article IV, §10 was again amended by Acts of 1990, Chapter 62
to expressly provide that “[t}he offices of the Clerks shall be funded through the State budget” and
that “[a]ll fees, commissions, or other revenues established by Law for these offices shall be State
revenues, unless provided otherwise by the General Assembly.”

During the time the clerks’ offices were fee-funded, all fees and costs, whether court costs
and fees or land record recording fees, were charged State agencies, with the exception of the
Comptroller when recording liens for unpaid taxes.? On the other hand, the counties, municipalities,
and certain commissions were expressly exempted from paying court costs and/or recording fees.
Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, §7-202(b) precluded the clerks from charging counties and
municipalities court costs and fees without their consent, and Real Property Article, §3-603
precluded the clerks from charging counties, municipalities, the Maryland National Capital Park and
Planning Commission, and the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission recording fees without
their consent. Real Property Article, §3-603 also precluded the clerks from charging the Comptroller
recording fees for recording property liens for unpaid income taxes or sales and use taxes.

By Acts of 1992, Chapter 98, Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, §7-202(b) was
amended to insert “the State” so as to preclude the clerk from charging the State any fee provided
by that subtitle unless the State consented. The fiscal note accornpanying that bill indicated that
there would be no fiscal impact on the State or local governments. This is so because almost all
State agencies obtain their funding from the General Fund and the fees collected by the circuit court
clerks under Courts and Judicial Proceedings Article, Title 7, Subtitle 2 generally are deposited into
the General Fund. That same absence of fiscal impact applies to the recording fees collected by the
clerks pursuant to Real Property Article, §3-601, which fees are deposited into the General Fund.

There appears to be no logical reason why State agencies should be required to pay recording
fees for instruments of writing to which the agencies are parties and that the agencies submit, or
cause to be submitted, for recording. Of course, in some cases in which State agencies are parties
to the instruments, recording costs ordinarily may be payable by the other party.> While the counties
have long been exempt from paying recording fees, many instruments in which a county is a party
are submitted for recording accompanied by payment of the recording fees. While arguably this
could reflect consent on the part of the county to pay the fee, it is assumed that the fee is being paid

2 With respect to recording fees, in 20 Opinions of the Attorney General 219, 221 (1935),
it was noted that: “It has always been the uniform practice of all State Departments to pay the costs
of recording all deeds to real property purchased by the State, and there has never been the slightest
doubt about the validity of such charges.”

3 See quote from 20 Opinions of the Attorney General at 221 in fn. 2. The implication is that
the purchaser pays the recording fees on a deed. Thus, the recording fees would be payable by the
grantees, not the State agencies, when the agencies are selling property.
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by the other party and that the county has no interest is using its exemption from such fees to benefit
the other party.*

With respect to the Real Property Records Improvement Fund surcharge, Courts and Judicial
Proceedings Article, §13-604(c) provides that “[t]he surcharge may not be charged to an entity that
is exempt from the payment of fees under §3-603 of the Real Property Article.” Therefore, to the
extent the State is deemed exempt from paying the recording fees, the State also would be exempt
from paying the surcharge.

The matter of copying costs is abit more complex. Clearty, the State is exempt under Courts
and Judicial Proceedings Article, §7-202(b) from paying fees and costs under that subtitle. The cost
schedule established by the State Court Administrator pursuant to §7-202(a) includes copying fees
of 50¢ per page. If an employee of a State agency were obtaining copies from a circuit court clerk
in the course of conducting the agency’s business, the clerk would be precluded from charging the
copying fees absent the agency’s consent. On the other hand, when an employee of atitle company,
title abstractor, or attorney is obtaining copies of land records from a clerk, the clerk ordinarily
charges the copying fees. Without some written notice from the State agency, a clerk would have
no way of knowing that a title company employee, abstractor, or attorney was obtaining copies on
behalf of the agency. Additionally, I assume that such title companies, abstractors, and attorneys
with which the State agencies contract are not working exclusively for the agency. Therefore, some
effective mechanism would be needed to assure that the State’s exemption from paying court costs
would be afforded the contractor only in connection with copies made for the State agency.

In summary, the State agencies need not pay recording costs on instruments of writing to
which they are parties and which they cause to be submitted for recording. While this advice is
based on common sense, it is not free from doubt inasmuch as Real Property Article, §3-603 has
never been amended to expressly include the State. Therefore, I strongly recommend that the State
agencies that most often are parties to recordable mstruments seek a legislative amendment to §3-
603 to dispel any doubt. With respect to copying costs, the State clearly is exempt under Courts and
Judicial Proceedings Article, §7-202(b). However, if the copies are being obtained for a State
agency by a private party with whom the agency has contracted for title searching/abstracting
services, the clerk will need to be given written notice by the State agency in order for the contractor
to be able to obtain copies without payment of the ordinarily applicable copying costs.

If you have any further questions regarding this matter ot need clarification of the advice

4 It is noteworthy that it is the government entity, not the instrument of writing, that is
exempt from paying the recording fee, absent its consent. By contrast, the exemption from recording
taxes when a government agency is the grantee applies to the instrument. See Tax-Property Article,
§§12-108(a) and 13-207(a)(1).
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provided, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Julia M. Andrew
Assistant Attorney General
JIMA/s
cc: Circuit Court Clerks
David Durfee, Director of Legal Affairs
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