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I am the President of Maryland Shall Issue (“MSI”). Maryland Shall Issue is an all-
volunteer, non-partisan organization dedicated to the preservation and advancement of gun
owners’ rights in Maryland. It seeks to educate the community about the right of self-
protection, the safe handling of firearms, and the responsibility that goes with carrying a
firearm in public. I am also an attorney and an active member of the Bar of Maryland and
of the Bar of the District of Columbia. I recently retired from the United States Department
of Justice, where I practiced law for 33 years in the Courts of Appeals of the United States
and in the Supreme Court of the United States. I am an expert in Maryland firearms law,
federal firearms law and the law of self-defense. I am also a Maryland State Police certified
handgun instructor for the Maryland Wear and Carry Permit and the Maryland Handgun
Qualification License (“HQL”) and a certified NRA instructor in rifle, pistol, personal

protection in the home, personal protection outside the home and in muzzle loader. I appear
today as President of MSI in OPPOSITION to SB1050.

This Bill:

This bill proposes an amendment to MD Code Public Safety § 5-146 to criminalize and
increase the penalties for a failure to report a lost or stolen regulated firearm. Under current
law, the owner of a regulated firearm has 72 hours to report the lost or theft of the firearm
to a local law enforcement agency. A knowingly and willful failure to do so is punishable, on
the first offense, as a civil offense with a fine not exceeding $500.00. On the second or
subsequent offense, the failure is punishable as a criminal misdemeanor with imprisonment
of 90 days and a fine not exceeding $500.00.

This bill would abolish the civil penalty for the first offense and make a failure to report on
the first offense a criminal misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1,000
fine. Second and subsequent violations are also criminal and punishable by imprisonment
not exceeding 1 year and a fine of $2,000.

The Bill Criminalizes the Victim And Is Extreme In The Penalties Imposed

This bill is apparently motivated by a desire to prevent gun diversions and straw purchases
by punishing a theft victim for a failure to report a lost or stolen regulated firearm. Those
motivations are misguided. A Rand Corporation study published in 2018 found that there
1Is no evidence or study that actually supports any reporting requirement.
https://www.rand.org/research/gun-policy/analysis/lost-or-stolen-firearms.html. That Study
is attached to this testimony. Specifically, the Study found that “[wle found no qualifying
studies showing that lost or stolen firearm reporting requirements increased any of the eight
outcomes we investigated.” (Id. at 1). Indeed, the Study further states that “[wle found no
qualifying studies showing inconclusive evidence about lost or stolen firearm reporting




requirements.” (Id.). In short, the supposed benefits of such reporting requirements are
speculative at best.

In contrast, criminalizing the victim is sure to have unintended consequences. First, because
this bill makes the failure to report a criminal violation with jail time, instead of a civil
violation, the theft victim may well be less likely to report a lost or stolen firearm. Section
5-146 provides that the owner must report the loss “within 72 hours after the owner first
discovers the loss or theft.” Under this bill, a criminal investigation will likely be conducted
into when the owner “first discovered” the loss. In all cases, the question of when the loss
was “discovered” creates a question of fact for the trier of fact, thus exposing the owner to
the risk of criminal prosecution.

Because a failure to report would become criminal, any rational owner will be loath to expose
himself or herself to any such criminal investigation or questioning by the police for fear
that his responses to such questioning might be incriminating. Indeed, for the same reasons,
any competent legal counsel would advise such an owner to invoke his or her Fifth
Amendment right to silence and the Sixth Amendment right to counsel and thus refuse full
cooperation with the police. Thus, even if the stolen firearm is discovered at a crime scene
and traced to the original owner, such owner would be legally ill-advised to submit to police
questioning because of the criminal penalties imposed by this bill. That result would
frustrate any investigation into the loss or theft as well as any crime that may have been
committed with the stolen firearm. That consequence is, of course, exactly the opposite of
the desired result.

Second, criminalizing a failure to report with steep fines and jail time is extreme. Only a
small minority of states require an owner even to report lost or stolen firearms. California,
for example, simply requires a report within 5 days and does not impose any civil or criminal
consequences for any failure. California Penal Code §25250. Connecticut punishes a failure
to report, as a first offense, with a fine of $90.00. CT Gen Stat § 53-202g. The District of
Columbia imposes a civil fine of $100 for any failure to report and does not impose any jail
time, even for subsequent offenses. D.C. Code § 7-2502.08. Similarly, New dJersey law
1mposes only civil penalties for first or subsequent offices. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:58-19. Our
neighbor, Delaware, punishes a first offense as a “civil penalty” with a fine of not less than
$75 and not more than $100. Del. Code tit. 11, § 1461. Michigan requires a stolen firearm
to be reported in 5 days and punishes any failure as a “civil violation” with a fine of no more
than $500. Mich. Comp. Laws § 28.430.

Even the very few States that do impose criminal penalties for a failure to report do not, as
a rule, impose the draconian penalties imposed by this bill on the first offense. Ohio, for
example, punishes a failure to report within 7 days as a fourth decree misdemeanor which
1s punishable with a maximum jail sentence of 30 days and a fine not to exceed $250. Ohio
Rev. Code Ann. § 2923.20(A)(5). Massachusetts does not impose jail time until the third
offense and even that penalty is applicable only to sellers and or a person who has been
issued a license to carry a pistol or revolver. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140, § 129C. In Illinois, a
failure to report is a “petty offense” which is punishable by a fine between $1 and $1,000.
720 I11. Comp. Stat. 5/24-4.1. Rhode Island punishes a failure to report with a “fine of not
less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100).” R.I. Gen. Laws
§ 11-47-48.1. This bill, with its heavy fine and jail time for the first offense, would plainly
make Maryland an outlier jurisdiction.
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Third, punishing an owner for failing to report is, itself, perverse. The owner may be
unaware of any such reporting requirement, but may, under this bill, nonetheless be
exposed to a criminal investigation just for being a victim of a theft. While the mens rea
requirement could help the owner avoid a conviction by requiring a knowing and willful
failure to report, the owner would still face the possibility of being a suspect in a potential
crime when he or she has already been victimized by the theft. Such an investigation would
simply add to the trauma that the victim has already experienced. It could well require the
victim to hire legal counsel at considerable expense. That is simply no way to treat
otherwise innocent crime victims. If the “victim” is truly a bad actor, then remedies are
already available under existing law, not changed by this bill. See MD Code Public Safety
§ 5-146(e) (“The imposition of a civil or criminal penalty under this section does not preclude
the pursuit of any other civil remedy or criminal prosecution authorized by law.”). There is
no reason to pile on potential criminal liability that could work to ensnare the innocent
person. That is especially so given that the supposed benefits associated with mandatory
reporting requirements are so speculative, as the Rand study points out. In short, this bill
1s both bad policy and over-criminalization. We see no need or reason to alter Maryland’s
existing law. We urge an unfavorable report.

Sincerely,

Mark W. Pennak
President, Maryland Shall Issue, Inc.
mpennak@marylandshallissue.org
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OBJECTIVE ANALYSIS.
EFFECTIVE SOLUTIONS.

RAND > Research > Gun Policy in America > Research Review >

The Effects of Lost or Stolen Firearm
Reporting Requirements

March 2, 2018

Laws requiring gun owners to report lost or stolen firearms are intended to help
prevent gun trafficking and straw purchases (in which a lawful buyer makes the
purchase on the behalf of a prohibited buyer) and to help ensure that prohibited
possessors are disarmed. Data collected from Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms
and Explosives (ATF) trafficking investigations covering 1999 to 2002 showed that
6.6 percent (7,758 of 117,138) of diverted firearms were stolen from a residence or
vehicle (Braga et al., 2012).

How Lost or Stolen Firearms Reporting Requirements
Affect Gun Use Outcomes
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MAY INCREASE

We found no qualifying studies showing that lost or
stolen firearm reporting requirements increased any
of the eight outcomes we investigated.

INCONCLUSIVE EVIDENCE

We found no qualifying studies showing inconclusive
evidence about lost or stolen firearm reporting
requirements.

https://www.rand.org/research/gun-policy/analysis/lost-or-stolen-firearms.html

MAY DECREASE

We found no qualifying studies showing that lost or
stolen firearm reporting requirements decreased
any of the eight outcomes we investigated.

NO STUDIES MET OUR CRITERIA

Defensive Gun Use

Gun Industry Outcomes

Hunting and Recreation
Officer-Involved Shootings

Mass Shootings

Suicide

Unintentional Injuries and Deaths

Violent Crime

Federal law requires licensed firearm dealers to report lost or stolen guns to local authorities or the
U.S. Attorney General within 48 hours (18 U.S.C. 923). There is no federal law requiring individuals to
report lost or stolen firearms.
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In 2015, federally licensed firearm dealers reported 14,800 firearms as lost or stolen (ATF, 2016a).
Quantifying the number of firearms lost or stolen from private citizens is more challenging, but
based on data from ATF, 173,675 firearms were reported lost or stolen from non—-federal firearm
licensee entities and private citizens in 2012 (ATF, 2013). Using an alternative data source, another
study estimated that about 233,000 guns were stolen annually during household property crimes
between 2005 and 2010, and about four out of five firearms stolen were not recovered (Langton, 2012).
Data from police departments in 14 American cities suggest that the number of guns reported lost or
stolen in 2014 varies from 17 in San Francisco to 364 in Las Vegas (Everytown for Gun Safety Support
Fund, 2016). A recent national survey (Hemenway, Azrael, and Miller, 2017) estimates that 2.4 percent of
American gun owners had at least one gun stolen in the past five years and that the average number
of guns stolen per person was 1.5. The authors use these data to estimate that 380,000 guns were
stolen per year.

There are several plausible mechanisms through which these policies might reduce criminal use or
trafficking of firearms. First, reporting requirements might encourage private gun owners to take
steps that decrease the ease with which their firearms might be lost or stolen. Second, reporting
requirements could deter some straw purchasers who are reluctant to report as stolen the guns they
have diverted to prohibited possessors but who also fear that failure to report transferred guns as
stolen could leave them accountable for explaining how their guns later turned up at crime scenes.
Third, timelier reporting of gun losses or thefts may aid law enforcement gun-tracing efforts and
increase criminal prosecutions of illegal users or traffickers of stolen firearms, potentially reducing
the stock of firearms among prohibited possessors. However, required reporting policies could have
the unintended effect of discouraging individuals from reporting lost or stolen weapons in order to
avoid legal penalties from failing to report loss or theft within a certain number of days. Thus, to
estimate how requirements for reporting lost or stolen firearms affect such outcomes as violent
crime, we might first examine to what extent such policies affect gun owners’ reporting and storage
behavior.

To assess whether required reporting of lost or stolen guns reduces violent crime by disrupting illegal
firearm trafficking, causal inference could be strengthened by examining crime gun trace data,"” as

https://www.rand.org/research/gun-policy/analysis/lost-or-stolen-firearms.html
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well as changes in homicide or violent crime rates. Specifically, if these laws restrict trafficking
operations from in-state sources, one should observe a larger share of crime guns originating from
out-of-state sources after law passage, as well as a reduction in guns with a short time-to-crime
(Webster and Wintemute, 2015; Braga et al., 2012).”l However, a series of provisions attached to ATF
appropriations (commonly known as the Tiahrt Amendments) has denied most researchers access to
firearm trace data since 2003, making it currently infeasible to conduct this type of analysis (Krouse,

2009).

Requiring gun owners to report lost or stolen firearms is unlikely to have measureable effects on such
outcomes as suicide, unintentional injuries and death, defensive gun use, or hunting and recreation. If

the requirements successfully discouraged straw purchases, it could have a small effect on firearm

sales.

State Implementation of Lost or Stolen Firearm
Reporting Requirements
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A minority of states require firearm owners to report to law enforcement when their weapons are
lost or stolen. California,®' Connecticut, Delaware,®! Illinois,®! Massachusetts,/”! New Jersey,®! New
York,®! Ohio,'®! Rhode Island,™ and the District of Columbia’? require individuals to report the loss
or theft of all firearms. Maryland requires the reporting of loss or theft of handguns and assault
weapons,®! and Michigan requires the reporting of thefts, but not loss, of all firearms.""“

Notes

1. The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms (2002, p. A-3) defined crime gun as “any firearm that is illegally possessed, used
in a crime, or suspected to have been used in a crime. An abandoned firearm may also be categorized as a crime gun if it is
suspected it was used in a crime or illegally possessed.” s

2. Per Webster and Wintemute (2015), the metric known as time-to-crime is the “unusually short interval—ranging from less
than 1year to less than 3 years—between a gun's retail sale and its subsequent recovery by police from criminal suspects or
crime scenes. ... A short [time-to-crime] is considered an indicator of diversion, especially when the criminal possessor is
someone different from the purchaser of record.” s

3. Calif. Penal Code §§ 26815, 27540, 27545 (the waiting period applies to dealers, but, in California, all sales must be processed
through a dealer); D.C. Code Ann. §§ 22-4508. 7

4. Hawaii Rev. Stat. Ann. § 134-2. A separate permit is required for each handgun purchase, and the permit expires after ten days;
long-gun permits are valid for one year. s
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