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Indigent children and their families in Maryland can be charged with burdensome and 

insurmountable fines, fees, and costs for involvement with Maryland’s juvenile justice system. These 

financial burdens undermine the rehabilitative purpose of the juvenile system. Saddling indigent 

children and their families with these unpayable debts increases the possibility of recidivism and 

disproportionately impacts youth of color.1   

Attorney Fees  

Pursuant to CJP § 3-8A-20(c) and CJP § 3-8A-32 a court may assess attorneys fees in juvenile 

matters in Maryland. In 1967 the United States Supreme Court ruled in the landmark decision of In Re 

Gault that children are entitled to due process rights and protections including the right to counsel.2 This 

right is codified in Maryland in CJP § 3-8A-20 where it states that children are entitled to representation 

by counsel at all stages of a delinquency proceeding and can only waive counsel after being advised by 

counsel in court, and satisfying the court, that the child is knowingly and voluntarily waiving the right to 

counsel.  

The child is the client in juvenile delinquency matters. It should be presumed that all children are 

indigent for purposes of legal representation. To impose attorney fees on a parent creates an inherent 

conflict of interest and undermines the sanctity of the attorney-client relationship since the parent is not 

the client. The right to counsel is a fundamental and Constitutional right and the courts should not be 

allowed to impose counsel fees in juvenile delinquency cases. 

Cost of Detention 

A child should only be placed in detention in limited circumstances and after a court determines 

that a child is a danger to self or others or at risk of fleeing the jurisdiction. CJP § 3-8A-15. The 

overriding public safety concerns resulting in a child’s detainment should outweigh any financial benefit 

that the State may gain by imposing child support pursuant to CJP § 3-8A-29. The per diem cost for 

detention ranges from $575 to $1,137.3 These costs far exceed most family’s ability to pay and would 

create an undue financial burden and the possibility of unnecessary tension and conflict created by that 

burden between the child and his/her family. The Department of Juvenile Services receives the 

necessary funds to operate their detention facilities. The objectives of rehabilitation, accountability and 

public safety should be the focus of the juvenile system, not monetary reimbursement. 

                                                           
1 Piquero, Alex R. and Wesley G. Jennings, (2017) Research Note: Justice System-Imposed Financial Penalties Increase the 
Likelihood of Recidivism in a Sample of Adolescent Offenders, Youth Violence and Juvenile Justice. Vol 15(3) 325-340. 
2 In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967). 
3 DJS Data Resource Guide, Appendix E, 2018. 
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Court and Administrative Costs  

Court and administrative costs serve no rehabilitative purpose and are merely another financial 

obligation that courts can and do impose on a child and his/her family. Youth of color are 

overrepresented at every stage of the juvenile court process in Maryland4, and these court and 

administrative costs, among the other financial consequences of juvenile court involvement, will 

therefore disproportionately impact youth of color. In addition, if a child or family is unable to pay these 

court or administrative costs it can prolong court supervision, be converted to a civil judgment and 

create other long-lasting collateral consequences.  

Fines 

Imposing a financial penalty directly contradicts the stated purpose of Maryland’s juvenile 

justice system to balance the rehabilitative needs of a child with public safety and hold the child 

accountable for his/her actions. See CJP § 3-8A-02. Instead, a fine as a penalty merely distinguishes 

between the child and family with financial means and the child and family without those means. If a 

child is unable to pay a fine, then s/he is in violation of a court order and can face additional 

consequences as a result. Dispositions in juvenile court are supposed to be premised on providing 

supervision or services to a child, not on a child’s ability to pay.  For all of the above reasons, we urge 

your support of HB 36. 
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