
  

Testimony for HB 211: Criminal Law - Indecent Exposure Within the Sight of a Minor 

Judiciary Committee 

Good afternoon Mr. Chairman, Vice Chair, and members of the committee. I’m Del. 
Brian Crosby and it’s an honor to present HB 211, entitled ​Criminal Law - Indecent Exposure 
Within the Sight of a Minor​. 

In 15 states across the country, indecent exposure penalties are enhanced when 
committed against, or within sight of, a minor. In two of our neighboring states, for example, 
Virginia and Pennsylvania, the penalty for committing indecent exposure increases from a Class 
1 misdemeanor to a Class 5 felony, or from a second degree misdemeanor to a first degree 
misdemeanor, respectively, when committed against a minor. This translates to a doubled cap on 
any fine or jail sentence imposed by a judge in Pennsylvania, and a jail sentence up to ten times 
longer in Virginia. In the remaining 13 states, this formalized penalty enhancement is similar, but 
Maryland has yet to make the same distinction which, in practice, creates an arbitrary and low 
cap of punishment for sexual crimes committed against some of our most vulnerable citizens. 
This bill increases the potential imprisonment cap from three to five years, and the potential fine 
cap from $1,000 to $10,000. It does not establish a floor for minimum punishment, because I 
recognize that extenuating circumstances may certainly warrant lesser consequences; however, I 
believe that our courts deserve increased flexibility when it comes to protecting our kids. 

Maryland law already recognizes the importance of this issue, and provides judges the 
option to require perpetrators to register as sex offenders if they commit indecent exposure 
against a minor as a deterrent. HB 211 provides an expanded alternative, in line with that of 
other states, to achieve that same goal. As such, I ask for a favorable report on this bill, and will 
take any questions you have at this time. 

 


