IN TRYLAND

COUNTY COUNCIL OF HARFORD COUNTY, MARYLAND

Tony "G" Giangiordano

Council Member, District C
212 S. Bond Street, Bel Air, Maryland 21014
(410) 638-3523
TGiangiordano@harfordcountycouncil.com

February 21, 2020

Harford County Delegation House Office Building 6 Bladen Street Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: Letter of Opposition to House Bill 388 and House Bill 677

Dear Harford County Delegation,

My fellow Councilmembers and I are writing to express our strong opposition to House Bill 388 (Criminal Procedure - Civil Immigration Enforcement - Restrictions) and House Bill 677 (Correctional Services - Immigration Detention - Prohibition, Dignity Not Detention Act).

Instead of protecting the lives of our constituents, HB388 and HB677 will reverse the hard work that our law enforcement has accomplished for the safety of our citizens. In 2016, the Harford County Sheriff's Office launched a special program with U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) in which employees are trained as immigration officers to screen individuals coming through the Harford County Detention Center to determine whether they are illegally living in the U.S. and meet the federal priority criteria for removal. This program has been extremely successful in our county as crime has reduced yearly and continues to do so. The Cecil County Sheriff's Office and the Frederick County Sheriff's Office both participate in the 287(g) program and have seen crime rates drop significantly due to this particular program. Not only is this program recognized in our counties but also nationally.

House Bill 388 and House Bill 677 will prohibit our law enforcement as well as others in the state to fully protect our constituents. As elected officials, we must prioritize our constituent's safety and the nature of communities.

Thank you for your consideration,

Tony "G" Giangiordano

Council Member, District C

Patrick V. Vincenti

President, County Council

Chad R. Shrodes

Council Member, District D

Robert S. Wagner

Council Member, District E

Curtis L. Beulah

Council Member, District F

Curtis L. Beulah

CC: The Honorable Delegate Teresa Reilly The Honorable Delegate Mike Griffith The Honorable Delegate Steve Johnson The Honorable Delegate Mary Ann Lisanti The Honorable Delegate Susan K. McComas The Honorable Delegate Lauren Arikan The Honorable Delegate Rick Impallaria The Honorable Delegate Kathy Szeliga