March 4, 2020

I am a member of Multiple Gun Rights organizations. Maryland Shall Issue, Associated
Gun Clubs, Maryland State Rifle and Pistol Association, and the National Rifle Association. | am
a certified Range Safety Officer with the NRA. | am a firearms collector and competitor. | oppose
HB591 and HB1501.

| understand and agree that there needs to be reporting requirements for lost
or stolen firearms. | am not arguing that. | do not see a need to reduce the time period
required to do so, or to dramatically increase the penalties for not. Over 100,000 Marylanders
have received HQL training, which includes a section on Maryland law. All of these people
have been taught that the requirement is 72 hours. Then there are those who own firearms
that do not have an HQL, who have been taught by other means that the time limit is 72
hours. All of these people must be reached to inform them of the new time. In reality, lawful
gun owners are going to report a loss immediately, after a search of their property. Those who
are not going to report a loss or theft, and not going to whether the time limit is 24, 48, 72
hours, or 6 months.

In a time when sentencing has been reduced for many crimes, it makes no sense to
increase it in this bill.
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