

February 17, 2021

Honorable Maggie McIntosh Chair, Appropriations Committee Maryland General Assembly Honorable Mark S. Chang Vice Chair, Appropriations Committee Maryland General Assembly

RE: MAHRA Supports HB1065, Bond Authority – Maryland State Ceiling and Housing Bond Allocations

Dear Chair and Vice Chair of the Appropriations Committee,

On behalf of the Maryland Association of Housing and Redevelopment Agencies (MAHRA), we are writing in support of HB1065, sponsored by Delegate Marvin Holmes.

As the premier member organization for the state's public housing agencies, and the state of Maryland membership extension of the National Association for Housing & Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO), MAHRA represents public housing agencies throughout the state of Maryland. Its mission is to lead, support and advocate for the creation and preservation of sustainable and inclusive communities.

MAHRA is pleased to see that HB1065 includes many provisions that support the mission of MAHRA, including supporting the creation and preservation of sustainable and inclusive communities by codifying the ability of Housing Authorities to issue and receive transfer of bonds allocated under the Maryland State Ceiling.

This important bill solidifies authorities already granted to Housing Authorities to be awarded bond issuances under the Maryland State Ceiling. It also enables Housing Authorities to transfer, or receive transfer of, unused bond allocations as allocated by the Secretary of the Treasury.

Thank you for your leadership in hearing this bill before the Appropriations Committee and Subcommittee. We urge you to pass the bill out of Committee and before the full delegation, and usher it through the Senate, for signature into law by the Governor.

As leaders of the statewide housing ecosystem, we thank you for your service as you continue to legislate and advocate for resources for our least resourced stakeholders.

Sincerely,

Nicki Biggs, CME, PHM MAHRA President

President

Nicki Biggs Havre de Grace Housing Authority

Senior Vice President

Gregory Hare MD Department of Housing & Community Development

Treasurer

Marsha J. Parham-Green Baltimore County Office of Housing

Secretary

Diane Haislip Housing Commission of Anne Arundel County

Vice President

Commissioners Beryle Downs Housing Commission of Anne Arundel County

Vice President

Community Development David Kump Hagerstown Housing Authority

Vice President

Public Housing Gina Gibson Housing Commission of Anne Arundel County

Vice President

Rental Assistance Lisa Coleman Baltimore County Office of Housing

Past President Eric Brown

<u>Address</u> P.O. Box 6700 Towson, MD 21285-6700

www.mahramd.org