
         
 
 
Bill No: HB 581-- Employment Standards During an Emergency 

(Maryland Essential Worker Protection Act) 
 
Committee:  Economic Matters 
 
Date:   2/5/2021 
 
Position:  Oppose 
 
 
 The Apartment and Office Building Association of Metropolitan Washington 
(AOBA) opposes HB 581 as unduly burdensome on the rental housing and commercial 
real estate industry as well as related businesses.  AOBA’s members own or manage 
more than 23 million square feet of commercial office space and more than 133,000 
rental units in Maryland. AOBA also represents landscapers, exterminators and 
janitorial firms as associate members. 
 
 This bill would create several new employer mandates that come at significant 
costs including: (1) $3 per hour in hazard pay dating back to the start of a state of 
emergency; (2) financial assistance for unreimbursed health care costs to each 
essential worker who becomes sick or is injured if the sickness or injury is related to the 
emergency; (3) a new leave program requiring at least 3 days of bereavement leave 
and 14 days of health leave; and (4) allowing employees the right to refuse to work.  
 
 AOBA members have gone above and beyond to ensure that they provide 
working conditions that reduce harm and ensure physical safety for employees. From 
changing staffing schedules to limit exposure, procuring personal protection equipment 
(PPE), increased sanitation regimes and modifying the physical building structure, 
AOBA members have invested heavily in providing a safe work environment. 
 

The bill designates employees of lodging, building and property maintenance 
companies and the related businesses that AOBA represents, as essential employees 
at a time when the State refuses to acknowledge and prioritize these same employees’ 
status as essential for purposes of receiving the COVID-19 vaccine. As noted, property 
management companies and commercial building owners worked tirelessly and 
invested hundreds of thousands of dollars into procuring PPE, modifying HVAC systems 
and other upgrades to increase employees’ ability to safely conduct their work during 



the COVID-19 pandemic. These costs will not be reimbursed and were necessitated 
during a period when rent income is drastically reduced.  
 

Allowing essential employees to refuse work creates serious concerns for an 
employer. In the case of rental housing, if a building maintenance professional decides 
they do not feel comfortable entering a residential building to remediate a mold issue or 
other health and safety violation, the housing provider is subject to fines and penalties 
and the resident is required to live in hazardous conditions. While the bill allows 
employees to work at their discretion it does not detail any mechanism for employers to 
address abuse of this policy or to seek verification. 

 
Further, retroactively applying hazard pay of $3 per hour to staff will have a 

devastating impact on property management companies and the companies that serve 
commercial real estate. AOBA members were very deliberate in taking steps to ensure 
they did not reduce their workforce; they have made many concessions to keep their 
employees working and paid during the pandemic. However, requiring employers to pay 
a minimum hazard pay of $3 per hour dating back to early March may force struggling 
businesses, who did their best for their employees, to permanently close shop. 
Additionally, a requirement that employers reimburse for co-pays would add a 
significant financial burden to employers when they can ill afford additional costs. The 
bill does not require an employee to prove that they became sick at work. In practice, 
these provisions serve to punish employers that fought to keep their full staff employed. 
If HB 581 passes, these provisions may incentivize employers to reduce staff to barest 
requirements in future emergencies.  

 
Finally, the retroactivity of hazard pay would jeopardize all reporting and quarterly 

financial statements housing providers submitted to their lenders. Revenue projections 
that have been submitted to lenders will also be inaccurate because of new mandates in 
HB 581. Ultimately, housing providers would need to file revised tax returns as their 
revenue and earnings would be drastically different once personnel expenses increase 
dramatically. 
 
 For these reasons AOBA urges an unfavorable report on HB 581. 

 
 For further information contact Erin Bradley, Vice President of Government 
Affairs, at 301-904-0814 or ebradley@aoba-metro.org . 

mailto:ebradley@aoba-metro.org

