

February 4, 2021

The Honorable Dereck E. Davis House Economic Matters Committee House Office Building Annapolis, MD 21401

Re: HB 30 – An Act Concerning Public Utilities – Office of Climate Counsel – Establishment (Climate Counsel Act)

Dear Chairman Davis:

The Zero Emission Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council (ZEEVIC) has reviewed the contents of HB 30 and determined that the intent of the bill supports both the mission of ZEEVIC and the State's goals for electric vehicle (EV) promotion and proliferation to help address climate change and improve air quality.

ZEEVIC was established through legislation introduced in 2011 as part of a package of bills to promote EVs in the State of Maryland. ZEEVIC's mission is to: evaluate incentives for the ownership of EVs and the purchase of EV charging equipment; develop recommendations for a statewide infrastructure plan; and, propose policies to promote the successful integration of EVs into Maryland's communities and the transportation system.

As introduced, HB 30 would establish the position of Climate Counsel in the Office of Climate Counsel (OCC). HB 30 further designates the range of roles and functions of OCC, which would include participation as an appointed member to ZEEVIC by the Climate Counsel, by amending Chapter 400 of the Acts of 2011.

The work of ZEEVIC contributes to the pursuit of Maryland's climate change mitigation goals. Should the legislature adopt HB 30, ZEEVIC would welcome participation by the OCC and current appointed members to align our focus with broader climate change efforts.

The ZEEVIC respectfully notes that HB 30 does not reflect amendments made by Chapter 118 of the Acts of 2020 to Chapter 400 of the Acts of 2011, which extended the Council's authorization, updated reporting requirements, and addressed Council membership.

The Council's Legislative Working Group welcomes the opportunity to review this bill, and we look forward to reviewing future legislative efforts regarding electric vehicles.

Respectfully,

Kevin George Miller Chair, ZEEVIC Legislative Working Group