2021 Climate Crisis & Education Campaign:

Rebuild Maryland Coalition Climate Crisis and Education Act Campaign (HB0033/SB0076) Sign-on Resolution

Whereas, every child in Maryland should be able to breathe clean air so they can grow and fulfill their maximum potential. An unhealthy climate threatens a sustainable environment and thus violates our right to life;

Whereas, changes in the climate, primarily due to fossil fuels entering the atmosphere from transportation, electricity and heating systems, are jeopardizing the future of our children, our economy, and our infrastructure;

Whereas, we must reduce our greenhouse gas emissions in line with the latest science by reducing Maryland's emissions to 60% by 2030 and achieving net-zero greenhouse gas emissions by 2045 based on 2006 emissions;

Whereas, the Climate Crisis and Education Act (CCEA), sponsored by Senator Benjamin Kramer and Delegate David Fraser-Hidalgo, will demand accountability from fossil fuel companies by charging them for the damages they are causing. The CCEA will invest in clean energy infrastructure improvements; protect low- and moderate-income households and energy-intensive, trade-exposed employers from financial harm; and invest in our children's education by helping to fund the Kirwan Commission's recommendations;

Whereas, the communities hardest hit by climate change are the same that have historically experienced the worst air pollution in the state. Targeted communities, such as urban areas, low-income communities, communities of color are disproportionately harmed by air pollutants; and

Whereas, the Maryland State Constitution requires the General Assembly to "establish throughout the State a thorough and efficient system of free public schools. The Kirwan Commission was established to review the current education funding formulas and make recommendations that would improve the quality of Maryland's public education system to benefit ALL of its more than 790,000 students, which will in turn benefit the State's economy and quality of life for all Marylanders.

Therefore, Be It Resolved, that the undersigned organization/business supports the Climate Crisis and Education Act (CCEA) legislation that will help meet Maryland's greenhouse gas reduction goals; help fund actions to reduce emissions, enhance resilience to climate impacts; help protect low- and moderate-income households and energy-intensive, trade-exposed employers from financial harm; and direct \$350M per year to help fund the Kirwan Commission's recommendations.

Organization/Business Sign-on Resolution 2021 Climate Crisis & Education Campaign

Ricarra Jones Dick Williams
Maryland/DC Political Director Co-Lead

1199SEIU United Healthcare Workers East GREENGRACE (MD Episcopal Env. Partners)

Richard Deutschmann

Julia Clark

acClimate MD, University of Maryland College Park

Lead, Climate Action Team
Indivisible Howard County

Denisse Guitarra Lea Green
Maryland Conservation Advocate President
Audubon Naturalist Society Maryland Cure

Dyotha Sweat Monica O'Connor

President Maryland Legislation Coalition
Charles County NAACP

Jamie DeMarco Cecilia Plante Federal and Maryland Policy Director Co-Chair

Chesapeake Climate Action Network Maryland Legislative Coalition

Hope Clark Henry Bogdan
Chapter Leader Director of Puk

Chapter Leader Director of Public Policy
Citizens' Climate Lobby Chestertown Chapter Maryland Nonprofits

Margaret Whiteside Chen Walter Weiss
Chapter Lead, CCL Annapolis Organizer

Citizens Climate Lobby, Annapolis Chapter Mont Co Faith Alliance for Climate Solutions

Douglas Hunt Joyce Bailey
Director Education Co

Director Education Committee Chair
Climate Action Now Montgomery Countryside Alliance

Donald M. Goldberg Michael DeLong
Executive Director President

Climate Law & Policy Project Montgomery County Young Democrats

Frances Stewart Dyotha Sweat
Chapter Chair State Youth Advisor

Climate Reality Montgomery County MSC NAACP Youth & College Division

Wandra Ashley-Williams Jacqueline Allsup
Regional Director President

Climate XChange Maryland NAACP Anne Arundel County Branch

Diane Wittner

Founder & Owner

Echotopia LLC

Willie Flowers

President, NAACP Maryland State Conference

NAACP Maryland State Conference

Leslie Wharton Marlon Johnson Sr.

Elders Climate Action DMV Chapter President
NAACP Queen Anne's County Branch 7024

Rev. Kathy Shahinian Public Policy Liaison Episcopal Diocese of MD Alexis Hermosillo State Level Carbon Pricing Coordinator Citizens Climate Lobby

Willie J Mahone President NAACP, Frederick County Branch

Timothy Judson
Executive Director
Nuclear Information and Resource Service

Paul J Baicich Chair Our Revolution Howard County

Bente E. Cooney Founder Plastic Free QAC

Lea Green Prison Reform Advocate

Bob Lewis Executive Director St. Mary's River Watershed Association

Alice Wilkerson Executive Director Strong Future Maryland

Iris Zhan
Sunrise Howard County

Ann Coren
Steering Committee
Transition Howard County

Sarahia Benn Legislative Exec. Voices (Maryland)

Hope Clark
Director
Wheelbarrow Productions

Monica OConnor Legislative Liaison WISE – Women Indivisible Strong Effective









































































