

County Commissioners: James J. Moran, At Large Jack N. Wilson, Jr., District 1 Stephen Wilson, District 2 Philip L. Dumenil, District 3 Christopher M. Corchiarino, District 4

THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF **QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY**

The Liberty Building 107 North Liberty Street Centreville, MD 21617

e-mail: QACCommissioners&Administrator@gac.org

County Administrator: Todd R. Todd, PE Executive Assistant to County Commissioners: Margie A. Houck County Attorney: Patrick Thompson, Esquire

February 1, 2021

The Honorable Delegate Anne R. Kaiser Ways and Means Committee House Office Building, Room 131 Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: HB 655 - Local Government – County Commissioner Elections – District Voting

Dear Delegate Kaiser:

Please consider this letter of opposition for House Bill 655. This bill would require an election of a county commissioner to represent a district to be decided by a plurality of the votes cast within that district; and generally relating to county commissioner elections. A candidate for county commissioner would no longer need to receive an absolute majority to represent a district but to only receives more than their running mates.

Thank you for the opportunity to oppose this legislation.

Respectfully,

QUEEN ANNE'S COUNTY BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Christopher M. Corchiarino, President

Stephe

James J. Mora

Jack N. Wilson.

meni